Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Hana by Lauren Oliver


Synopsis:
Lauren Oliver's riveting, original digital story set in the world of her New York Times bestseller Delirium

The summer before they're supposed to be cured of the ability to love, best friends Lena and Hana begin to drift apart. While Lena shies away from underground music and parties with boys, Hana jumps at her last chance to experience the forbidden. For her, the summer is full of wild music, dancing—and even her first kiss. 

But on the surface, Hana must be a model of perfect behavior. She meets her approved match, Fred Hargrove, and glimpses the safe, comfortable life she’ll have with him once they marry. As the date for her cure draws ever closer, Hana desperately misses Lena, wonders how it feels to truly be in love, and is simultaneously terrified of rebelling and of falling into line. 

In this digital story that will appeal to fans of Delirium and welcome new admirers to its world, readers will come to understand scenes from Delirium through Hana's perspective. Hana is a touching and revealing look at a life-changing and tumultuous summer.
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads.)


My Thoughts:
Hana was a great short story. I liked that the reader got Hana's point of view, and we got some insight into why she did some of the crazy things that she did in Delirium. The author was very detailed in expressing her emotions, such as when she felt that she and Lena were starting to grow apart. The end of the story leaves off at a crucial point in Delirium. I would like to know what happens to Hana after she is cured, while Lena is away in Pandemonium. I'm hoping Lauren Oliver will eventually write a short ebook about that. This is a great read, and jives with the story perfectly.


I give Hana: 5/5.


Want to know where to buy this ebook?
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Hana-ebook/dp/B005MMNZYE
Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/hana-lauren-oliver/1105808678
Kobo: http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/Hana/book-3yRBorr32ku3CLQp0X4C8g/page1.html

I bought this ebook from Amazon for the Kindle, and was in no way compensated for this review.

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver


Synopsis:

I’m pushing aside the memory of my nightmare,
pushing aside thoughts of Alex,
pushing aside thoughts of Hana and my old school,
push,
push,
push,
like Raven taught me to do.
The old life is dead.
But the old Lena is dead too.
I buried her.
I left her beyond a fence,
behind a wall of smoke and flame.
Lauren Oliver delivers an electrifying follow-up to her acclaimed New York Times bestseller, Delirium. This riveting, brilliant novel crackles with the fire of fierce defiance, forbidden romance, and the sparks of a revolution about to ignite.
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads.)
My Thoughts:
I loved the first book in the series, Delirium. The end left me bawling and wanting more. Pandemonium was one of the books I was looking forward to most in 2012. Needless to say, it did not disappoint at all. I fell in love with again with the old characters, and fell in love for the first time with some new characters. At first, I didn't like Julian because I was a Team Alex person, but as the story progressed I began to like him more and more. There were a couple character deaths with new characters that left me quite sad, but I understand why the author had to do it. I missed Hana quite a bit in this book. I was a little confused in the beginning because it starts with her being in a school, and then goes back to her time spent in the Wilds. If you stick with the book, the hopping and skipping from now to then will start to make a lot of sense and is a unique way to write the story. I applaud Lauren Oliver for writing it that way, especially after Ally Condie tried to write Crossed, another hit dystopian novel, in the same way and it turned out as a flop for most fans. Oliver definitely succeeded with it though. Lena grows from a weak girl to a strong, smart, courageous woman in between her first week in the Wilds and the end of Pandemonium. The ending had me freaking out. I didn't know whether I wanted to laugh, cry, or throw my book at a wall. I need to read the next book NOW. This book is definitely worth checking out, but make sure you read Delirium first or it won't make much sense. I can't wait to read the third book in the series, Requiem, and find out what happens next. 
I give Pandemonium: 5/5.
I bought this book from my local Meijers and was in no way compensated for this review.

Saturday, February 25, 2012

Dead: The Ugly Beginning by T.W. Brown


Synopsis:
The unthinkable has happened. The dead are walking! Humanity's fragile thread may be reaching its bitter end. Individuals and groups struggle to survive...some at any cost. Will there be anybody left? Or, is this just...The Ugly Beginning?
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads.)


