Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday #1


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

This week, I am anticipating Soundless by Richelle Mead.
Synopsis:
From Richelle Mead, the #1 internationally bestselling author of Vampire Academy and Bloodlines, comes a breathtaking new fantasy steeped in Chinese folklore.

For as long as Fei can remember, there has been no sound in her village, where rocky terrain and frequent avalanches prevent residents from self-sustaining. Fei and her people are at the mercy of a zipline that carries food up the treacherous cliffs from Beiguo, a mysterious faraway kingdom.

When villagers begin to lose their sight, deliveries from the zipline shrink and many go hungry. Fei’s home, the people she loves, and her entire existence is plunged into crisis, under threat of darkness and starvation.

But soon Fei is awoken in the night by a searing noise, and sound becomes her weapon.

Richelle Mead takes readers on a triumphant journey from the peak of Fei’s jagged mountain village to the valley of Beiugo, where a startling truth and an unlikely romance will change her life forever...
 
(Synopsis from Goodreads.)

Why I'm waiting on this:
I read the Vampire Academy, and the Bloodlines series, both by Richelle Mead. I am absolutely obsessed with both of them. Since reading those, Richelle has become one of my favorite authors. I also love books about Chinese folklore.

That's what I can't wait for this Wednesday. Are you also looking forward to this? What are you eagerly anticipating? Please leave a comment and let me know.

How to Kill Yourself by C.V. Hunt


Synopsis:
DISCLAIMER: This is not a how to guide. The author is no way responsible for your actions after reading.

Earth, Heaven, Hell, and Purgatory. There is only one way to move from any of these worlds to the next…
(Synopsis from Goodreads.)

My Thoughts:
This might sound morbid, but as soon as I saw the cover, and heard the title of "How to Kill Yourself", I knew that I had to pick it up. I didn't even have to read the synopsis. The bright colors on the cover, and the girl with bright pink hair contrasted with the book title, and had me curious. I'm glad that the author was awesome enough to send me a review copy. With college unexpectedly happening, it took me longer than I would have liked to review this. I wish I would have gotten to it sooner. I really enjoyed it.

How to Kill Yourself was unlike anything I expected. The story line was morbid, and messed up, but the best way possible. I know it gets said a lot in reviews on blogs, but this story was unlike anything I have ever read before.When I say that, I definitely mean it. It was fascinating how the author created such an original story. I don't want to say much about the plot because I don't want to spoil it since it's such a short book. Holy crap though, the things that the author invents were fascinating. After the first chapter, I was a little confused about what was going on, but after the first couple pages, I understood. Also, the final battle at the end was exceptionally kick-ass. 

C.V. Hunt was a new author to me before I read How to Kill Yourself. After reading the book, I will definitely be reading more of this author's work in the future. This book was a stand alone, but I hope they continue to write more books. I can't wait to see what kind of amazing things this author comes up with in the future. I recommend this book to anyone who like bizarro fiction, or morbid books. 


I give How to Kill Yourself: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.authorcvhunt.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/verlorenfagan
Twitter: https://twitter.com/CVHunt
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/scarycarrie1
Instagram: https://instagram.com/scarycarrie1/?ref=badge
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4667751.C_V_Hunt

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Monday, April 27, 2015

DNF Review: The Zarder by Sara Jo Easton


Synopsis:
For ten years, the dragon-like Onizards who dwelled in the Day Kingdom had been ruled by a tyrant who called herself the Fire Queen. Not even the Queen's son, Delbralfi, was completely safe from her scorn and wrath. For a powerless non-nature like Teltrena or a human slave like Jena, life was spent hoping for a better future while fearing for one's life. Then, through a series of most unlikely circumstances, Jena found her mind telepathically Bonded to an Onizard hatchling named Senraeno. The only way to survive the Fire Queen's wrath was to fake their deaths and hide in the forgotten Night Kingdom. With the unexpected help of a few new friends, the Bonds are safe for a while, but their real deaths await them if the Fire Queen discovers that Jena and Senraeno are both alive and Bonded. Now, Jena must learn to fight for herself, and she must help the Onizards see that the love and courage in their hearts is more powerful than the Fire Queen's hatred.
(Synopsis from Goodreads.)

