Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis


Synopsis:
Regret was for people with nothing to defend, people who had no water. 

Lynn knows every threat to her pond: drought, a snowless winter, coyotes, and, most importantly, people looking for a drink. She makes sure anyone who comes near the pond leaves thirsty, or doesn't leave at all.

Confident in her own abilities, Lynn has no use for the world beyond the nearby fields and forest. Having a life means dedicating it to survival, and the constant work of gathering wood and water. Having a pond requires the fortitude to protect it, something Mother taught her well during their quiet hours on the rooftop, rifles in hand.

But wisps of smoke on the horizon mean one thing: strangers. The mysterious footprints by the pond, nighttime threats, and gunshots make it all too clear Lynn has exactly what they want, and they won’t stop until they get it….

With evocative, spare language and incredible drama, danger, and romance, debut author Mindy McGinnis depicts one girl’s journey in a barren world not so different than our own.

(Synopsis from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:
It's been quite a while since I've read a dystopian novel. I kind of got out dystopian novels once they were everywhere, and the genre became too over populated. However, I had heard a lot of hype surrounding Not a Drop to Drink, so I decided to pick it up. I'm glad I did. I really enjoyed it. It was unlike any dystopian novel that I've ever read.

Not a Drop to Drink had some of the cliches from your typical dystopian novel, but most of it was an original premise, which was refreshing to see. The idea of a futuristic society without water was interesting. It's not something that I've seen a lot of. Typically dystopian novels are about a zombie apocalypse, or a natural disaster. It was nice to see something different. The plot itself had a lot of different twists and turns that kept the reader guessing until the very end. Speaking of, the ending was heartbreaking. I wasn't expecting it at all, and it left me sobbing.

While I didn't agree with all of the characters actions, I did like all of the characters. Other than Lucy, Stubbs was my favorite character. I really liked how he balanced Lynn out, and made her softer and more caring. I also like how he took care of Lucy, and those around him.

The book ended in a way where it will be hard to create a sequel. It should be interesting to see what Mindy McGinnis does with the next book in the series. I can't wait to read it. I recommend this book for anyone who wants a refreshing take on dystopian.


I give Not a Drop to Drink: 3.5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.mindymcginnis.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MindyMcGinnisAuthor
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MindyMcGinnis
Pintrest: https://www.pinterest.com/MindyMcGinnisMe/
Tumblr: http://mindymcginnis.tumblr.com/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/bigblackcat97
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bigblackcat97/
Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+MindyMcGinnis
Vine: https://vine.co/u/1033174585857708032
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/mindy-mcginnis-a131b126
Riffle: https://www.rifflebooks.com/profiles/129040
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5351825.Mindy_McGinnis

I received this ebook from the publisher, via Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Monday, November 28, 2016

Facial by Jeff Strand


Synopsis:
Greg has just killed the man he hired to kill one of his wife’s many lovers. He’s now got a dead body in his office. 

Carlton, Greg’s brother, desperately needs a dead body. It’s kind of related to the lion corpse that he found in his basement. 

This is the normal part of the story. 

From Jeff Strand, the author of Benjamin’s Parasite, The Sinister Mr. Corpse, and Fangboy, comes a tale that’s weird even by his standards. 

Facial. It’s not about what you’re thinking. Well, okay, part of it is...
(Synopsis from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:
I love Jeff Strand's books. I've read his YA, and adult books, and enjoy both genres. Facial was what I've come to know from Jeff Strand. It wasn't necessarily the classic horror that most people are used to. Instead, it's a weird psychological horror that makes you think. Facial is my favorite Jeff Strand book that I've read so far, just because it is so weird and messed up.

I have to admit, I typically go into books without reading the synopsis. That way I don't get spoiled for anything. Due to that, when I started Facial, I was in for a surprise. I don't even know how to begin to describe what happened without giving away spoilers. It was one of the weirdest things I have ever read, but it was so good. It had a lot of dark, cynical humor, which I always love. It also makes the reader wonder about life. Where do you draw the line between what is right and wrong? Or what is moral or immoral? When do.the means justify the cause, and how do you know you've gone too far?

Facial is definitely one of my favorite Jeff Strand books of all time. I've only read a few of his books, but I plan on reading all of his backlog at some point. I recommend this book for anyone who likes an original, slightly creepy, out of the box story.

