Wednesday, June 27, 2012

The Syndicate by Shelena Shorts


Synopsis:
For centuries, the Petrescu family has been protecting society from a danger that moves among the population undetected. Eighteen-year-old Vasi Petrescu has never had a problem carrying out his duty, but, when ordered to eliminate an eighteen-year-old girl, he is immediately taken out of his comfort zone.

The Syndicate has never targeted a female before, yet somehow this one has ended up on more than one hit list. Vasi would like to find out why, but there may not be time.

Now, he'll have to decide whether or not to keep her alive even if it means going against his own family.

The action, mystery, and conspiracy in The Syndicate will take readers on an immersing journey in which decisions are not only life changing, but irreversible.


My Thoughts:
I didn't like The Syndicate. It started off slow, and continues that way throughout most of the book. The last fifty pages started to get interesting, but it didn't make up for the rest of the book. The plot was easy to follow. It just got really boring. I didn't care for the characters. The main character, Vasi, was okay at the beginning of the book. Then after he met Riley, he turned into an overprotective creeper and a stalker. He would sit outside Riley's apartment in his truck, and watch her apartment. He used the excuse of protecting her from the hybrids, , but he was still stalking her. He was also controlling. He wanted to know where she was at all times. He even had his sister follow her to church. Vasi's sister, Rosie, was whiny and annoying. She always wanted something in return for doing favors for him. She had to constantly be praised about how good of a job she did. Henri, the leader of The Syndicate, was ridiculous and irrational. He was also power hungry. Henri did whatever he wanted, regardless of the rules. He had no negative consequences for the horrible things he did. I didn't care for The Syndicate, and would not read it again. I don't recommend this book to anyone.


I give The Syndicate: 1/5.


Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.shelenashorts.com/Home_Page.html
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2980339.Shelena_Shorts
Twitter: https://twitter.com/intent/follow?original_referer=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.shelenashorts.com%2F&region=follow_link&screen_name=ShelenaShorts&source=followbutton&variant=2.0

I received this book in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated or this review.

Swag Giveaway


Because I have reached 400 Facebook followers, I have decided to have a giant swag give away. All you have to do is like my Facebook page if you haven't already, and leave a comment with your email address saying which pack you would like to win. For every extra hundred followers the Facebook page gets before the contest ends, I will throw in an extra swag pack. That's 8 chances to win, and maybe even more. The link to the Facebook page is: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kaylas-Reads-and-Reviews/304711719567566  Want to know what's in the packs?

*PACK 1*
The Touching the Surface by Kimberly Sabatini pack
  • 2 Touching the Surface Bracelets
  • 1 Touching the Surface autographed bookmark
  • 1 Touching the Surface card
  • 1 Touching the Surface sticker
  • 1 paper crane

*PACK 2*
The smaller Touching the Surface by Kimberly Sabatini pack
  • 1 Touching the Surface autographed bookmark
  • 1 Touching the Surface card
  • 1 paper crane

*PACK 3*
The Send Me a Sign by Tiffany Schmidt pack
  • 1 Send Me a Sign bookmark
  • 2 four leaf clover tattoos
  • 1 good luck coin
  • 1 Send Me a Sign guitar pick

*PACK 4*
The Random Swag Pack
  • 1 Touching the Surface autographed bookmark
  • 1 Touching the Surface card
  • 1 Better than Magic bookmark
  • 1 From the Dead card
  • 1 The Syndicate bookmark
  • 1 Dragon Aster postcard
  • 1 autographed Vampyre Kisses postcard
  • 1 autographed The Spirit Box postcard

*PACK 5*
The Smaller Random Swag Pack
  • 1 Dragon Aster postcard
  • 1 monkey sticker
  • 1 Touching the Surface autographed bookmark
  • 1 Touching the Surface card
  • 4 Darkslayer trading cards

*PACK 6*
The Random Swag Pack Part 2
  • 1 Immortal Obsession postcard
  • 1 Dragon Aster postcard
  • 1 Spirit Box autographed postcard 
  • 1 Soul Born Saga postcard
  • 1 Vampyre Kisses autographed postcard
  • 1 Touching the Surface autographed bookmark
  • 1 Touching the Surface card
  • 1 Better than Magic bookmark
  • 1 The Gathering bookmark
  • 1 From the Dead card

*PACKS 7&8*
The Auracle by Gina Rosati Pack
  • 1 Auracle Sticker
  • 1 Auracle bookmark
  • 1 Auracle Pin
  • 1 Auracle Bracelet
  • 1 Auracle Magnet
The giveaway will end on 7/27/2012 at 12:01 A.M. Open to US Residents only. Good luck to everyone who enters.

