Thursday, June 27, 2013

My Sister's Reaper blog tour


ABOUT MY SISTER’S REAPER
Title: MY SISTER’S REAPER
Publication date: May, 2013
Publisher: Month9Books, LLC.
ISBN-13: 978-0-9850294-9-4
ISBN eBook: 978-0-9850294-8-7
Author: Dorothy Dreyer

Synopsis
There’s bragging, there’s trying to impress a boy, and then there’s Sixteen-year-old Zadie. Zadie’s first mistake was telling the boy she’s crushing on that she could bring her dead sister back to life. Her second mistake? Actually doing it! When Zadie accidentally messes with the Reaper’s Rite that should have claimed her sister Mara, things go horribly wrong (you think?). Mara isn’t the same anymore—Zadie isn’t even sure she’s completely human, and to top it off, a Reaper is determined to collect Mara’s soul no matter what. Now Zadie must figure out how to defeat her sister’s Reaper, intent on claiming both girls, or let Mara die … this time for good.


Today, we have something special on the blog. Dorothy Dreyer is stopping by with a guest post


How My Life Has Changed Since being Published

You chase after a dream. You work hard, dream about it, do whatever it takes to get there, imagine what it would be like once you’ve accomplished your goal. Then, by a miracle of miracles, you get there! Now what?

It’s been a huge goal in my life to get published. Now that my dream is coming true, I take a look around and examine how my life has changed. At this point, not too much yet. Except that I’m a LOT busier. I still have a house to keep up with and a family to take care of. I’m still working my day job, but maybe that will change if I keep writing and selling books. But two new things have entered my life that I didn’t have before (okay, three when you count royalty checks). Those two things are: deadlines and marketing.

Gone are the days of writing without the pressure of a deadline. While writing the sequel to MY SISTER’S REAPER, I had to do multiple revision rounds on book one. Both of which were deadline based tasks. So after work (which is very physical, as I’m a nursery school teacher running after one and two-year olds all day), I had to slip my author cap on tend to my “one-year-old” book and “two-year-old” book, so to speak. Not to mention dishes and laundry and dinner and helping with homework. So is the life of a writer mom.

Marketing is a whole new world as well. I actually have something physical to promote now, and a good part of being an author is getting the word out. It takes a lot of time, a lot of research on the internet, a lot of social networking. Thank goodness I have a great publicity team to help me out.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
ABOUT DOROTHY DREYER:Dorothy Dreyer has always believed in magic. She loves reading, writing, movies, and spending time with her family and friends. Half-American and half-Filipino, Dorothy lives in Germany with her husband and two children.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Book Links: Goodreads Barnes And Noble
Author Links: Website - Facebook Page - Twitter - We Do Write Blog
Month9Books: Website - Blogger Central - Facebook - Twitter - Pinterest - Goodreads 

Monday, June 24, 2013

All Through My Town by Jean Reidy


Synopsis:
Rising, waking
Bread is baking

School bus honks its horn


Who are the people in your neighborhood? Perfect for the pre-K set, this adorable rhyming text takes a walking tour of your community. The fresh modern art of Leo Timmers features hidden details and a perennial theme reminiscent of Richard Scarry. Little ones will beg to re-read again as they discover the characters who repeat throughout the art in this sweet and vibrant story.

My Thoughts:

All Through My Town is a cute children’s book. It teaches children what different people have to do to get ready in the morning. For example, the florist has to clip flowers and the librarian has to put books on the shelves. All Through My Town also teaches children how much hard work it takes for the children to get the things that they love. Corn takes a lot of work in sowing the seeds and tilling the fields to be able to eat it. The book also shows you have good mornings and sometimes you have bad mornings. No matter what kind of morning you have you should make the best of it. I will definitely be recommending this book to my friend who has a four year old son. 