I give Facial: 5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: https://jeffstrand.wordpress.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JeffStrandAuthorFanPage/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/jeffstrand
Tumblr: http://jeffstrand.tumblr.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/207708.Jeff_Strand

I received this ebook from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Friday, October 28, 2016

Edgar Allan Poe: An Adult Coloring Book by Odessa Begay


Synopsis:
Dive into the macabre, mysterious world of Edgar Allan Poe’s chilling tales with popular coloring book artist Odessa Begay (Little Birds). Inspired by Poe’s beloved stories, Begay has created images that reference settings, motifs, and details that fans will recognize.
(Synopsis taken from Amazon).

My Thoughts:

If you've been in a bookstore, grocery store, or anywhere that sells books/magazines, you've probably seen an adult coloring book. They are everywhere you turn. Everyone around the world is obsessed with them, including me. When Sterling publishing asked me to review the Edgar Allan Poe adult coloring book, I jumped at the chance. It has become one of my favorite adult coloring books.

I have always loved Edgar Allan Poe's short stories and poems. I read The Raven as a kid, and ever since I have been hooked. I think I have read everything he's written. Having the power to bring his works to life through the adult coloring book was a dream come true. The coloring book used quotes from some of his books, including my favorites, Black Cat, and The Raven, with beautiful pictures that bring the story to life.

Most of the pictures are really intricate, and take quite some time to color, which I like. It makes the book last longer. As for the pages themselves, they are thick, high quality pages. I wouldn't hesitate to color them with fine line markers. In fact, I recommend it because colored pencils leave a weird texture from being so light. I tried colored pencils, markers, and watercolor. I enjoyed the fine line markers the best. I almost wish it would have said that on the book before I started coloring, because the first picture I colored didn't look professional.

I greatly enjoyed the Edgar Allan Pie coloring book. It was high quality, and will last a while, which is important to me when buying adult coloring books. I hope Sterling Publishing makes more adult coloring books featuring other authors. I think a Jane Austen, or Charles Dickens coloring book would be an amazing idea. I definitely recommend this book to everyone and anyone interested in trying out an adult coloring book.

I give Edgar Allan Poe: An Adult Coloring Book: 5/5.


Want to know know more about the author?

Website: http://www.odessabegay.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/odessa.design/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/odessabegay
Pintrest: https://www.pinterest.com/odessabegay/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/odessabegay/
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/odessabegay

I received this adult coloring book from the publisher, Sterling Publishing, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Monday, October 3, 2016

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas


Synopsis:
From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena's world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie... and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

(Synopsis taken from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:
Throne of Glass was one of my favorite books that I read this year. As soon as I finished it, I had to start the second book in the series, Crown of Midnight, immediately. I became very anxious to read it, even though I hadn't heard positive things about it. After reading it, I have to say that I don't know what everyone was giving it a negative review for. I loved it just as much as Throne of Glass, if not more so. 

Crown of Midnight starts off as an action packed thrill ride, and only gets more exciting from there. As the book went on, I found myself wanting to read more and more, and getting upset when I had to put it down. There are so many things that happened in it that I wasn't expecting. Most of the book took me by surprise, especially a main character death that had me sobbing like nothing would ever be okay again. It made me feel like the death happened to one of my friends, instead of a fictional character that didn't even exist. That's how you can tell that a book is good. It leaves you gasping, crying, laughing, cheering, and just generally freaking out and wanting more. When Celeana was in the tomb, I was literally having a panic attack and yelling and screaming at my Kindle. It was one of those things where I wanted to look away because I knew what was going to happen, and it filled me with anxiety, but at the same time, I needed to know if I was right. 

If I thought I liked the characters in the first book, I fell in love with them in the second book. I got to see so many new sides to all of my favorite characters, and meet some new characters. I have to admit, I'm not entirely sure how I feel about the new characters. Even though they were introduced, the reader doesn't get to know them very well, because they don't show up a lot. I hope that changes in the future books. I want to know more about them, especially Roland. There's a mystery that surrounds him that intrigues me. 