Saturday, June 23, 2012

ARC Review: Small Medium at Large by Joanne Levy


Synopsis:
After she’s hit by lightning at a wedding, twelve-year-old Lilah Bloom develops a new talent: she can hear dead people. Among them, there’s her overopinionated Bubby Dora; a prissy fashion designer; and an approval-seeking clown who livens up a séance. With Bubby Dora leading the way, these and other sweetly imperfect ghosts haunt Lilah through seventh grade, and help her face her one big fear: talking to—and possibly going to the seventh-grade dance with—her crush, Andrew Finkel.
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads.)

My Thoughts:
Small Medium at Large was a funny middle grade novel. After finishing the book, I understand what the title means. I love the humor in the title. Once starting the book, the reader finds the same humor throughout the pages. The book made me laugh quite a bit. I don't think a chapter went by without me at least chuckling. The plot was well written. There weren't any plot holes. The story flowed well from beginning to end. It was entertaining. I stayed up late to finish the book because I wanted to find out what happened at the end. I liked all of the characters. My favorite was Bubby, Lilah's ghost grandmother. Her quirkiness and awkwardness had me laughing until I was almost crying at times. Since Lilah lived with dad, Bubby was also a great help to Lilah. She helped Lilah with going through that awkward stage in between being a child and becoming a teenager. Small Medium at Large was great. I loved the author's writing style, and will definitely read more of her work in the future. I'm hoping she writes a sequel. I would love to know what happens with Lilah's dad and Alex's mom. I also want to know if things work out between Lilah and Alex. I recommend this book for older elementary school kids and middle schoolers. 

I give Small Medium at Large: 5/5.

Want to know more about the author?

I received this book in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Infinite Sacrifice by L.E. Waters


Synopsis:
Maya’s shocked to discover it’s not the heaven she imagined; in fact, a life of adventure begins the moment you die.

Zachariah, her faithful spirit guide, explains the rules of the dead: in order to regain complete awareness and reunite with loved ones all souls must review their previous lives.

Maya plunges warily into her turbulent pasts as a sociopathic High Priest in ancient Egypt; an independent mother protecting a dangerous secret in glorious Sparta; an Irish boy kidnapped and enslaved by Vikings; and a doctor’s wife forced to make an ethical stand in plague-ridden England.

All the while, Maya yearns to be with those she cares about most and worries that she hasn’t learned all of heaven’s most vital lessons. Will she be forced to leave the tranquility of heaven to survive yet another painful and tumultuous life? Or worse, accept the bitter reality of having to go back alone?
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads)


My Thoughts:
Infinite Sacrifice was a great novel. It was interesting to hear about all of Maya's past lives. The book made me reflect and wonder, if I had past lives, what would they have been like? I liked watching Maya mature throughout her reincarnations. In her first life, when she was a male priest, she was a jerk. She thought only of herself and her mistress. In her second life, a Spartan wife and mother, she matured a bit. She put one of her son's needs above hers. She was still a jerk though. Her other son, she was harsh to and didn't treat well. Her third life, as an Irish-man turned Viking, she sacrificed herself to be with her son in the afterlife. This is where we see the biggest change in Maya's soul. In her fourth life, as a doctor's wife, she sacrifices her relationship with her husband and mother to help children she didn't know. She also helped take care of a lot of people that had the plague. My favorite character throughout Maya's lives was Gunhilda. I loved her kick butt attitude. No one was going to tell her what to do. Even though she was a woman, she fought better than most men. Gunhilda became a very valuable asset to the Vikings during the war. This book was phenomenal. I loved it. I can't wait to read the sequel, Infinite Devotion, and find out more about Maya's past lives. I recommend this book to anyone who likes stories about reincarnation, spirituality, or second chances. 