My Thoughts:
Before I fully begin my review, I have to admit: I love this cover! The artist did a fantastic job with the detail. The artist really caught Thalia's scared expression. The zombie was also drawn with a lot of detail. Dead: The Ugly Beginning is a fantastic zombie novel. I loved the Zombie Strippers reference in the introduction of the book. It has quite a realistic take of what would happen during a zombie apocalypse. Most things zombie movies don't cover, like when Steve wet his pants in the beginning would realistically happen. I liked most of the characters, except for Travis and Mister Abernathy. They were both horrible people and deserved everything that happened to them. The only thing I didn't like about this book was that it had several rape scenes. Dead left off on a cliffhanger, and had me theorizing about what would happen. It's a great zombie novel that will keep you awake late at night reading, but it's not for the faint of heart. I would recommend it to anyone looking for an original zombie story.

I give Dead: The Ugly Beginning: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review and was in no way compensated for this review.

The Vampire Hunter's Daughter by Jennifer Malone Wright


Synopsis:
Fourteen-year-old Chloe witnesses her mother’s murder at the hands of a vampire. Before the vampire can kidnap her, there is an unexpected rescue by a group of vampire hunters. Overwhelmed by the feeling of safety, Chloe passes out and they whisk her away to their small community.

When Chloe wakes, she comes face to face with the only other living relative, besides her mother, whom she has ever met: her grandfather. Chloe’s mother kept her hidden from the family; now, Chloe tries to unveil the family secrets.

Through her grandfather, she learns her mother was a vampire hunter. In fact, her entire family is descended from the powerful bloodlines of vampire hunters. Chloe agrees to join the family she has never known for one reason only: Chloe vows to kill the vampire responsible for her mother’s murder.

With vengeance in her soul, Chloe is even more determined to follow through on her vow when she discovers the true identity of her enemy and how he is connected to her

The Vampire Hunter's Daughter is the first in a series of short stories by Jennifer Malone Wright.
(Synopsis taken from Amazon.)


My Thoughts:
The Vampire Hunter's Daughter is a great short story. It took me a little less than half an hour to read. The characters were very well written. At first, after Chloe's mother dies, I thought she was going to be a very weak miserable character, but she pulled it together. I think the experience made her stronger in the end. My only complaint about the story is I wish it was a little longer. I can't wait to find out if Chloe ever meets her dad. I so, I hope she defeats him with the kick ass training she is going to learn. This was a quick and fun short read. I am definitely buying part two as soon as I finish this review. 


I give The Vampire Hunter's Daughter: 5/5.


The Vampire Hunter's Daughter is free for Kindle. Get your copy here:
http://www.amazon.com/Vampire-Hunters-Daughter-Part-ebook/dp/B005GSS26K/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_1


Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.jenniferwrightauthor.com/
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Jennifer-Malone-Wright/196830580361271
http://www.facebook.com/thevampirehuntersdaughter
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4824985.Jennifer_Malone_Wright

I received this book for free on Kindle and was in no way compensated for this review.

Thursday, February 23, 2012

Pure by Julianna Baggott


Synopsis:
We know you are here, our brothers and sisters . . . 
Pressia barely remembers the Detonations or much about life during the Before. In her sleeping cabinet behind the rubble of an old barbershop where she lives with her grandfather, she thinks about what is lost-how the world went from amusement parks, movie theaters, birthday parties, fathers and mothers . . . to ash and dust, scars, permanent burns, and fused, damaged bodies. And now, at an age when everyone is required to turn themselves over to the militia to either be trained as a soldier or, if they are too damaged and weak, to be used as live targets, Pressia can no longer pretend to be small. Pressia is on the run. 

Burn a Pure and Breathe the Ash . . . 
There are those who escaped the apocalypse unmarked. Pures. They are tucked safely inside the Dome that protects their healthy, superior bodies. Yet Partridge, whose father is one of the most influential men in the Dome, feels isolated and lonely. Different. He thinks about loss-maybe just because his family is broken; his father is emotionally distant; his brother killed himself; and his mother never made it inside their shelter. Or maybe it's his claustrophobia: his feeling that this Dome has become a swaddling of intensely rigid order. So when a slipped phrase suggests his mother might still be alive, Partridge risks his life to leave the Dome to find her. 

When Pressia meets Partridge, their worlds shatter all over again.
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads.)