I loved Crown of Midnight so much. I would say that its my favorite book of 2016, but I think at this point, I should just label the whole series as my favorite books of 2016 because I have a feeling my favorite book while switch as I continue on with the series. The ending left off on a crazy cliffhanger, so I'll be picking up the next book in the series immediately, Heir of Fire, to find out what happens. I recommend this book to everyone who loved Throne of Glass. You should definitely ignore all of the negative reviews, and check it out for yourself.


I give Crown of Midnight: 5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://sarahjmaas.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/THRONEOFGLASS
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SJMaas
Pintrest: https://www.pinterest.com/sarahjmaas/
Tumblr: http://sjmaas.tumblr.com/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/therealsjmaas/

I received this ebook from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Sunday, October 2, 2016

Fugitive X by Gregg Rosenblum


Synopsis:
Their fight for freedom is humanity's last hope for survival. The chilling Revolution 19 trilogy continues in Fugitive X.

A war between humans and robots is on the horizon, and only one side will survive.

Siblings Nick, Kevin, and Cass are struggling to survive in a world where deadly, sophisticated robots have turned on their creators and enslaved mankind. Fugitives from one of the bot-controlled Cities, the siblings venture into the woods, but when they are attacked by bot foot soldiers, the siblings are separated...and for the first time, they are on their own.
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:
I read an ARC of Revolution 19 quite some time ago. It was one of my favorite books of 2013. Even though it's been several years since I've read Revolution 19, I wanted to continue with the series, so I picked up Fugitive X. I didn't enjoy it as much as Revolution 19, but it was still good. I didn't find this book as action packed as the first one, which made it boring at times. There was a lot of dialogue and politics going on, which I didn't enjoy nearly as much.

It had been quite a long time since I read Revolution 19, but I didn't find Fugitive X confusing at all. Fugitive X gives the reader reminders of what happened all throughout the book, which I found very helpful. It made my reading time a lot easier, and more enjoyable. 

That being said, the book did have it's good points. I got to revisit some of my favorite characters, and continue their story lines. Cass turned into a complete bad ass, which I loved. I think throughout this book, she became my favorite character in the series.

While I didn't like everything in Fugitive X, I did think that it was a good sequel. I love the scifi/dystopian world that Gregg Rosenblum had created. I'm excited to read City 1, the final book in the trilogy, to see how everything wraps up.

I give Fugitive X: 3.5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://alloyentertainment.com/authors/gregg-rosenblum/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Gregg-Rosenblum-author-503611676339567/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/GreggRosenblum
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5838087.Gregg_Rosenblum

I received this book from the publisher, via Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Saturday, October 1, 2016

The Last Good Knight III: The Games Destiny Plays by Tiffany Reisz


Synopsis:
Shocked to see Nora's bruises, Lance is furious that she put herself in danger and demands to know where she got them. As Nora confesses her true nature, she's equally shocked to learn that Lance has some secrets of his own, drawing them together despite Kingsley's orders…. 
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:

I just found out about Tiffany Reisz's books last year when I started The Last Good Knight series. I'm kind of ashamed to admit that it's taken me this long, due to my crazy busy schedule, but I finally finished the third book in the series, The Games Destiny Plays. I think it might be my favorite book in the series. I regret not reading it sooner, since I've had it for a while. I think Tiffany Reisz is becoming one of my favorite authors. I've only read the first three books in this series by her, but based on that, she's definitely in my top ten.

This book in the series was fantastic, yet infuriating at the same time. It answered a lot of my questions, but left a whole heck of a lot more unanswered. It also gave me new questions to ponder over. I really did enjoy that we got to see more of Nora and Soren's relationship. I really hope that the other books in the series delve into that more because I'd enjoy watching it evolve (The Siren might show it too. Not sure, I haven't read it). 

Tiffany Reisz writes short stories in such a compelling way that just draws the reader in. I can't wait to finish the rest of The Last Good Knight series, which I plan on doing tonight. I recommend this for any fans of the Original Sinners series, although it's not required to read that first.

I give The Games Destiny Plays: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?

Website: http://www.tiffanyreisz.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/littleredridingcrop/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/tiffanyreisz
Wattpad: https://www.wattpad.com/user/tiffanyreisz
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/8thcirclepress/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4480131.Tiffany_Reisz

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas


Synopsis:
In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king's champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass--and it's there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena's fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.
 