I give Infinite Sacrifice: 5/5.


Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://laurenwaters.net/
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5314867.L_E_Waters

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Fated by Alyson Noel


Synopsis:
Lately strange things have been happening to Daire Santos. Animals follow her, crows mock her, and glowing people appear out of nowhere. Worried that Daire is having a nervous breakdown, her mother packs her off to stay in the dusty plains of Enchantment, New Mexico with a grandmother she’s never met.

There she crosses paths with Dace, a gorgeous guy with unearthly blue eyes who she’s encountered before...but only in her dreams. And she’ll get to know her grandmother—a woman who recognizes Daire’s bizarre episodes for what they are. A call to her true destiny as a Soul Seeker, one who can navigate between the worlds of the living and the dead. Her grandmother immediately begins teaching her to harness her powers—but it’s an art that must be mastered quickly. Because Dace’s brother is an evil shape-shifter who’s out to steal her powers. Now Daire must embrace her fate as a Soul Seeker and find out if Dace is one guy she’s meant to be with...or if he’s allied with the enemy she’s destined to destroy.


My Thoughts:
Fated was a great start to a new series by Alyson Noel. Noel has two other series, the Radiance series, and the Immortals series. She also has quite a few other novels. I think Fated is my favorite book/series by her so far. It's definitely her best work yet. The plot was intricately woven. There weren't any plot holes that I noticed. Also, there weren't any grammar or spelling errors. The middle of the book got a little boring for about ten pages or so, then the story line picked back up again. I liked all of the characters. Dace has become my new book boyfriend. I love his kindness and compassion. My favorite character was Xotichl. I liked that even though she is disabled, she didn't let it get her down. She found a new way to see and do all the things she loved. She even fell in love with someone, which is really inspiring. I thought that Fated was a great book. I recommend this book for fans of Alyson Noel's previous works. I also recommend Fated to anyone that likes YA paranormal fiction. 


I give Fated: 5/5.


Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.alysonnoel.com/index.php
Blog: http://alysonnoel.blogspot.com/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/AlysonNoel
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/OfficialAlysonNoel
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/200317.Alyson_Noel

I borrowed this book from the library. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Shelf Candy Saturday


Shelf Candy Saturday is a weekly meme hosted by Five Alarm Book Reviews where we discuss beautiful book covers.

My Shelf Candy for this Saturday is Veiled Rose by Anne Elisabeth Stengl.
Synopsis:
Rose Red trusts no one with her secret. She hides in the forest, her face veiled in rags, shunning the company of all save her old father and her nanny goat. Her life is bleak and lonely. 
Until she meets a privileged young man sent to spend his summer in the mountains. Leo, a lonely lad, befriends Rose Red, and together they begin hunting for the Mountain Monster which, rumor says, stalks these lands. 
But the hunt which began as a game holds greater risk than Leo supposes. Rose Red can scarcely guess at the consequences should he insist on continuing his search. Dare she trust him with her secret? Or tell him what dwells at the top of the mountain in the cave only she can find? 
Above all, when Leo asks Rose Red to leave the mountain and follow him to the low country, dare she agree and risk the wrath of a Monster that is all too real?



I just love this book cover. The gold and the blue compliment each other perfectly. There is a lot of great artwork and detail in the talon. 

What book covers are you currently drooling over?

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Promotion from C. Robinson

Author C. Robinson has an awesome promotion going on, and I wanted to share with all my followers.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hi, I'm author C. Robinson and I tell stories that inspire people to be daring and take chances. I'm offering a special promotion for the 2nd book of the Me & D*ck series that will allow you, the reader, to read the first 3 chapters to the sequel, Me & D*ck Plus 2 Balls, a week before the release date along with a huge discount to the hard copy version. 

To take an advantage of of the promotion:

First, purchase my freshman offering, Me & D*ck, on either Kindle, Nook, iTunes or Amazon. 

Second, "Like" me on Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/pages/C-Robin...)

Third, comment on my Facebook page about who your favorite character is. 