My Thoughts:
When I first heard about The Zarder, I had such high hopes for the book. It sounded like a cute, interesting, fun middle grade novel. The premise of Onizards sounded a little bit like a cooler version of dragons, which are one of my favorite creatures. Unfortunately, the book let me down. I got about ninety pages into it, and wasn't able to finish the book. I tried reading it for almost three weeks, and had to eventually give up.

The Zarder was incredibly confusing. All of the names of the characters were so similar. There were a few characters that only had a couple letter defriation in their names. It made it hard to keep track of who was who. The whole concept of Onizards and bonding sounded interesting, in theory. However, the way in which it was delivered through the author's writing, made it really confusing. It was never fully explained a clear, concise way. It made the book a struggle to get through, and was one of the major reasons why I could not finish the book.

I really wanted to like The Zarder. I tried and tried to push myself to finish the book in hopes it would get better. Unfortunately, I never was able to finish the book, and had to give up. It was just putting me in the beginning of a reading slump. The concept of the plot was really interesting, but the way it was delivered left something to be desired.


I give The Zarder: 1/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorSaraJoEaston
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SaraJoEaston
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5317538.Sara_Jo_Easton

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Sunday, April 26, 2015

Currently Reading #2

Currently Reading is a weekly feature that I do every Sunday on this blog. In that feature, I highlight what I'm currently reading. I give a brief synopsis, and state what I think of it so far. All of the covers will link to Goodreads.

#1 Half Bad by Sally Green
Synopsis:
Wanted by no one.
Hunted by everyone.


Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world's most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan's only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it's too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?

Half Bad is an international sensation and the start of a brilliant trilogy: a gripping tale of alienation and the indomitable will to survive.

My Thoughts So Far:
I've only read the first page of this, so I can't really decide what I think of it yet. I do like the writing style so far though.

#2 Rat Queens by Kurtis J. Wiebe and Roc Upchurch
Synopsis:
Who are the Rat Queens? 

A pack of booze-guzzling, death-dealing battle maidens-for-hire, and they're in the business of killing all god's creatures for profit. 

It's also a darkly comedic sass-and-sorcery series starring Hannah the Rockabilly Elven Mage, Violet the Hipster Dwarven Fighter, Dee the Atheist Human Cleric and Betty the Hippy Smidgen Thief. This modern spin on an old school genre is a violent monster-killing epic that is like Buffy meets Tank Girl in a Lord of the Rings world on crack! 

My Thoughts So Far:
Once again. I've only read a few pages of this, but I am greatly enjoying it. I love the snarky humor and the innuendos.

#3 The Storm Dragon's Heart by David Alastair Hayden
Synopsis:
STORM PHASE
A teenage wizard burdened with a mysterious destiny, a cat-girl ninja he can't help but fall for, and a bat-winged daemon that doubles as a diary embark on a journey of self-discovery in a world teeming with monsters and magic. Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and Avatar: the Last Airbender, this enchanting Asian-inspired fantasy series delivers fast-paced adventure for readers young and old.

Book 1: THE STORM DRAGON'S HEART

Turesobei dreams of adventure and a chance to prove he's no longer a child. Wizards should be careful what they wish for.

Destined to become his clan's next and perhaps greatest ever high wizard, Turesobei feels smothered under everyone's expectations. And he's fed up with people treating him like he's still a child, especially his grandfather, the current high wizard. After foiling an assassination attempt on his treasure-hunting dad, his grandfather sends Turesobei on his father's expedition to find a powerful artifact known as the Storm Dragon's Heart. He's supposed to blow off some steam and get a dose of real world experience. 

But disaster strikes, and their quest becomes a race for survival.

Aided by a sassy ninja cat-girl and a mysterious diary that transforms into a bat-winged familiar, Turesobei battles sinister cultists, vengeful spirits, and a mad wizard from a rival clan who's determined to use the artifact to destroy Turesobei's homeland. 