(Synopsis taken from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:

I've tried to read Throne of Glass several times, and just couldn't get into it. I've heard all of the hype, but never really understood it. Recently, one of my close friends in the book community read it, and was ranting and racing about how good it was. She practically begged me to read it all the way through, and finish it. I'm glad she did. After finishing the book, I am slightly obsessed with it.

I have to admit, when I was reading it this time, I was tempted to put it down again. The first twenty percent or so of the book is really slow. Nothing happens, except setting up some world building, which was boring. My friend kept telling me that I needed to push past that point, and I'm so glad I listened to her. After that point, the book becomes action packed. I can't even find words that properly describe how much I loved it. It was suspenseful. I kept wracking my brain, trying to figure out who was killing the champions, and I still got it wrong in the end. The book also had a great combination of funny, yet it knew when to be serious, and could switch between the two easily. It's hard to find a book that can do that well. 

I am very hard pressed to find a character that I didn't like. I even liked all of the antagonists, which isn't usually something that happens for me in books I read. Even though I didn't like their actions, it was easy to see why they made the choices they did. Although I was very happy to see the female antagonist get what was coming to her in the end, so to speak. As far as the main character, Celaena, goes, I want to be her when I grow up. She is so badass, yet she has a certain class, and grace about her. She can be really girly, yet she can kill someone without blinking an eye. I love that about her. By the end of Throne of Glass, she's in a love triangle with two guys. Usually that type of thing annoys me, but I didn't mind it in this book. I know which guy I really want her to pick. We'll see if it happens.

Despite the show start, I really loved Throne of Glass. After reading the book, I've become so obsessed with it that I spend most of my time searching the hashtag on Instagram. As soon as I finished Throne of Glass, I started Crown of Midnight immediately, and an almost halfway through that book. I just can't get enough of this series. I recommend it to anyone who likes fantasy, or is just looking for something to read that's intriguing, and unlike anything else out there.

I give Throne of Glass: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?

Website: http://sarahjmaas.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/THRONEOFGLASS
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SJMaas
Pintrest: https://www.pinterest.com/sarahjmaas/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/therealsjmaas/
Tumblr: http://sjmaas.tumblr.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3433047.Sarah_J_Maas

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Monday, September 26, 2016

The Zombie Playground by Astrid Yrigollen


Synopsis:
Meet a child zombie in "The Zombie Playground" or discover a lucrative career during the zombie apocalypse in "The Zombie Eaters."Perhaps you just want to escape San Francisco being destroyed by monsters so large they can't see you.
Whether you like werewolves,zombies or the unknown creature,The Zombie Playground, A Creature Compilation ,is a fun collection of seven short stories you'll want to add these to your own creepy library!
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:

I have a slight obsession with anything and everything related to zombies. I especially love The Walking Dead, and T.W. Brown's Dead series. Even though I don't really care for short stories most of the time, I decided to give The Zombie Playground by Astrid Yrigollen a try. Every now and then, I will read a short story when I need a small break in between chapters of a longer book. I'm glad I picked up The Zombie Playground.

While I didn't enjoy all of the short stories, I did like the majority of them. Astrid Yrigollen knows how to write short stories that captivate the reader, which is difficult to do with so little space to tell the story in. All of the short stories flowed well. Each one had a beginning, middle, and end, and made perfect sense. I have to admit, I didn't enjoy a couple of the short stories as much as I hoped I would. There were a few that were either boring, or confusing, and hard to get through. There were also quite a few editing errors that drove me crazy, and kept me from being fully immersed in the story.

While not all of the stories in The Zombie Playground, I did enjoy most of them. Astrid Yrigollen is a very talented writer. I plan on reading more of her books, and short stories. I recommend this zombie short story book for zombie fans that have a few minutes to spare at a time, and are looking for a good read. It puts a new spin on the classic zombie stories.


I give The Zombie Playground: 3.5/5.

Want to know more about the author?