If you have any questions feel free to contact me at robinson@authorcrobinson.com. 

The Me & D*ck series makes great summer reading, either at the beach, poolside or cuddled up in your favorite hammock, so tell a friend to tell a friend. Happy reading!


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Make sure you check out this great deal!

Feature and Follow Friday


Feature and Follow Friday is a meme hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read every Friday. It's where you learn more about book bloggers.


Q: If you could “unread” a book, which one would it be? Is it because you want to start over and experience it again for the first time? Or because it was THAT bad?


A: If I could unread a book, I would choose Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I would love to experience it again for the first time. When I first read it, I went through several emotions. I was happy, sad, shocked, heartbroken, joyous, and many other emotions. I've never felt that emotional reading another book,and would love to read it again and experience it for the first time again.

Which book would you unread and why?

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday


Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine. It spotlights releases that we are looking forward to.

My waiting on Wednesday pick is:
Endlessly by Kiersten White



Synopsis from Goodreads:
Try as she might, Evie can’t seem to escape her not-so-normal past. And what was supposed to be a blissfully normal school break is ruined when a massive group of paranormals shows up at her house, claiming that Evie is the only one who can protect them from a mysterious, perilous fate.

The deadly war between the faerie courts looms ever closer. The clock is ticking on the entire paranormal world. And its future rests solely in Evie’s hands.

So much for normal.

With a perfect blend of humor and suspense, Endlessly is everything readers could dream of in a conclusion—and the unexpected twists will keep them guessing until the very last page.


That synopsis is definitely a tease. I must know what the twists are. It seems like I've been waiting years for this book to be released. I love the cover. Purple is one of my favorite colors, and it definitely looks gorgeous on Evie. Endlessly is released on July 24th, 2012.

What book are you most looking forward to being released?

Sunday, June 17, 2012

Radiance by Alyson Noel


Synopsis:
Riley Bloom left her sister, Ever, in the world of the living and crossed the bridge into the afterlife—a place called Here, where time is always Now. Riley and her dog, Buttercup, have been reunited with her parents and are just settling into a nice, relaxing death when she's summoned before The Council. They let her in on a secret—the afterlife isn't just an eternity of leisure; Riley has to work. She's been assigned a job, Soul Catcher, and a teacher, Bodhi, a curious boy she can't quite figure out.

Riley, Bodhi, and Buttercup return to earth for her first assignment, a Radiant Boy who's been haunting a castle in England for centuries. Many Soul Catchers have tried to get him to cross the bridge and failed. But he's never met Riley...


My Thoughts:
Radiance is the first book in the Riley Bloom series. The Riley Bloom series is a spin off of Noel's Immortals series. I love the Immortals series, so when I learned about the Riley Bloom series, I was very excited. While Radiance wasn't as good as the Immortals series, it didn't disappoint. I was hoping that it would have more of Riley's point of view from when she was in Summerland and helping Ever, but it didn't. The book is about Riley crossing over and adjusting to her new job as soul catcher in the Here and Now. The plot was okay. The middle of the book got a little boring for me at times. Riley was a whiny character, which got annoying during some parts of the book. My favorite character was Buttercup. He made me laugh quite a few times. For example, when he was flying and trying to chase birds but he kept going through them. I liked Radiance and will definitely be finishing this series sometime in the future. I'm excited to see what the author does with the series and where she takes it. I recommend this book for fans of ghost stories. I also recommend it for fans of the Immortals series, or any of Alyson Noel's previous works.


I give Radiance: 3/5.


Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.alysonnoel.com/
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/200317.Alyson_Noel
Blog: http://alysonnoel.blogspot.com/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/AlysonNoel
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/OfficialAlysonNoel?ref=ts

I rented this book from the library. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Insight by Diana Greenwood


Synopsis:
Elvira Witsil's difficult life in rural Wisconsin is made yet harder when her peculiar sister, Jessie, is discovered to be a seer. Adding yet more to Elvira's burden is a secret--she is responsible for her father enlisting in World War II, from which he never returned.