To fail is to lose everyone he loves, but success carries a terrible price.

My Thoughts So Far: 
I actually haven't had a chance to even pick this one up yet, but it's on my review goal for this week, so I figured I would add it here. It's short, so it should be a quick read. It has a lot of fantasy elements, so it looks like something I will love.

That's what I'll be reading this week. Have you read any of these? If so, please let me know what you thought of them. If any of these look interesting to you, please let me know which ones. I would also love to know what you are currently reading, and what you are planning on reading this week.

Saturday, April 25, 2015

Stacking the Shelves #2

Stacking the Shelves is a feature hosted by Tynga's Reviews. In Stacking the Shelves, you post pictures of all of the books that you have acquired this week, and talk about them.

For Review:
I also received the following ebooks for review:
Once again, thank you so much to all of these authors and publishers for sending me review copies. You have no idea how much I appreciate it. I will read the books and get reviews posted ASAP.

Bought:
  • The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen (Bought at Goodwill. I was good and only bought one book this week. When I saw this at Goodwill, I couldn't resist picking it up.)
Free:
Library:
  • Grief Girl by Erin Vincent (This was on the YA Recommendations self, so I decided to try it.)
  • After by Anna Todd (Aprilius Maximus on booktube rants and raves about how much she loves this series, so I decided to give it a go.)
  • Soulstice by Simon Holt (I read the first book last year, and thought it was okay. I decided to pick up the second from the library because I usually try to finish series/trilogies.)
Won/Gifted
Whew, that is it for my book haul this week. I intended to get less books this week, but you see how well that worked out. Have you read any of these? If so, what did you think? Are you looking forward to reading any of these? If so, please let me know which ones. Also, if you would like me to review any of the non-review books, please let me know. I would also love to see what books you received this week. I hope everyone had a good week, and has a great week to come.

Thursday, April 23, 2015

Day 21 by Kass Morgan


Synopsis:
No one has set foot on Earth in centuries -- until now.
It's been 21 days since the hundred landed on Earth. They're the only humans to set foot on the planet in centuries...or so they thought. Facing an unknown enemy, Wells attempts to keep the group together. Clarke strikes out for Mount Weather, in search of other Colonists, while Bellamy is determined to rescue his sister, no matter the cost. And back on the ship, Glass faces an unthinkable choice between the love of her life and life itself.
In this pulse-pounding sequel to Kass Morgan's The 100, secrets are revealed, beliefs are challenged, and relationships are tested. And the hundred will struggle to survive the only way they can -- together.
(Synopsis from Goodreads.)

My Thoughts:
I read The 100 by Kass Morgan a couple of weeks ago after I had heard all the buzz surrounding the television show. I really enjoyed it. After the crazy cliffhanger ending of The 100, I knew that I needed to read Day 21 as soon as possible. Even though I enjoyed Day 21 quite a bit, I didn't like it as much as The 100.

Day 21 seemed like it was a bit slower paced than the first book. I think that's because the first book  had all the world building, and anticipation of what would happen after a certain point (trying to be vague so I don't spoil anything). In this book, it seemed like not much happened for the first 50-100 pages. Once things started taking off though, holy crap! All of the different plot twists and information that we learn in this book... all I can say is wow! There were several things revealed towards the last few chapters of the book that were absolutely crazy. They came out of nowhere. I have the third book in the series, Homecoming, coming in from the library as soon as possible. I can't wait to read it and find out how the series ends.


I give Day 21: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Kassmorganbooks
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6922454.Kass_Morgan

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Wednesday, April 22, 2015

Fire and Flood by Victoria Scott


Synopsis:
Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can't determine what's wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She's lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying—and she's helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It's an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother's illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there's no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can't trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?
(Synopsis from Goodreads.)