Website: http://www.astridyrigollen.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/AstridYrigollen
LibraryThing: http://www.librarything.com/author/yrigollenastrid
Pintrest: https://www.pinterest.com/AstridYrigollen/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCx_v2ecQUlFd7uY0QQRj2WA
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5139046.Astrid_Yrigollen

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Saturday, September 24, 2016

Her Cowboy Groom by Trish Milburn


Synopsis:
When Linnea Holland's plans for her dream wedding collapse, she flees to the safest place she knows: Blue Falls, Texas. At her best friend's family ranch, nobody asks for details. The Brody boys just welcome her with open arms and a whole lot of brotherly love.

Trouble is, the feelings between Linnea and Owen Brody are a little warmer than that. They practically grew up together, but she has suddenly noticed that Owen has grown into one hot cowboy. And his protective instincts kick in when he sees how much Linnea is hurting. He's the perfect antidote to her lying ex-fiancé. But can their feelings be love -- or is Owen simply a guy she can rely on for the rebound?

(Synopsis taken from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:
Typically I'm not a big fan of Harlequin novels. Granted, I've only read two Harlequin novels in my life. They were Harlequin Blazes, and I read them when I was a teenager, which was quite a long time ago. I remember I want impressed with them. Cowboy novels aren't usually my favorite genre either. However, I wanted to read Her Cowboy Groom because I loved Trish Milburn's Coven series. I'm glad I took a chance on this book. Not only did it change the way I think about Harlequin novels, it also changed my feelings towards cowboy novels too. I absorbed every word of Her Cowboy Groom within a few hours, and wanted more when it was over.

I honestly don't even know where to start with how much I loved Her Cowboy Groom. As I previously stated, typically I hate cowboy novels. It's almost to the point where I will refuse to read them. This book made me see how cowboy novels in a new light. Trish Milburn has a crisp, wonderful writing style that had me captivated from beginning to end. I loved the interaction between Lin and Owen. I felt like I was right there in the book with them, watching their relationship develop. Trish Milburn made me feel immersed in the world of Blue Falls. It makes me want to read not only the Blue Falls series, but more of the Harlequin Western Romances as well.

The characters that Trish Milburn wrote were fantastic. They felt more like family to me than fictional characters that I was reading about for the first time. I loved Linn and Owen's chemistry. It felt genuine from the beginning. I also loved all of the side characters. I hope to see more of them in the other Blue Falls novels. There was only one thing I didn't like about the book. The final confrontation at the end surprised me, and not in a good way. I thought it was going to be more violent, or physical, and it wasn't. It was kind of a letdown. It just felt very anti-climatic.

Despite the anti-climatic confrontation, I loved Her Cowboy Groom so much. It made me not only look at Harlequin novels in a different light, but cowboy novels too. I will definitely be reading a lot more of both, starting with the rest of the Blue Falls series. I an looking forward to devouring anything that Trish Milburn writes in the future. I also plan on reading the rest of the Harlequin Western Romances collection. Trish Milburn has restored my faith that good romance novels are out there. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a good romance story. Even though it is part of a series, it can be read as a standalone.


I give Her Cowboy Groom: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.trishmilburn.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/trishmilburnauthor
Twitter: https://twitter.com/TrishMilburn
Pintrest: https://www.pinterest.com/trishmilburn2/
Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/108409297131247035285
Tumblr: http://trishmilburn.tumblr.com/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_ZWx-6uHzvRGtSCu8If-dA?feature=
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1335180.Trish_Milburn

I received this ebook from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Thursday, September 22, 2016

Doctor Who: Big Bang Generation by Gary Russell


Synopsis:
Christmas 2015, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia.

Imagine everyone's surprise when a time portal opens up in Sydney Cove. Imagine their shock as a massive pyramid now sits beside the Harbour Bridge, inconveniently blocking Port Jackson and glowing with energy. Imagine their fear as Cyrrus "the mobster" Globb, Professor Horace Jaanson and an alien assassin called Kik arrive to claim the glowing pyramid. Finally imagine everyone's dismay when they are followed by a bunch of con artists out to spring their greatest grift yet.

This gang consists of Legs (the sexy comedian), Dog Boy (providing protection and firepower), Shortie (handling logistics), Da Trowel (in charge of excavation and history) and their leader, Doc (busy making sure the universe isn't destroyed in an explosion that makes the Big Bang look like a damp squib).