My Thoughts:
Pure started off pretty slow for me. It didn't get better until about halfway through the book. A couple of the plot twists were pretty predictable. The plot twist that happens with Pressia and Partridge I predicted before they even met. Other plot twists, such as the one near the end of the book, left me absolutely astonished. I'm really curious what the black boxes have in them, and what they do. I have a feeling that they are going to play a big role in the second book. I liked all of the characters. I wish the author would have given the reader more information and background story about Lyda and Aribelle, but that might happen in the second book. Even though Partridge's dad, Ellery Williux, was an evil character, I liked him and agreed with a couple of his views and philosophies. I believe that he thought he was doing the right thing for his family, and just got a little twisted and messed up somewhere along the way. The plot had a few holes in it, but for the most part, was well written. Pure was a bit too disturbing at times for me. It had a lot of graphic details about how the people were scarred and fused to things during the detonations. Pressia's grandfather's fan in his throat kind of creeped me out in the beginning and made me a little nauseated reading about it. I recommend this book for people that are looking for a dystopian book that is different from anything written in the genre. I look forward to reading the second book.

I give Pure: 3.5/5.

Check out the incredible book trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZknTMhd9RL0

Want to know more about the author?

I received this ARC from Grand Central via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Saturday, February 18, 2012

Giveaway: 5 copies of Caribbean Calling by J.D. Gordon

I loved Caribbean Calling so much that I wanted to giveaway a copy. I asked the author, J.D. Gordon, and he said that he would not only giveaway 1 paperback copy, but 5 paperback copies. You can check out my 5 star review of Caribbean Calling here. If you like Caribbean Calling, make sure to check out his latest adult novel, Dartboard.

















Caribbean Calling by J.D. Gordon

Synopsis:
Chicago-area firefighter Eddie Gilbert is headed back to the Florida Keys and the open seas of the Caribbean. A beautiful woman and an interesting job offer are waiting. He is tasked to find a young doctor who has gone missing. What happens next will keep you glued to the pages of Caribbean Calling.




Sound like something you would want to read? Here are the giveaway rules:

  1. Follow my blog via GFC.
  2. Leave a comment with your GFC username, email address and anything else you want to add.
  3. Go to J.D. Gordon's Facebook page and leave a comment thanking him for his awesome giveaway.
  4. US addresses only.
  5. Giveaway will go on until March 1st.
  6. 5 winners will be picked.
  7. Winner once picked, will have 48 hours to reply to the email I send them.
Good luck everyone, and have fun!

Caribbean Calling by J.D. Gordon


Synopsis:
Chicago-area firefighter Eddie Gilbert is headed back to the Florida Keys and the open seas of the Caribbean. A beautiful woman and an interesting job offer are waiting. He is tasked to find a young doctor who has gone missing. What happens next will keep you glued to the pages of Caribbean Calling.
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads.)


My Thoughts:
The Author, J.D. Gordon, signed my review copy and it says "Looks like it, but not a kids book!!!". This is certainly true. The cover looks cute and has a YA feeling, but on the inside it's an adult story about cults, government corruption, and human trafficking. I thought Caribbean Calling was an incredible book. It kept me on the edge of my seat, turning pages late at night, needing to know what happens next. My favorite character was Johnathon aka Kangaroo. I loved his attitude and personality, along with his funky accent. I was hoping that he would have been in the story a little bit more. There wasn't a character that I disliked. The plot was written very well. Eddie, who was a hero for being a firefighter, was also a hero for rescuing Elaine. When I was reading, I found no punctuation mistakes or spelling errors. Caribbean Calling is a wonderful read that I highly recommend. However, I agree with the author and recommend it for mature adults, 18 and older. 


I give Caribbean Calling: 5/5.


Want to know where to buy this book?
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Caribbean-Calling-JD-Gordon/dp/0974565288
Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/caribbean-calling-j-d-gordon/1007616152

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Shelf Candy Saturday #2

Shelf Candy Saturday is a weekly meme hosted by Five Alarm Book Reviews where we pick a book cover we like and explain why we picked it.


My shelf candy for this week is:
Soul Born by Kevin James Breaux

Why I Picked It:
I think this cover is absolutely beautiful. What's not to love about it? I like how the bright purple glow highlights the dark purple of the cover. I also love the color of the hair on the girl on the cover. This book is in my review pile, and based on the cover, I can't wait to read it. 