I give All Through My Town: 5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.jeanreidy.com/
Blog: http://jeanreidy.blogspot.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/jeanreidy
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3000947.Jean_Reidy

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Sunday, June 23, 2013

Stubby Pencil Noodlehead by Kevin White


Synopsis:
When Stubby Pencil Noodlehead is forced to stand in front of his class to explain why he is late for school every day, the resulting tale is more than the teacher bargained for. Stubby’s story of pirates, pygmies, mastodons, and more, turns classroom order to chaos, and has the teacher begging for him to stop. The story’s accelerating pace and surprise ending delights readers of all ages.

My Thoughts:

Kevin White is slowly becoming one of my favorite children’s authors. I like his cynical humor. It makes the books fun to read for adults as well as for children. Stubby Pencil Noodlehead is told from the teacher's point of view, which I like. Stubby Pencil Noodlehead is one of the teacher's students. His tardiness and imaginative story telling makes her angry and frustrated. One day, he tells a whopper of story that is so ridiculous that she becomes insane and has to be put into an insane asylum. I’m sure a lot of teachers can relate to this book. They’ve probably all had days where they thought their students were going to drive them crazy. The children will probably get a chuckle out of Stubby’s wild imagination. The illustrations were fun. My favorite was the one of the dragon in Stubby’s bedroom. I look forward to Kevin White’s next children’s book. 

I give Stubby Pencil Noodlehead: 5/5.

Want to know where to buy the book?

  • Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Stubby-Pencil-Noodlehead-Kevin-White/dp/0984712208
  • Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/stubby-pencil-noodlehead-rex-white/1109431463?ean=9780984712212
I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Friday, June 14, 2013

Alice in Everville by S.C. Langgle


Synopsis:
A poem can seem like a labyrinth, a maze of words you can lose yourself in. The key is to find a thread to hold on to, to guide you in your reading, to lead you into and out of a labyrinth of words… 

Alice Little thinks she’s read every word the world-famous poet Sylvie Plate published before her untimely death…until she discovers a coded message hidden in Sylvie’s final collection of poems--a message that may explain the poet’s mysterious demise. 

All she has to do is decipher the code and she knows she can convince her beloved English teacher, Miss A, that Sylvie’s message is real. Unfortunately, she only has one manic day at Everville Mall to do it. And between keeping track of her fountain-splashing, havoc-wreaking sister, finding a new copy of Sylvie’s poems, and…oh yeah…dealing with the blue-eyed, guitar-playing, majorly swoon-worthy Jaden Briar, who keeps popping up everywhere she goes, Alice wonders if she will ever finish deciphering in time.

My Thoughts:

I’m not exactly sure how to pinpoint what I didn’t like about this book. I didn’t really care for the book. It felt too rushed. I’m assuming that Alice’s mother's depression is from having Jillie turn out the way she did, but it’s never explained very well. Actually, the book never comes out and says she has depression. From hearing her symptoms, I’m assuming she does. Also, the book is never clear about what is wrong with Jillie. I’m not sure if she was an overly hyper child, had ADHD, some form of mental illness, or something completely different. The thing that bothered me the most were the knock-off pop culture references. Sylvia Platt was Sylvie Plate. Forever 21 was Never 22. There were a lot of things throughout the book like that. I’m not sure if the author did it for legal purposes or not, but it annoyed me. The only thing I liked about the book was Sylvie’s message at the end. The message was powerful and struck a chord with me. I probably won’t be picking up any of the author’s future works. 

I give Alice in Everville: 2/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Blog: http://www.sclanggle.blogspot.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sc.langgle
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SCLanggle
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5872495.S_C_Langgle

I received this ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Monday, June 10, 2013

The Georgia Corbins blog tour



Title: The Georgia Corbins
Author: Kara Leigh Miller
Publisher and Imprint: Entranced Publishing
Genre: YA contemporary romance
Release Date: June 10 2013
Length: 265 pages
Blurb:

Ali Philips never thought anything could be more devastating than the day Levi and Tucker Corbin, her two best friends—her only friends—moved away. Three years passed without a single phone call, text message, or email from them and she’s resolved to the fact that she will probably never see them again. Until one morning when she comes face-to-face with Levi Corbin in physics class.