And when someone accidentally reawakens The Ancients of the Universe - which, Doc reckons, wasn't the wisest or best-judged of actions – things get a whole lot more complicated…
 
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:
I am a huge Whovian. I love anything and everything Doctor Who related. When I saw that there was a Doctor Who book available for review, I jumped at the chance, even though it featured my least favorite doctor. I'm glad I did. I really enjoyed it.

When I first requested Big Bang Generation, I was a bit skeptical about whether I would enjoy it or not. As I previously stated, Peter Capaldi is my least favorite doctor. There's just something about him compared to the others that makes him meh (at least to me). Well, I didn't have to worry at all. I really enjoyed this story. It was unlike anything done on the television show before, which kept me interested. I was captivated until the very end, wanting to know how the doctor and his "gang" were going to fix things. The book redeemed Twelve in my eyes, and made me want to give him a second chance. I will definitely be rewatching some of his episodes with a more open mind.

Even though I'm not a big fan of Twelve in the TV show, I loved him in this book. I can't wait to read the rest of the trilogy to see what happens next. I recommend this trilogy for Doctor Who fans everywhere. Whether you like the classic episodes, or the newer ones; love Twelve or hate him, I'm sure you'll enjoy Big Bang Generation.

I give Big Bang Generation: 5/5.

Want to know more about the author?

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Saturday, September 17, 2016

Girls on Fire by Robin Wasserman


Synopsis:
Girls on Fire tells the story of Hannah and Lacey and their obsessive teenage female friendship so passionately violent it bloodies the very sunset its protagonists insist on riding into, together, at any cost. Opening with a suicide whose aftermath brings good girl Hannah together with the town's bad girl, Lacey, the two bring their combined wills to bear on the community in which they live; unconcerned by the mounting discomfort that their lust for chaos and rebellion causes the inhabitants of their parochial small town, they think they are invulnerable.

But Lacey has a secret, about life before her better half, and it's a secret that will change everything...
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads.)

My Thoughts:

I have to admit, when I look on Goodreads for books that I might like reading, Girls on Fire is not one that comes to mind. It's so far out of my comfort zone for so many reasons. It's not in a genre I typically read, just because I don't find that genre interesting. It's an adult book, which is also something I don't typically read. The only reason why I requested it is because it's by Robin Wasserman, and I've heard good things about her books. I'm so excited that I gave this book a try because I ended up loving it.

Girls on Fire had the perfect mix of contemporary, thriller, and suspense. It had me wondering what was going on with the two main characters, Lacey, and Hannah. I was especially intrigued to find out why the male main character had taken his life (not a spoiler. Happens towards the beginning and a major aspect of the plot centers on figuring out what happens). I also liked the small supernatural/horror aspects of the books. Satanic sacrifices aren't something that usually happen in the books I read, so I found it interesting. Also, the "powers" surrounding Lacey left me intrigued to find out more and why she was doing it.

As far as the characters them selves go, Robin Wasserman writes really compelling characters. I think my teenage self would have rally identified with Hannah. She was raised by strict parents, and trying to find her way as a teenager by making a new friend, even though her parents disapproved, and trying new things. I also enjoyed Lacey's love of Nirvana. Nirvana is one of my favorite bands of all time. I also agree with her philosophy that music can be spiritual and healing.

All in all, I was genuinely shocked by how much I loved this book. Until It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover came out, Girls on Fire was my favorite book read in 2016. I loved everything about it, from the complex plot, to the shocking secrets being revealed, and of course, the fantastic characters. It makes me want to pick up more in this genre. I well definitely be reading all of the books that Robin Wasserman has written.

I give Girls on Fire: 5/5.

Want to know more about the author?

Website: http://www.robinwasserman.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/robinwasserman
Twitter: https://twitter.com/robinwasserman
Timblr: http://robinwasserman.tumblr.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/21981.Robin_Wasserman

I received this ebook from the publisher, via Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Monday, August 29, 2016

Madame X by Jasinda Wilder


Synopsis:
Hired to transform the uncultured, inept sons of the wealthy and powerful into decisive, confident men, Madame X is a master of the art of control. With a single glance she can cut you down to nothing, or make you feel like a king.

But there is only one man who can claim her body—and her soul.

Undone time and again by his exquisite dominance, X craves and fears his desire in equal measure. And while she longs for a different path, X has never known anything or anyone else—until now...