My Thoughts:
This year, I am working on decreasing my NetGalley/Edelweiss review pile. I've been hearing a lot of great things about Fire and Flood all over Booktube. When a booktuber (I don't remember which one. When I find out, I will edit the post and give said booktuber credit. If anyone knows which booktuber said this, please let me know) said that Fire and Flood reminded her of The Hunger Games with Pokemon, it peaked my interest. I had this book for a while, and I am so sad that I didn't read it sooner. I loved it, other than the main character.

Tella, the main character of Fire and Flood, drove me absolutely crazy. She was whiny, immature, vain, and only thought of herself. This lessened as the book went on, but it was still a prominent feature of her personality. She would be in the middle of the race, trying to win to get a cure for her brother, and be complaining about how she looks. She even goes so far as to stop on the way to the train station, which she only has one hour to get to, and pulls over to fix her makeup. Drove me crazy! Also, you can tell that she loved her Pandora. However, in some situations, she did not treat her Pandora as well as I thought she should. She looked out for herself first, and her Pandora second. In the jungle, she was being chased, and instead of picking up her Pandora and running, which would have made perfect sense, she runs, and leaves the Pandora behind. Her self centeredness in situations like that pissed me off. I hope she does some serious growing up in book two.

I did love the Pokemon-like aspect of Fire and Flood. It reminded me a lot of watching Pokemon when I was a kid. It brought back a lot of nostalgia and made me really happy. I don't want to spoil anything, but the things that some of the Pandoras can do... holy crap! It's so cool. I also really enjoyed all of the secondary characters. I liked most of their personalities, and they made up for Tella being the way she was. Just when I would count out one of the secondary characters, they would prove that they were worthy enough to be in the race.

I'm so excited to read the second book, Salt and Stone. I can't wait to see what happens in the final part of the race, especially after Guy's revelation at the end of the first book. I recommend Fire and Flood to anyone who likes a fast paced, edge of your seat adventure. I also recommend it for fans of Pokemon and The Hunger Games.


I give Fire and Flood: 3.5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.victoriascottya.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorVictoriaScott
Twitter: https://twitter.com/VictoriaScottYA
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/VictoriaScottYA?feature=mhee
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3251728.Victoria_Scott

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Seth's review of The Last American Vampire by Seth Grahame-Smith


Synopsis:
In Reconstruction-era America, vampire Henry Sturges is searching for renewed purpose in the wake of his friend Abraham Lincoln's shocking death. It will be an expansive journey that will first send him to England for an unexpected encounter with Jack the Ripper, then to New York City for the birth of a new American century, the dawn of the electric era of Tesla and Edison, and the blazing disaster of the 1937 Hindenburg crash. Along the way, Henry goes on the road in a Kerouac-influenced trip as Seth Grahame-Smith ingeniously weaves vampire history through Russia's October Revolution, the First and Second World Wars, and the JFK assassination. Expansive in scope and serious in execution, THE LAST AMERICAN VAMPIRE is sure to appeal to the passionate readers who made Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter a runaway success.
(Synopsis from Goodreads.)

Seth's Thoughts:
AWESOME SEQUEL!!!

If anyone has bothered to read my infrequent reviews, they would know I don’t give out 5 out of 5 reviews often. When I first read the book, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, I rolled my eyes and wondered what I was getting myself into. I couldn’t help it, the premise was absurd, or so I kept telling myself all the way up to the last page after a sleepless night of reading it. Then they left a spoiler for the next book. So, I was eagerly awaiting that. Suffice it to say, it went about the same way with this book as it did the first. I love how my wife seems to be able to pick out the books I like to read even before I know I will like them. She’s got a knack for that it seems, I mean she just brought me coffee while I’m writing this review without me having to ask her. Anyways, if you like historical fiction I highly recommend this book.

Seth gives The Last American Vampire: 5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://sethgrahamesmith.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sethgs

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. Neither Seth nor I were compensated in any way for this review.

Monday, April 20, 2015

Seth's review of The Evolutionist by Avi Sirlin


Synopsis:
In 1852, Alfred Wallace, a brilliant young collector of scientific specimens, pursues his pioneering fieldwork in the Malay archipelago, crystallizing his ideas about evolutionary theory—for which he will never be credited. This fascinating historical novel explores a key thinker on evolution and raises important questions about a neglected scientific figure.
(Synopsis from Goodreads.)