My Thoughts:
Insight was a good inspirational novel. I wasn't expecting the time period of the book to be in the 1940's. Usually I don't read things set in a war time era. However, this book was really good, and didn't focus on World War II much. The plot went along fairly well. Parts of the plot got a little boring at times, such as the stopping along the side of the road a few times to rest. I thought it was cool how the author wrote a few A.A. references into the book. She also wrote a couple of snippets about A.A. history. The ending of the book completely shocked me. I was expecting a totally different ending. I think I liked this ending better than the one I expected. I liked most of the characters. The grandma got a little annoying at times. I think my favorite character was Don, the preacher. I liked how kind and wise he was. He took the family almost cross country without knowing much about them. This was a great novel with a powerful message. The message it gave was to not let guilt consume you. Another message the book gave was that God will help you through your problems, no matter how big they may seem. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a good read. 


I give Insight: 4/5.


Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.dianagreenwood.com/
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4498618.Diana_Greenwood

I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Fire Mage by John Forrester


Synopsis:
For centuries, mages perfected magic at the Order of the Dawn. Mastery over fire, wind, and storm. They live in the last free city in a world plagued by dark sorcerers. 

Talis Storm and friend Mara discover a terrible secret. The Jiserian Empire has targeted their city for attack. An army of undead soldiers. Flying necromancers. None have ever survived. 

When a surprise aerial invasion hits the Order’s temple, Talis casts fire magic for the first time. But his spell is wild and does more harm than good. Sorcerers try to capture Talis and Mara. They flee into the temple crypts. Awoken from an ancient rest, a fallen champion slays the sorcerers and gives Talis a legendary map. The map leads them on a quest to discover the lost temple of the sun. 

To save his city, Talis must discover the power of magic locked away inside the ancient temple. And become a true fire mage.


My Thoughts:
Fire Mage was a great short novel. The plot was wonderful and kept me on the edge of my seat. I finished the book in a little less than twenty four hours. The setting was very detailed. I thought the concept of The Blood Dagger was interesting and original. The Blood Dagger is where you fight until you're hurt enough that a healer has to be called in. You don't find a lot of things like that in YA books. The characters were well written. Mara was my favorite character. I liked her spunk. She was locked in a room so she wouldn't be around Talis, but she escaped and went with him on the journey anyways. She also wasn't going to accept things that she didn't like, such as becoming engaged. This was an incredible book. I will definitely be reading the rest of the Blacklight Chronicles series in the future. 


I give Fire Mage: 5/5.


Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.blacklightchronicles.com/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/JohnForrester
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5355675.John_Forrester

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Thief of Hope by Cindy Young-Turner


Synopsis:
Sydney, a street urchin and pickpocket in the town of Last Hope, has managed to evade the oppressive Guild for years, but there is no escaping fate when she's sentenced to death for associating with the resistance.After she's rescued by a wizard, Sydney is forced to accept that magic-long outlawed throughout the Kingdom of Thanumor-still exists, and the Tuatha, a powerful faery folk, are much more than ancient myth and legend. When the wizard offers a chance to fight the Guild and bring Willem, bastard prince and champion of the Tuatha, to the throne, Sydney embraces the cause as a way to find her own redemption.But Sydney's fear of the Guild, distrust of authority, and surprising connection to the Tuatha threaten Willem's success. Can she untangle the strange threads that entwine her life not only to the fate of the kingdom, but also to Willem himself?


My Thoughts:
Thief of Hope was absolutely wonderful. The story had me captivated from beginning to end. The prologue was a little rocky for me, but it was over fairly quickly. There was one or two minor grammar errors throughout the story. As soon as I began reading the book, I felt a deep connection with Sydney, the main character. The author makes the reader feel as if they were in Sydney's shoes, experiencing everything she is going through. The plot was very creative and flows smoothly. The author writes a very detailed setting. I love the Tuatha realm. It almost makes the reader wish they lived there. The book made me laugh and cry a few times. A couple things that happened in the story left me completely shocked. I had no clue that it was going to happen until it did. Thief of Hope was an incredible book that I highly suggest reading. However, due to a couple of sex scenes, I recommend it for older teens and up. (16+)


I give Thief of Hope: 5/5.


Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://cindyyoungturner.com/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/AuthorCindyYT
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cindy-Young-Turner/206268086074718
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4882750.Cindy_Young_Turner

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Monday, June 11, 2012

Musing Mondays


Musing Monday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. She gives us a question and we answer it. This week's question is:
What is the longest book you have ever read? How long did it take you to read it?


My answer is:
Under the Dome by Stephen King. It was 1,072 pages and took me two weeks to read. It was a great book, although the middle was a little too slow for my taste. 

What's the longest book you've ever read? Leave me an answer in the comments.

Sunday, June 10, 2012

Best Friends Forever: Me and My Dog by Rebecca Currington


Synopsis:
The relationships between owners and their pets go well beyond basic companionship. Not only do they develop a special bond, but people can gain insights on life, faith, and love from their cats and dogs. These heartwarming collections include 40 meditations each and draw from real-life experiences with the authors' own pets as well as those of their family and friends. From Katrina survivor Bess to the phone-answering dog Jordy, from the kitten-tending grandpa cat to the lifelong camp resident Sylvester, each reading is sure to delight, encourage, and inspire.


My Thoughts:
When I first received this book for review, I thought I wouldn't like it because I'm not a dog person. I was definitely wrong. I learned a lot about life from the dogs in this book. This is a Christian book, but you can learn a lot from it whether you believe in God or not. The book teaches you about patience, accepting others, and trusting others along with many other valuable life lessons. My favorite story in the book was the one about Sage and Clemie. The two dogs manage to escape the yard, and caused quite a bit of havoc in the neighborhood. They went so far as to grab one of the neighbor's recently cleaned towels, and play tug of war with it. I loved this book, and got a lot out of it. I recommend it for dog lovers of all ages.


I give Best Friends Forever: Me and My Dog: 5/5.


Want to know where to buy this book?
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Best-Friends-Forever-Learned-About/dp/076420775X
christianbook.com: http://www.christianbook.com/best-friends-forever-and-my-dog/rebecca-currington/9780764207754/pd/207754DA
Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/best-friends-forever-rebecca-currington/1103072883

I received this book from the publisher, Bethany House, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

A Fading Wind by Melody Crevoiserat


Synopsis:
Dale's world will never be the same again. This mysterious affliction has been sweeping through the world of the Ten Cities, leaving an unseen destruction in its wake. 

Wherever this blight is found, the mystical Wardens can no longer feel the life energies of the plants and animals they have been chosen to shepherd. Even Justyn Aginforth, the most powerful of the Wardens, whose rare Talent for the earth is unprecedented, is at a loss on how to combat this new menance. 

From the moment they meet, Dale gets swept into Justyn's quest to discover the source of this Fading, and find a way to stop it before it can overtake the entire world. 

But Justyn finds another mystery in Dale. She is not the simple Tree Warden she believes herself to be, and seems to have a connection to this scourge upon the earth. Unraveling these hidden secrets leads them to the very doors of the Warden Academy itself, but it may already be too late.


My Thoughts:
A Fading Wind was a great story. The plot flowed smoothly, with no noticeable plot holes. I wish Benn would have been in the book more. Even though he was a minor character, he was my favorite character. I liked the main characters, Justyn and Dale. I thought the way the author spelled Justyn was original and cool. I had also never heard Dale used as a woman's name before. The main characters were very well developed. They not only had strong powers, but they went through a lot of unfortunate mishaps on the way to the academy. Even with everything they went through, they finished their quest without giving up. This was a great book by a debut author. I will definitely be reading more of Crevoiserat's work in the future. I recommend A Fading Wind for fans of supernatural books.


I give A Fading Wind: 5/5.


Want to know more about the author?
Blog: http://melodycrevoiserat.wordpress.com/
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/melodycrevoiserat
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5144741.Melody_Crevoiserat

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Talisman of El by Alecia Stone


Synopsis:
WHAT IF YOUR WHOLE LIFE WAS A LIE?

One Planet.

Two Worlds.

Population: Human ... 7 billion.
Others ... unknown.