(Synopsis taken from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:
Jasinda Wilder is one of my favorite authors. I read her Delilah's Diary trilogy several years ago, and devoured every book she's ever written shortly after that. I was excited to see that she had a new book coming out, Madame X. Fortunately, the publisher was kind enough to approve me to read a copy. The book was slow to start, but by the end, I loved it.

Madame X got off to rocky start for me. The first 25% of the book was really confusing. It almost felt like the book needed a mini prequel novella/short story to explain some things. I had no idea what the heck was going on. However, after that first 25%, things started making sense. I became really emotionally invested in the characters.

Jasinda Wilder always writes amazing characters in every one of her books. However, I think the characters from Madame X might be my favorite. I was emotionally involved in every single one of them, especially Madame X. I think I liked her the most because I could easily relate to her. We both love to read. I found myself feeling anxious for her when she was having a panic attack. When she was happy, I found myself smiling while reading. In the book, something happens to all of her books. As a fellow book lover, I felt a lot of anxiety for her. I don't know what I would do if that were to happen to me. As for the rest of the characters, I loved all of them... Well almost. I hated Caleb. I think he's a despicable human being, but I appreciate what he adds to the story.


I wasn't happy with the decision that Madame X made towards the ends of the book, but it should be interesting to see how that decision plays out in the future. I have so many questions and theories. I hope to get some answers in the next book, Exposed. I'm also looking forward to seeing some of my favorite characters, especially Jonathon. I have a feeling that we aren't completely done with his story yet. My advice for anyone that reads this book if to stick it out at least until the 25%-30% mark. After that, you're in for one hell of a ride.

I give Madame X: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://jasindawilder.com/#&panel1-1
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorJasindaWilder
Twitter: https://twitter.com/JasindaWilder
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jasindawilder/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6521173.Jasinda_Wilder

I received this ebook from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Friday, August 26, 2016

Somber Island by T. Lynne Tolles


Synopsis:
Phoebe MacIntire, who is a servant to her father and sisters in her own house in Scotland in 1855, is an ordinary girl, with no big dreams for the future. She's perfectly happy in her humble life, with her cot in the basement and her little garden in the backyard. But when her father up and sends her to Newfoundland to be the lifelong servant to Lord Jacobs, she finds her life gets turned upside down.

When she arrives at the manor on a small island, she finds the beautiful place abandoned and only a note waits for her explaining her duties, the strange dietary requirements, and sleeping habits of her new master.

The very first night in her new home she's haunted in her dreams by a woman who clearly does not want her there and a strange blue-eyed man-wolf creature that follows the woman. Her dreams become more and more violent and mysteries start to be uncovered about a woman who was killed in a fire on the island, a creature that preys on anyone that comes to the island and a love story gone wrong that dates back over a hundred and twenty two years.
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:

The moment I saw the cover for Somber Island, I knew I had to read it. I fell in love with the cover. The way Phoebe's red hair contrasted with the blue/dark grey background was almost magical. After reading the synopsis, and learning that the book is about a girl with a disability, and vampires, I knew it was the book for me. I loved it. Days after reading it, I still couldn't get the way it ended, or the characters, out of my head.

The thing that really made the book a great read for me was Phoebe, the main character. She had a disability that was difficult to manage, but she never let that get her down. In fact, she had quite a bad lot in life. She had a crippling disability, and her uncle was a jerk. His daughters got everything they wanted in life while she got nothing, and he sold her off to someone from a different country to practically be a slave for someone she had never met before. Throughout all of that, she always kept a positive attitude. I don't see how she did it. She definitely earned my respect and admiration.

As for the storyline, I don't even know where to begin. If I didn't know better, I would say that the author graduated from Hogwarts. That's the only explanation for her ability to write a story that captivated me so much. It was like magic. That's the first time a book has made me feel that feeling in a very long time. From the very beginning, I was so invested in Phoebe's world. I needed to know more about her, her "boss", the mysterious lady that kept showing up in her dreams, and so much more. I was on the edge of my seat. Every time a new twist was revealed, I was shocked. There was only one plot twist that I saw coming beforehand, and that was because the author made it very obvious.