What do you think of the cover? What's your shelf candy for this week? Leave me a comment and let me know.

Friday, February 17, 2012

Ida Claire by Scott Nicholson


Synopsis:
IDA CLAIRE is a feisty, fun rhyming picture book about a single dad trying to keep up with his imaginative daughter. A day with Ida Claire is a full day indeed!
(Synopsis taken from Amazon.)


My Thoughts:
I read this for the 2012 ebook challenge. Ida Claire is a cute children's story about a single dad spending time with his daughter. It teaches kids that even though they only have one parent, they can still have as much fun, if not more. The rhyming in the story works out very well. The verse about the chocolate broccoli made me chuckle. The illustrations are cute, and relate to the story quite accurately. This is a great book for younger children to learn about single parent families while having fun doing so. 


I give Ida Claire: 5/5.


Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.hauntedcomputer.com/
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/97045.Scott_Nicholson
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorscottnicholson

I purchased this book when it was free for Kindle, and was in no way compensated for this review.

Cute Kittens by G. Alexander


Synopsis:
Cute Kittens is a collection of 62 pictures of cute and fuzzy kittens and cats. These cuddly kitten pictures are so adorable you'll want to pet the kitties right on your kindle. These little four legged animals will warm your hearts and put a smile on your face.
(Synopsis taken from Amazon.)


My Thoughts:
I read this for the 2012 ebook challenge. As the title suggests, this is a book filled with pictures of kittens and cats. Most of the cats are cute, with a few exceptions. The black cat at 28% in the Kindle version, is more creepy than cute. Unfortunately, this book doesn't have any words, only pictures. I think it have been interesting if the author wrote a little blurb about each cat under the pictures. That way, we could see the cat and learn more about it, such as a name or a funny story. I think all cat lovers will like this book. 


I give Cute Kittens: 3/5.


Want to buy this book?
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Cute-Kittens-ebook/dp/B005341U0M/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1329539758&sr=1-1

I got this book for free for Kindle, and was in no way compensated for this review.

Monday, February 13, 2012

Kritterkreep by J.D. Gordon


Synopsis:
Andy Biggs's new life in the "burbs" is about to take a turn for the worse. An uninvited guest has moved into the stately old Victorian home he shares with his mom, new stepdad and baby sister. This weird little demon in a zoot suit has nothing but mischief on its mind and threatens to destroy Andy's home, school life and even his sanity.
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads.)


My Thoughts:
Kritterkreep was an a great book. It was pretty creepy, and kept me turning pages in anticipation of what would happen next. All of the characters were very well written. My favorite character had to be Elsa. She was pretty bad-ass towards the end of the book and highly intelligent. My only complaint is I wish at the end, the author would have specified more about what she is. That left me a little confused. I didn't really care for Chester or Melvin, and I thought they were both fairly annoying characters, but they weren't in the book very much. Since I have read Kritterkreep, I have become a fan of J.D. Gordon, and can't wait to read the rest of his books. This book is pretty spooky at times, so I would recommend it for readers twelve and older. 

I give Kritterkreep: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?

I received this book in exchange for an honest review and was in no way compensated for this review.

It's Monday, What Are You Reading?


It's Monday, What Are You Reading is a weekly meme hosted by Book Journey. During this post, you'll be able to read about what I read last week, what I'm working on currently, and what I plan to finish this week. If you click on what I read last week, it will take you to the reviews.

Last week I read:

I am currently reading:
  • Pure by Julianna Baggott
  • Fracture by Megan Miranda
  • Kritterkreep by J.D. Gordon
Up Next:
I hope to accomplish all of the above books in the currently reading section this week, along with Carribean Calling by J.D. Gordon

That's what I'm reading this week. What are you reading? Let me know in the comments, and hopefully I'll find a couple of incredible books to add to next week's list.

Friday, February 10, 2012

Shelf Candy Saturday #1


Shelf Candy Saturday is a weekly meme hosted by Five Alarm Book Reviews where you show your favorite book covers and explained why you picked them.

My shelf candy this week is:
Exiled by RaShelle Workman.