Seth's Thoughts:
Well what can I say about this book? I liked it, that’s for sure. But when I began reading it, I thought it was going to be something entirely different. I blame my predilection for horrible sci-fi on that. I couldn’t help waiting for the inevitable twist you know? Like, for instance in Congo where the apes turn out to be semi-intelligent beings or something like that. But instead, what I got was a fairly interesting historical fiction about how Wallace goes about his life, and the assertions that he makes independently of Darwin about the origin of species. It’s not a riveting, on the edge of your seat read, but what it is, is a nice read you can curl up in your chair with a cup of coffee to read. As an aficionado of scientific reads, I was not disappointed in this book in the least, and I find it up there in my reading standards. Unfortunately I can’t help shaking the feeling this could  have done with a bit more embellishing, maybe with a flying saucer or two thrown into the mix, possibly some vampires. I blame The Last American Vampire for skewing my perception on this one.

Seth gives The Evolutionist: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.avisirlin.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/avisirlin
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7813146.Avi_Sirlin

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. Neither Seth nor I were compensated in any way for this review.

Sunday, April 19, 2015

Currently Reading #1

I have decided on Sundays to start posting the books that I am currently reading. I will give a brief synopsis, and tell you my thoughts so far about the books. The covers will link to Goodreads in case you want to add the books to your tbr.

#1. The Zarder by Sara Jo Easton
Synopsis:
For ten years, the dragon-like Onizards who dwelled in the Day Kingdom had been ruled by a tyrant who called herself the Fire Queen. Not even the Queen's son, Delbralfi, was completely safe from her scorn and wrath. For a powerless non-nature like Teltrena or a human slave like Jena, life was spent hoping for a better future while fearing for one's life.

Then, through a series of most unlikely circumstances, Jena found her mind telepathically Bonded to an Onizard hatchling named Senraeno. The only way to survive the Fire Queen's wrath was to fake their deaths and hide in the forgotten Night Kingdom.

With the unexpected help of a few new friends, the Bonds are safe for a while, but their real deaths await them if the Fire Queen discovers that Jena and Senraeno are both alive and Bonded. Now, Jena must learn to fight for herself, and she must help the Onizards see that the love and courage in their hearts is more powerful than the Fire Queen's hatred.

My Thoughts So Far:
I have less than 100 pages left in this book. I'm just not enjoying it at all. There are so many character names to keep track of, and they all sound similar which makes it so confusing. It's just not holding my interest. Hopefully I will have it finished by the end of the week.

#2 Fuigitive X by Gregg Rosenblum

My Thoughts So Far:
This is actually the second book in a series, so I didn't want to give a synopsis in case it would spoil anything for those that haven't read the first book, Revolution 19. It took me a while to figure out what was going on in the beginning because it has been so long since I read the first book. After I started to figure it out, I absolutely I am loving this book.

#3 A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan

Synopsis:
All the world, from Scirland to the farthest reaches of Eriga, know Isabella, Lady Trent, to be the world’s preeminent dragon naturalist. She is the remarkable woman who brought the study of dragons out of the misty shadows of myth and misunderstanding into the clear light of modern science. But before she became the illustrious figure we know today, there was a bookish young woman whose passion for learning, natural history, and, yes, dragons defied the stifling conventions of her day.

Here at last, in her own words, is the true story of a pioneering spirit who risked her reputation, her prospects, and her fragile flesh and bone to satisfy her scientific curiosity; of how she sought true love and happiness despite her lamentable eccentricities; and of her thrilling expedition to the perilous mountains of Vystrana, where she made the first of many historic discoveries that would change the world forever. 

Marie Brennan introduces an enchanting new world in A Natural History of Dragons.

My Thoughts So Far:
I've only been able to read the first chapter of this, but I love what I did read. This is a library book, and my husband and I are sharing it because he wants to read it too, so it might take me a while to finish reading it.