Little does she know, the Corbins have returned to Haldeen with only one thing on their minds: winning Ali’s heart. Ali soon finds herself in the middle of a love triangle she doesn’t want any part of. As she tries to reclaim the friendships she’s lost and to adjust to the unfamiliar feelings she’s having, she struggles with making the one decision that will forever change their lives: Levi or Tucker Corbin?

She’s always had a special bond with Tucker and feels most comfortable when she’s with him. But Levi brings her to life in a way she didn’t think was possible and makes her feel things she didn’t think she would ever feel. Torn between the two, Ali is certain of only one thing–by the time it’s over, she’ll lose one of her best friends.

Buy Links: http://www.entrancedpublishing.com/imprints/blush/the-georgia-corbins/

Add to Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17669136-the-georgia-corbins

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/HQeur_ftAno

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Here's an excerpt from the book:


From Chapter Six: (Tucker's POV)
"Hey, Al," I whispered, waving her over to where I stood.
"Tucker?" She approached me. "What on earth are you doing?"
"Let's skip and go to the swimming hole," I said, looking up and down the hall in a conspiratorial manner.
She hesitated, chewing on her bottom lip. "I don't know, Tuck. I'm on thin ice as it is. If I get into any more trouble, my parents will never let me out of the house again."
"Aw, c'mon, Al. Your parents won't find out. It's only two classes," I pleaded. If Al wasn't going to skip with me, I might as well just go to my classes, and I really didn't want to do that. Plus, I had to make up some time with her. My brother had snuck into her room the other night and had been driving her to school every damn day. It was my turn to have her for a little while.
"Why don't we go after school?" she said.
I could see the indecision in her eyes. "Okay," I said, smiling slowly. "I get it."
"Get what?"
"You know I'll challenge you to a race, and you know you can't win so you'd rather just play it safe and stay here." I crossed my arms over my chest and looked at her. "It's all good, Al. No harm." I stepped around her with the intent of walking away when she grabbed my hand and yanked me toward the stairs that led to the gym.
"So help me God, Tucker Corbin, if you cheat today, I will not hesitate to whoop your butt," she said, leading me toward the side door near the gym.
 I laughed. "How many times do I have to tell you? I ain't a cheat."
She spun around and faced me. "Fine, then no touching me during the race. None of that crap where you grab me around the waist."
I cocked a brow, grabbed her around the waist, and pulled her close to me.
"Tucker," she gasped.
"You said none of this while we're racing. Well, we ain't racing yet, sweetheart," I said.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
To celebrate the release of The Georgia Corbins, Kara Leigh Miller is giving away exciting prizes. The Grand Prize, which is open to US residents only, includes a signed copy of The Georgia Corbins, The Georgia Corbins hardcover journal and postcards, The Georgia Corbins tote bag, Kara Leigh Miller pens and notebooks, and Legasea bookmarks. 

Second and third prizes are an ebook copy of The Georgia Corbins, and one lucky person will win a first chapter critique. International entries are welcome. Good luck! Winners will be announced July 1st.


a Rafflecopter giveaway


Born and raised in the small town of Mexico, New York, Kara was an only child who was forced to find ways to entertain herself. Playing make believe with her Barbie dolls and stuffed animals was her first real taste of storytelling before she became old enough to develop a love affair with the written word. In early 2010, Kara picked up her very first erotic romance novel, and she was instantly hooked. She loves to write contemporary romance, erotica, and young adult romance. Currently she has several full-length novels in the works, a series of novellas, and a handful of short stories. Kara is an active member of the CNY Creative Writers CafĂ© and the CNY Romance Writers. Today, Kara resides in New Haven, New York with her husband, five kids, and three cats. When she’s not reading or writing, she’s thinking about reading and writing. And when she’s not doing that, she’s spending time with her family and friends.