Why I chose this cover:
It's absolutely gorgeous. I love the model's crazy hair, and the butterflies. The picture fits really well with the character description as well. The cover is the main reason I wanted to read the book, which I'm glad I did because it turned out to be an incredible book. (You can read my review here).

What's your shelf candy for this week? If you don't participate, what's an incredible looking book cover you've seen recently? Leave your answer in the comments.


Feature and Follow Friday #1


This is a meme hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read every Friday where bloggers get to know each other a little more, and follow each other's blogs of course. If you want to follow me, please follow me via GFC. Click the picture at the top to be taken to the list of all the awesome blogs that are participating.

The question of the week: 
What would you prefer, reading your favorite book over and over again until you got sick of it, or reading 100s of mediocre books? Why?

My Answer:
I would read 100s of mediocre books rather than read my favorite book over and over again. If I read my favorite book over and over again, I'm afraid that I would get tired of it and start to hate it. I love reading new books every once in a while, even if they aren't the greatest. It gives me more experience writing reviews on books that aren't so good, without being harsh criticizing them.

What would your answer be? Let me know in the comments.

Thursday, February 9, 2012

Lunatic Fringe by Allison Moon


Synopsis:
WEREWOLVES ARE BACK. 

Lexie Clarion is nervous about college. She’s plagued with beastly visions, local werewolf attacks are on the rise, and she really wants to kiss a girl. And classes haven’t even started yet. 
Things start looking up when she meets the Pack, a group of radical women who have their own methods for handling the werewolf menace. Fascinated by their politics, intimacy, and general bad-assery, Lexie’s sure she wants to join them, until an accident brings a captivating stranger into her life: Archer, a rugged woman with heterochromatic eyes and a dark secret. 
The Pack will go to brutal lengths to win Lexie's favor, but they underestimate Archer's love. 
As Archer and the Pack battle for Lexie's allegiance, the waxing moon illuminates old hatreds, new enemies, and a secret from Lexie's childhood that will change her life forever.
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads.)


My Thoughts:
Lunatic Fringe was a decently good book. It started off really well, then towards the middle got kind of boring, but picked up again at the end. The end got a little confusing for about ten pages, trying to figure out who was a werewolf and who wasn't. I could have done without one of the more graphic sex scenes in the middle of the book, but the rest of the sex scenes were written very well. I didn't care for most of the women in The Pack, other than Jenna. She had an innocence about her that I liked. My favorite characters were Lexie and Archer. Without giving anything away, I wish Lexie would have made a different choice at the end of the book. I thought Lunatic Fringe was a great debut book by a very talented author. Due to the sex scenes, I would only recommend it for mature adult readers, 18 and older.

I give Lunatic Fringe: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?

I received this book in exchange for an honest review, and was in no way compensated for this review.

The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler


Synopsis:
It's 1996 and less than half of all American high school students have ever used the Internet. Facebook will not be invented for several more years. Emma just got a computer and an America Online CD-ROM with 100 free hours. When she and her best friend Josh log on to AOL they discover themselves on Facebook... fifteen years in the future. Everybody wonders what life has in store for them. 
Josh and Emma are about to find out.


My Thoughts:
I read this book for the 2012 ebook challenge. The Future of Us was outstanding. I finished it in less than a day. The plot of the story was original and fantastic. It kept me guessing the whole way through what was going to happen at the end. After reading this book, it made me think if I were to have seen my Facebook fifteen years ago, would I have liked the way my life turned out, or would I have tried to change something. The characters were very well written. I didn't like the main character, Emma. I thought she was selfish, rude, and manipulative. I think my favorite character was Kellen. I liked how she didn't take any crap from anyone. The book still had a few loose ends about what happens in Kellen's future, and I wish it would have said if what was predicted by Facebook happened to her or not, because I really wanted to know. I really liked the nostalgia factor to the book also. I loved hearing about Seinfield and Discmans and all the 90's references again. It brought back a lot of memories. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a good read with an original plot.


I give The Future of Us: 5/5.


Want to know more about the author? (Jay Asher)
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jayasher13
Blog: http://jayasher.blogspot.com/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/jayasherguy

(Carolyn Mackler)
Website: http://carolynmackler.com/Carolyn-Mackler-Home-Page.asp
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/carolynmackler
Twitter: http://twitter.com/carolynmackler

I bought this book for Kindle and wanted to review it after I finished it. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Tuesday, February 7, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday #1


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases we're eagerly anticipating.