When 14-year-old Char­lie Blake wakes up sweat­ing and gasp­ing for air in the mid­dle of the night, he knows it is hap­pen­ing again. This time he wit­nesses a bru­tal mur­der. He's afraid to tell any­one. No one would believe him ... because it was a dream. Just like the one he had four years ago - the day before his dad died.

Char­lie doesn't know why this is hap­pen­ing. He would give any­thing to have an ordi­nary life. The prob­lem: he doesn't belong in the world he knows as home.

He belongs with the others.


My Thoughts:
When I first read the synopsis of Talisman of El, I was very excited to read it. I thought it was a book that I would definitely like. However, after I started to read it, I just couldn't get into it. I couldn't identify with any of the characters. None of the characters stood out as memorable for me. The plot got very confusing at times. There were a lot of words and names of things that sounded the same. I thought that the whole trip to find the Garden of Eden was very confusing, especially when Charlie was trying to bring Derekin back from the dead. I must say, I do love the cover of the book, but it couldn't redeem the book. Talisman of El took me over a month to read. Several times, I put it down and didn't want to pick it back up. I finally finished ir though. I will not be continuing with this series in the future. 


I give Talisman of El: 1/5.


Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.aleciastone.com/
http://www.talismanofel.com/
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AleciaStoneFan
Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/Alecia_Stone

I received this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5227478.Alecia_Stone

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Review and Giveaway: Sam and the Sugar Bug by Humaira Shah


Synopsis:
Sam and the Sugar Bug teaches children to brush their teeth in a fun and interesting way. With interactive narration and beautiful color photos, the book promotes reading skills as well as teaching them the importance of brushing. Now available on ibooks. 

My Thoughts:
Sam and the Sugar Bug is a great educational children's book. It teaches kids the dangers of not brushing their teeth. After not brushing his teeth properly, Sam's mouth gets invaded by a sugar bug named Randy. Randy and his friends have fun in Sam's mouth and cause Sam pain. Finally, Sam has to go to the dentist. The dentist fills in Sam's cavities, and gets Randy and his friends out of Sam's mouth. The illustrations in the book are very well drawn. The iluustration of Randy's house sitting on Sam's tooth is cute, as well as the one of Randy and his friends partying. This book is a very well written tool to teach children about brushing teeth. Parents and children can read it together, then discuss it afterwards.

I give Sam and the Sugar bug: 5/5.

Want to know where to buy this book?
To order the book call 310-937-1793

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review and was in no way compensated for this review.

*The Giveaway*
I have one hardcover book of Sam and the Sugar Bug to giveaway to one lucky follower. There are a few rules to the giveaway:
  • Follow my blog in some way
  • Like Sam and the Sugar Bug on Facebook:
    http://www.facebook.com/SamAndTheSugarBug
  • Comment on this post with your email address and the way you follow the blog.
  • Contest will end on July 5th at 12:01 a.m.
  • Open to U.S. Residents only.
Have fun and good luck! Thank you to everyone who enters.

Sunday, June 3, 2012

Winners of An Oath of the Blood

GIVEAWAY WINNERS!
Congrats to Aimee N. Busch and Delphina for winning Island Shifters: An Oath of the Blood. You have 48 hours to respond to the email I sent you. Thank you to everyone who partcipated.

Saturday, June 2, 2012

Cover Reveal: The Collector by Victoria Scott

The cover for The Collector is finally here. I am excited to read this book. Dante Walker sounds very sexy. I love the plot summary as well. A soul collector book sounds like it would be interesting to read. Only 9 months left until it comes out.


He makes good girls...bad. 

Dante Walker is flippin’ awesome, and he knows it. His good looks, killer charm, and stellar confidence has made him one of hell’s best—a soul collector. His job is simple, weed through humanity and label those round rears with a big red good or bad stamp. Old Saint Nick gets the good guys, and he gets the fun ones. Bag-and-tag.

Sealing souls is nothing personal. Dante’s an equal opportunity collector and doesn’t want it any other way. But he’ll have to adjust, because Boss Man has given him a new assignment:

Collect Charlie Cooper’s soul within 10 days.