You can find out more about Kara Leigh Miller here:

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

The Ruining by Anna Collomore


Synopsis:
Annie Phillips is thrilled to leave her past behind and begin a shiny new life on Belvedere Island, as a nanny for the picture-perfect Cohen family. In no time at all, she falls in love with the Cohens, especially with Libby, the beautiful young matriarch of the family. Life is better than she ever imagined. She even finds romance with the boy next door. 
All too soon cracks appear in Annie's seemingly perfect world. She's blamed for mistakes she doesn't remember making. Her bedroom door comes unhinged, and she feels like she's always being watched. Libby, who once felt like a big sister, is suddenly cold and unforgiving. As she struggles to keep up with the demands of her new life, Annie's fear gives way to frightening hallucinations. Is she tumbling into madness, or is something sinister at play? 
"The Ruining "is a complex ride through first love, chilling manipulation, and the terrifying depths of insanity.

My Thoughts:

The Ruining was a beautiful haunting novel. It creeped me out and fascinated me at the same time. I’m the type of person who tries to figure out what happens at the end of a book before it happens. The Ruining was definitely a challenge to figure out. I had no idea what was going to happen at the end. I couldn’t even figure out if Libby or Annie was the one with the mental illness until the very end. I must find out if The Yellow Wallpaper and Other Stories is an actual book. If so, I would love to read it. It sounds scary and fascinating at the same time. All of the characters were beautifully written. Libby scared me. She was manipulative and deceitful almost to the point of being pure evil. I haven’t seen an antagonist written that well since Jack Torrence in Stephen King’s The Shining. I’m hoping the Anna Collomore writes more YA novels in the future. I would also love to see her write an adult horror novel. 

I give The Ruining: 5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://annacollomore.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/anna.collomore
Pintrest: http://pinterest.com/annacollomore/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/annacollomore
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6427309.Anna_Collomore

I received this ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Monday, June 3, 2013

Gameboard of the Gods by Richelle Mead


Synopsis:
In a futuristic world nearly destroyed by religious extremists, Justin March lives in exile after failing in his job as an investigator of religious groups and supernatural claims. But Justin is given a second chance when Mae Koskinen comes to bring him back to the Republic of United North America (RUNA). Raised in an aristocratic caste, Mae is now a member of the military’s most elite and terrifying tier, a soldier with enhanced reflexes and skills.

When Justin and Mae are assigned to work together to solve a string of ritualistic murders, they soon realize that their discoveries have exposed them to terrible danger. As their investigation races forward, unknown enemies and powers greater than they can imagine are gathering in the shadows, ready to reclaim the world in which humans are merely game pieces on their board.

Gameboard of the Gods, the first installment of Richelle Mead’s Age of Xseries, will have all the elements that have made her YA Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series such megasuccesses: sexy, irresistible characters; romantic and mythological intrigue; and relentless action and suspense.

My Thoughts:

I must admit when starting Gameboard of the Gods, I was a little nervous. I didn't know whether I was going to like it or not. Richelle Mead is one of my favorite authors. However, I had never read any of her adult novels. I have only read the Vampire Academy series and Bloodlines series, which I am addicted to. When I heard Gameboard of the Gods was a dystopian, I decided to give it a try. I’m glad I did. The plot got a little boring in the middle when the characters had to go through a few technicalities. Otherwise, the book kept me intrigued most of the way through. The characters were three dimensional. I became intrigued in all the aspects of their lives, especially their back story. In particular I really love Mae and Tessa. Mae’s back story was fascinating. I love how intelligent Tessa is. Even though Justin and Mae left her out of the investigation, Tessa figured out what was happening. She was even able to help them out. The plot was easy to follow yet intricate at the same time. The world Richelle Mead created was fascinating. The government limiting religions is something I can see happening in the distant future. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series and see what Justin and Mae do with the information they have acquired. 

I give Gameboard of the Gods: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.richellemead.com/index.htm
Blog: http://blue-succubus.livejournal.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/richellemeadfanpage?ref=ts
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RichelleMead
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/137902.Richelle_Mead

I received this ARC from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. I was not compensated in any way for this review.