This week's can't wait to read book is Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver. It will be released on February 28th 2012. (Not much longer to wait!!)

I’m pushing aside the memory of my nightmare, 

pushing aside thoughts of Alex,
pushing aside thoughts of Hana and my old school,
push,
push,
push,
like Raven taught me to do.
The old life is dead.
But the old Lena is dead too.
I buried her.
I left her beyond a fence,
behind a wall of smoke and flame.
Lauren Oliver delivers an electrifying follow-up to her acclaimed New York Times bestseller, Delirium. This riveting, brilliant novel crackles with the fire of fierce defiance, forbidden romance, and the sparks of a revolution about to ignite.
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads.)

I want this book so badly, it's not even funny. I loved Delirium, but was devastated that after the crazy cliffhanger at the end, we had to wait a year to find out what happens next. I tried and tried to get an ARC of Pandemonium, but it never happened. I will definitely be buying this on the day it comes out.

What book are you waiting for to come out? Let me know in the comments so I can get ideas for new books to read.

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week's topic is Top Ten books I would hand to someone that doesn't like to read. This list was hard for me, because most of my friends are readers.





  1. Any of the Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling
    These books changed my life when I was a kid. I liked to read before I read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, but I read a lot more frequently after I read the series.
  2. Alice in the Country of Hearts by QuinRose
    I know a lot of people don't consider manga books, but to me they are. I didn't like reading manga until I read Alice in the Country of Hearts. It's a weird take on Alice in Wonderland and full of a lot of fun.
  3. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks
    I believe that everyone should read at least one Nicholas Sparks book in their lifetime. The Notebook is my personal favorite out of all the books of his that I have read. It varies a little bit from the movie. My sister, absolutely hates to read, but she loved the movie, so she asked if she could borrow my book. By the time she was done with it, she liked the book better than the movie and has been reading similar things ever since.
  4. Emily the Strange: Dark Times by Rob Reger
    These books are perfect for older kids that don't like to read. They're short and quick, with plenty of illustrations. They also have a lot of dark witty humor, which I loved when I was younger.
  5. The Twilight Series by Stephanie Meyer
    I personally don't really care for it, but look at how many people the series has got started reading. You can't argue with that.
  6. One for the Money by Janet Evanovich
    This was the first adult book I had ever read. It was really funny, although cheesey at times. I think I read it in a little over an hour, and got the second in the series from the library right away.
  7. The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan
    I got into a reading slump a few years back, where I just didn't want to read at all. Then, a friend introduced me to this book. While it's quite large, it was a fairly easy read. I liked everything about it, especially the character Rand.
  8. The Paradise War by Stephen R. Lawhead
    This is labeled as an adult book, but I think it's a great book for young adults too. It sucks you in right from the beginning. I finished this book in almost one setting and recommended it to a friend that didn't like to read. He loved it as well, finishing it in a couple days.
  9. Avalon High by Meg Cabot
    Meg Cabot is another author that I think everyone should read one of her books at least once. She has books for younger readers, and adults. Avalon High is a good introduction for young readers into fantasy books, especially if they like Disney Channel.
  10. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
    I loved Vampire Academy. I think anyone that tends not to read vampire books because they don't want to get caught up in 'The Twilight Phase' should give this series a try. It's different from any other vampire book out there.

Call Sign, White Lily by M.G. Crisci


Synopsis:
CALL SIGN, WHITE LILY is the story of a fun-loving little girl who collects fireflies and wildflowers, ice-skates like the wind, and, at the age of 18, becomes Hitler's worst nightmare: a patriotic killing-machine that humiliates Germany's elite all-male Luftwaffe.