That's what I'm reading this week. What are you reading? Please leave a comment and let me know. I love to learn about what other people are reading, and hopefully I can add a few books to my tbr. Also, if you've read any of these books, please let me know what you thought of them.

Saturday, April 18, 2015

Stacking the Shelves #1

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews where everyone posts the books that they got for this week. It is usually posted on Saturdays.

So, this week I have quite a crazy haul. I went to the library a few times, and I also went to Goodwill, Dollar Tree, and other various locations, and got quite a few books. I also posted a book haul that I got from a local book sale yesterday that you can view here. All of the book's titles will be linked to Goodreads.

Purchased/Free:
  • World War Z by Max Brooks (I  found this at Goodwill. I love anything about zombies.)
  • The Last Prophecy by Jon Land (I did not realize this was close to the end of a series. I got it for my husband from the free bookshelf at my library.)
  • Dead and Alive by Dean Koontz (I got this from the free bookshelf at my library. I love literary retellings. Now, I just need to find the first one, and I can marathon the series.)
  • The Uncoupling by Meg Wolitzer (I found this at Dollar Tree. I loved The Interesting's by Meg Wolitzer. I hope this is just as good.)
  • Red Riding Hood by Sarah Blakley-Cartwright (I found this at the Dollar Tree. I loved this movie. I hope the book is just as good, although I've heard mixed reviews on it.)
  • Catherine by April Lindner (I also found this at the Dollar Tree. I've heard very mixed reviews on this book, but I figured for a dollar, why not try it and come to my own conclusions?)
Library:
Whew, that's all for my book haul this week. Have you read any of these books? If so, comment and let me know what you thought of them. Are you excited to read any of these? If so, let me know which ones. Also, if you want me to do any reviews on these books, please let me know which ones. If you have  Stacking the Shelves post, or a similar post, please link it in the comments. I would love to see which books you have bought this week.

Friday, April 17, 2015

Book Sale Book Haul!

Recently, my friend had to close down his used bookstore that he owned due to lack of funds, and lack of customers. I was so upset to see it close. My husband and I used to shop there at least once or twice a week, and in that process, became really close friends with the owner. After the bookstore closed, he had over 20,000 books that he had no idea what to do with. He's had them for a couple years now, just laying in his basement. Recently, he decided to have a book sale out of his garage to get them out of his basement, so he can finally get it finished. My friends and I decided to go to his book sale, and I got 47 books. Here are pictures of everything I got, along with some commentary about why I bought them. The links will take you to the Goodreads page for each book.

Thursday, April 16, 2015

The 100 by Kass Morgan


Synopsis:
In the future, humans live in city-like spaceships orbiting far above Earth's toxic atmosphere. No one knows when, or even if, the long-abandoned planet will be habitable again. But faced with dwindling resources and a growing populace, government leaders know they must reclaim their homeland... before it's too late.

Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents are being sent on a high-stakes mission to recolonize Earth. After a brutal crash landing, the teens arrive on a savagely beautiful planet they've only seen from space. Confronting the dangers of this rugged new world, they struggle to form a tentative community. But they're haunted by their past and uncertain about the future. To survive, they must learn to trust - and even love - again.
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:
I have had The 100 sitting on my Kindle for a long time. Every time I try to pick it up, I end up getting distracted and having to put down in favor of another book. One of my reading goals for myself for 2015 was to read some of the review books I had gotten from NetGalley that I haven't read to get caught up on my review tbr. I decided to try The 100 because I heard how popular the show is, but I wanted to read the book before I watched the tv show. I'm so glad I did. I loved the book, but I do not like the adaptation that the tv show takes at all.

The 100 made me realize how much I love reading sci-fi again. It had been so long since I read any sci-fi that I had completely forgotten. The book had such an in-depth, interesting world building and plot. The plot was unlike anything I have ever read before. I was turning pages late into the night, trying to figure out what was going to happen next, and how the 100 were going to overcome the adversities that were placed upon them (trying to be vague so I don't spoil anything). I ended up staying awake until three a.m. to finish it when I had to be up at six a.m. for class. I don't regret this decision at all.