Dante doesn’t know why Boss Man wants Charlie, nor does he care. This assignment means only one thing to him, and that’s a permanent ticket out of hell. But after Dante meets the quirky, Nerd Alert chick he’s come to collect—he realizes this assignment will test his abilities as a collector, and uncover emotions deeply buried.


Publication Date: March 2013.

Four Houses by Victoria Scott


Synopsis:
A young girl faced with four choices, must make a decision that will forever haunt her.


My Thoughts:
Four Houses was an interesting short story. It made me reflect quite a bit on life, and which house I would choose. I think I would choose the house of content. I would be perfectly happy to sit around and read for the rest of eternity. I thought it was cool that the house Maddy, the main character, chose was the one thing she regretted missing out on in life. This was a great short story. It taught me a little bit about life and myself. I recommend it to anyone looking for a quick read. 


I give Four Houses: 5/5.


Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.victoriascottya.com/
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3251728.Victoria_Scott

I received this ebook from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Chronicles of the Undead by A.F. Stewart


Synopsis:
Family Secrets. Three generations of one family share their intimacies with the world of the vampire.Inside the personal journals of the Harrington family a dark and dangerous odyssey unfolds.Three members of this tormented family, Samuel, his son Edmund, and Edmund's daughter Charlotte, struggle during the 18th and 19th century in London, England, as the lives of this family intersects with supernatural forces. Two intriguing vampires befriend, manipulate and play with all three souls, altering their lives forever.Their fears, private confidences, and weaknesses are revealed on the pages as one selfish act ends in horrific tragedy, with far-reaching consequences.Find out who succumbs to the seduction and danger of the vampire, and who grapples to combat the evil influence that permeates their lives. Content may not be suitable for children.


My Thoughts:
Chronicles of the Undead is a decently good short story. It's a diary in three parts. The first part is about Samuel Harrington, the father who becomes a vampire. The second part is about Edmund Harrington, the son who becomes a vampire hunter. The third part is about Charlotte Harrington, the granddaughter who follows in her father's footsteps. I love reading stories in diary formats, and this book was no exception. It made for a quick, fun read. I didn't have a favorite character. The character I liked the least was Eleanor. She was a very weak woman. She let her husband beat her, belittle her, and generally treat her horribly. She took it without complaint, or telling someone, or leaving. Otherwise, the book was good. I just wish it would have been a little longer, and gave more information about what happened to Edmund after his journal entry ended. I recommend this book for vampire fans.


I give Chronicles of the Undead: 3/5.


Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.afallon.bravehost.com/
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1175681.A_F_Stewart
Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/scribe77
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/afstewartauthor
Blog: http://afstewartblog.blogspot.com/

I received this book in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Friday, June 1, 2012

Slated by Teri Terry


Synopsis:
Kyla’s memory has been erased,
her personality wiped blank,
her memories lost for ever.

She’s been Slated.

The government claims she was a terrorist, and that they are giving her a second chance - as long as she plays by their rules. But echoes of the past whisper in Kyla’s mind. Someone is lying to her, and nothing is as it seems. Who can she trust in her search for the truth?


My Thoughts:
Slated was a mesmerizing dystopian novel. The plot was very well written. At first, I was a little confused about the process of being slated but I received a good understanding of the process around page fifty. Once I figured out the details, slating seemed like an interesting process. I am excited to learn more about it in future books. I liked most of the characters. The only characters I didn't like were Mrs. Ali  and Dad. Both of them were fairly creepy, and I don't trust them. My favorite character was Phoebe. I liked that she loved animals. She seemed truly happy only when she was around animals, which I can identify with. Terry has written a wonderful debut book. I am enthused to read more of her work in the future. She has become one of my favorite debut authors this year. I can't wait to read the second book in the series when it is released. I want to find out more about Nico, and I want to learn what happened to Ben. I recommend this book for fans of YA dystopian.


I give Slated: 5/5.


Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://teriterry.jimdo.com/
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5238854.Teri_Terry
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TeriTerryAuthor
Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/TeriTerryWrites

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Awesome giveaway from The Selkie Reads Stories

There is an awesome giveaway currently being hosted by The Selkie Reads Stories. Make sure to go check it out for your chance to win $50 in books. Just click the picture below to be taken to the giveaway.