Lilia Litvyak (Lydia Litvak) was an amazing young lady who grew up in a male-dominated society to become one of the great heroes of World War II, a war that touched every Russian family. An estimated 30-40 million citizens died defending the Motherland in what was certainly the greatest human tragedy of all time. Unfortunately the rise of Stalin, and other political factors, have caused the sacrifices of these kind, generous people to grow dim among younger generations, particularly in America. Equally disturbing is the fact that the story of Lilia, her childhood, her life, her loves, her sacrifices, have only been shared in bits and pieces. How an American with no Russian ancestry would come to write this story, and would come to visit Lilia's grave site and monument in a tiny section of the Eastern Ukraine, is a curious phenomena. But with the support of some wonderful people you will meet in this book, and three years of travel, research and diligent efforts, Lilia is now ready for "her coming-out party."
(Synopsis taken from Amazon.)


My Thoughts:
Once again, M.G. Crisci does not disappoint. This is the second book I've read by him, and I loved both books. I'm finding out that his writing style is writing a non-fiction book so well that it feels like it's fiction. Personally, I'm not a fan of non-fiction novels, but if it didn't say true story on the front, I wouldn't have know it was a true story. I liked all the characters in Call Sign, White Lily. I can honestly say there's not a person I didn't like. I also loved how he wrote the book to sound like it was Russian translated into English. It gave the book more authenticity. Crisci makes you feel like you are actually there living the story right beside Lilia Litvyak. I recommend this book to anyone that likes stories about World War II or just wants a good book to read.


I give Call Sign, White Lily: 5/5.


Check out the book trailer: http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=10150104656569537


Want to know where to buy this book?
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Call-Sign-White-Lily-Crisci/dp/0966336038
Barnes and Noble: http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Call-SignWhite-Lily/ORCA-Publishing-Company/p/9780966336030

I received this book in exchange for an honest review, and was in no way compensated for this review.

Friday, February 3, 2012

A Ranger's Tale by Mysti Parker


Synopsis:
Once upon a time an elven noblewoman longed to leave her gilded cage. A half-breed former pirate wanted nothing more than to escape his guilty past. Easier said than done... 

In the fantasy world of Tallenmere, the high elf, Caliphany Aranea, nearly a century old, has never been allowed to travel farther than a few miles out of the capital city of Leogard. Her father, Sirius, leads the Mage Academy, and after losing his only son, he expects Caliphany to take his place one day. The trouble is, she doesn't want to study magic and doubts she'll ever be as good a wizard as her father. She dreams of leaving Leogard to explore the world and strike out on her own--lofty goals for Sirius' daughter, who also happens to be King Leopold's niece. 
When two brutes at Leogard Harbor attempt to kidnap her while she dreams of faraway lands, half-elf ship captain and ranger, Galadin Trudeaux, comes to her rescue. From their first chance encounter, to the finale, where Caliphany must decide where her heart truly lies, she and Galadin will face more adventure, more love, more heartache, than they ever thought possible. Through it all, they discover the power of forgiveness and of a love that stands the test of time.
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads)


My Thoughts:
I read this for the 2012 ebook challenge. Wow, this book was very powerfully moving. It touched heartstrings and made me laugh, scream, and cry. I love the characters, especially Galadin. My heart went out to Caliphany when she had to choose between the two men she loved. Some people might think she was wishy-washy or whiny, but I think she was strong for picking one man and sticking to her pick. The author wrote the plot very well. It had me turning pages and not wanting to put it down because I had to know what happened next. I like how Caliphany broke our of her gender boundaries and her father's clutches to become a ranger, even though she's a woman royalty. I recommend A Ranger's Tale for anyone that likes fantasy stories, or is just looking for a good read.


I give A Ranger's Tale: 5/5.


Want to know more about the author?
Blog: http://mystiparker.blogspot.com/
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mysti-Parker/103786449704221?sk=wall
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4625596.Mysti_Parker

I received this ebook from the author in exchange for an honest review, and was in no way compensated for this review.

Thursday, February 2, 2012

Lucci The No Smoochie Poochie by Donna L. Sadd


Synopsis:
Imagine adopting a dog to find out that he doesn’t give smoochies, kisses, lickies-nothing. Well, one family adopted a brother and sister pair of Dachshunds to find out just that; little Lucci (pronounced-loochy) was a no smoochie Poochie! Smile and giggle reading how this family, along with 2 other rather unique resident pups, tries everything to the point of exhaustion and still never gives up to get Lucci to give smoochies.