At first, I was a little worried whether I would like the book or not because it had several different characters points of view. Usually, I hate it when books do that. However, The 100 did it in a way that worked, and helped to enhance the story. The reader would pick up on things from one character's point of view that would come into play later on in the story. It made reading the book even more fun.

I tried to watch the first episode of the tv show, and I wasn't a big fan. It didn't seem like it was a very faithful adaptation to the book. The only thing that remained the same were most of the characters names, and the very bare bones of the plot. If you have watched more of the tv show, and it becomes more faithful to the book, please comment below and let me know. All in all, I loved the book. I can't wait to dive into the next one, especially after that cliffhanger ending.


I give The 100: 5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://alloyentertainment.com/authors/kass-morgan/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Kassmorganbooks
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6922454.Kass_Morgan

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Sunday, April 5, 2015

I am now on Bloglovin'

Hey Guys,
I just wanted to do a really quick update, and say that you can now also follow my blog on Bloglovin' in the link below to stay up to date on all my new reviews, giveaways, guest posts, and so much more.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Blood Tears by Denise K. Rago


Synopsis:
Amanda knew she had to track down Christian after he so gallantly saved her from his fellow vampire Gaetan. Having done so, she is now his mortal lover and will not leave his side.

But that is exactly what she'll have to do when Christian decides to return to Paris. He informs her of his plans and leaves the vampire Michel, his most trusted comrade, behind to watch after her in Manhattan.

What she doesn't yet know is she's carrying a child, and that the father is either Gaetan or Christian.

Christian finds Paris rife with secrets, rich secrets including past love affairs that have the power to destroy his life. These secrets had been safely hidden-until now.

While Christian is in Paris, word of Amanda's pregnancy gets out, and she is hunted by a vampire order that believes her child could be the one foretold by a prophecy.

Can Christian discover the answers he needs in time to save Amanda?

As enticing as her first book, "Blood Tears" is Denise K. Rago's latest novel in her ongoing chronicle of the vampire Christian Du Maure.
(Synopsis from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:
I loved Immortal Obsession by Denise K. Rago. It was one of my favorite books that I read in 2012. At the time, I was sick of vampire books. However, Immortal Obsession renewed my love for vampire books. When the author sent me a message, and asked if I would like to review Blood Tears, the sequel, when it was released, I jumped at the chance. I'm so glad I did. I loved it as much as Immortal Obsession, if not more.

Blood Tears was everything I wanted in the sequel, and so much more. It had been a couple years since I read Immortal Obsession, but in the beginning of Blood Tears, the author does a mini recap throughout the first few chapters, which was really helpful. It reminded me of some of the little things I had forgot in Immortal Obsession, so I didn't have to reread it. The plot was fast paced and fun. It had me on the edge of my seat wondering what was going to happen with Christian, Amanda, and Michel. Being a college student, I appreciated the short chapters in this book. Even if I didn't get much reading done during my busy day, I was still able to read a chapter or two in between classes. It helped to keep my interest focused in the book. 

There was a big plot twist that I saw coming before it happened because it was highly hinted at throughout the book. However, just because I knew it was going to happen, didn't make it any less enjoyable. I still loved seeing the interactions between two certain characters after the big twist was revealed. It was fascinating how the twist just kind of turned everything on it's head, and how one of the main characters recovered from it.

By the time Blood Tears was over, it left readers with a lot of unanswered questions, especially in the last few chapters. I am excited to read the next book in the series, and get answers. Although, I think the wait for the third book will drive me crazy. I loved Blood Tears. I definitely recommend Denise K. Rago's books, especially if you are a fan of Anne Rice's The Vampire Chronicles.


I give Blood Tears: 5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://denisekrago.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dkrago
Twitter: https://twitter.com/DeniseKRago
Pintrest: https://www.pinterest.com/deniserago/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4410029.Denise_K_Rago

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.