My Thoughts:
I read this for the 2012 ebook challenge. Lucci The No Smoochie Poochie is an adorable children's story. It's about a dog that won't cuddle or love on anyone. The author describes all the different dogs pretty well. The illustrations look like a child drew them, and left a lot to be desired. The name "Lucci" was always written on the dog, even when you could obviously tell it was Lucci. The book doesn't really have much of a moral lesson, which I always look for in children's books. The only lesson I could possibly see it giving is if you ignore animals, they will start to like you. While most of the time that's true, it isn't a very good lesson for children. I would recommend Lucci to parents looking for a cute quick bedtime story for their kids.

I give Lucci The No Smoochie Poochie: 2/5.

Want to know more about the author?

I received this book for free on Amazon Kindle, and was in no way compensated for this review.

ARC Review: Suck It Up and Die by Brian Meehl


Synopsis:
Nearly two years after Suck It Up, all Morning McCobb wants is to complete his training at the NY Fire Academy and to stay head over heels in love with Portia for as long as the chronology-crossed lovers can, given that she's now eighteen and he's stalled at sixteen.
It's nearly the first anniversary of American Out Day, the historic day on which the Leaguer vampires of America began going mainstream without going bloodstream on their fellow mortal citizens.
The tension between Morning's wish for a simple, out of the spotlight life, and Portia's cinematic obsession with historic events escalates to the breaking point when a super-sinister vampire rises from the grave with a powerful thirst, for revenge.


My Thoughts:
I read this book for the 2012 ebook challenge. I must admit, when I heard they were making a sequel to Suck It Up, I was very skeptical. Suck It up ended very well, and left no loose ends for a sequel. However, the author pulled off Suck It Up and Die very well. The story starts out with American Out Day, which is kind of like a gay pride parade, only for vampires. The plot turns out to have been written very well. It captured my attention enough that I read the book in two days, which is extremely unusual for me. I liked all of the characters, except Rachel. In my personal opinion, she was very whiny and annoying and had so much more potential for character development. The plot twists were unexpected, which was a nice change of pace from the usual predictable stuff I read. I didn't see most of them coming at all. Suck It Up and Die will have you on the edge of your seat wondering what happens next. Suck It Up and Die will be released on 8/12/2012.


I give Suck It Up and Die: 4/5.


Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.brianmeehl.com/
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/274667.Brian_Meehl

I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review, and was in no way compensated for this review.

Wednesday, February 1, 2012

Infopill: Guest Review of There Goes the Galaxy by Jenn Thorson

I have asked my fiancee, Seth, to step in and do a guest review of There Goes the Galaxy, a book I received but couldn't finish. He will be doing guest reviews from time to time on my blog.


Synopsis:
It’s the age-old tale of boy meets alien abductor. Boy meets stun-gun. Boy learns he’s the only one who can save the Earth from Extreme World Makeover by interstellar landlords. Yeah: he thinks it’s a bit much, too. Like everyone else on his planet, Bertram Ludlow hasn’t paid much attention to fluctuations in the intergalactic real estate market. But as a cognitive psychology grad student, he has given some thought to what a complete mental breakdown looks like. And this is pretty close. Now he’s discovering space is a mad and mind-boggling place where interspecies communication rests on the power of a gumball. Where androids demand better work/life balance. Where crime is Art, technology still has its bugs, and lasers don’t actually go “pyew-pyew.” It’s also surprisingly easy to get on the Universe’s Most Wanted list. So with the weight of the world on his shoulders and the cosmic law on his tail, can Bertram outrun, outwit and out-bid to save the Earthling squatters from one spaced-out redevelopment plan?
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

Seth's Review:
The book was good, save one or two continuity issues in the story line (which I might not be remembering correctly). I had a lot of fun reading There Goes the Galaxy. Though at times, the puns were laid on a bit thick, such as Seers of Roebuck, podunk, and par too. As a fan of hardcore sci-fi, this was a welcome relief from having people dying in the first paragraph or two because they forgot to test the air for pathogens.

Seth gives There Goes the Galaxy: 4/5.

Giveaway Winner!

Winner of My First Giveaway :)


We didn't get to 100 followers during my giveaway, so Bewitching won't be given away. :(
But the winner of the Redheart swag is.....

Nedraw :)

Email will be sent out shortly. Thank you everyone who supported my giveaway.