I loved Somber Island. It's the only book I've read so far in 2016 that I felt myself get truly immersed in. The book ends in a way where I don't think a sequel is possible. However, I want one desperately because I need more of these characters in my life. I recommend this book to everyone, regardless of age or gender.

I give Somber Island: 5/5.

Want to know more about the author?

Website: http://tlynnetolles.me/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/T.LynneTolles.Author
Twitter: https://twitter.com/tlynnetolles
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4132968.T_Lynne_Tolles

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Thursday, August 25, 2016

ARC Review: The Dead Boyfriend by R.L. Stine


Synopsis:
R.L. Stine's Fear Street series is back, and in The Dead Boyfriend, he tells the frightening tale of teenage love - and how it can go terribly, murderously wrong. 

Caitlin has never had a real boyfriend before. When she starts seeing Colin, she throws herself into the relationship with fervor. She ignores her friends who warn her that Colin may be a phony and that she is taking the whole thing too seriously. Caitlin is smitten. She doesn't care if she loses her friends. All she wants is Colin. When Caitlin approaches Colin with another girl, she completely loses it. She snaps. Everything goes red. When she comes back to her senses, she realizes that Colin is dead - and she has killed him. 

But if Colin is dead, how is he staring at her across a crowded party? 

Terrifying from the first page to the last, The Dead Boyfriend is a heart-racing young adult novel from the master of teen screams himself.
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:

R.L. Stine was one of my favorite authors as a kid. My favorite series by him was definitely the Fear Street Cheerleaders series. When I heard that he rebooted the Fear Street series for a new generation, I really wanted to give it a try. It turns out that I loved it just as much as when I was a kid, which surprised me. As an adult, I usually have a hard time getting into children's books.

From the end of the first chapter, I was hooked. R.L. Stine created an interesting character in Caitlin. She was likable, and easy to relate to. The instalove between her and Colin was really annoying and unbelievable. That's the only thing that I hated about the book. 

I loved everything else about The Dead Boyfriend. Caitlin's best friends were great. I enjoyed the relationship between the three of them. I also enjoyed Deanna Fear. She was creepy, mysterious, and the perfect villain. I hope she appears in more Fear Street novels. 

At first I was skeptical about R.L. Stine rebooting his Fear Street series, but I liked it just as much as the original, if not more so. Although I don't recommend reading it before bed. I had some really weird dreams after reading the casket scene. Not scary dreams, just weird. The ending was a bit confusing because he left it open ended. I really hope that means he's writing a sequel. I would love more of these characters. I recommend The Dead Boyfriend for adults and kids alike.

I give The Dead Boyfriend: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?

Website: http://rlstine.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rlstine/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RL_Stine
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13730.R_L_Stine

I received this eARC from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald


Synopsis:
Once you let a book into your life, the most unexpected things can happen...

Broken Wheel, Iowa, has never seen anyone like Sara, who traveled all the way from Sweden just to meet her pen pal, Amy. When she arrives, however, she finds that Amy's funeral has just ended. Luckily, the townspeople are happy to look after their bewildered tourist—even if they don't understand her peculiar need for books. Marooned in a farm town that's almost beyond repair, Sara starts a bookstore in honor of her friend's memory. 

All she wants is to share the books she loves with the citizens of Broken Wheel and to convince them that reading is one of the great joys of life. But she makes some unconventional choices that could force a lot of secrets into the open and change things for everyone in town. Reminiscent of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, this is a warm, witty book about friendship, stories, and love.
(Synopsis taken from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:

A few weeks ago, it seemed like everyone was posting about The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend on Instagram. It was in close to every one out of three posts. Then, I would go to Twitter, or Facebook, and it would be all over there. Everyone was talking about it all over Booktube as well. I finally decided to break down, and read it to see what all of the hype was about. Unfortunately, the hype monster got me on this one. It was just okay for me.

Everyone was saying that Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend was for people who love books, so I went into it with high expectations. I came out a little disappointed. From that description, I thought it was mostly going to be about books. While there were parts in it about books, that wasn't the main theme of the book. The book was mostly about the inner workings of a small town, friendship, and falling in love when you least expect it. It made the book a very slow read, and quite boring. There were several times when I wanted to DNF it, but I kept going in hopes that it would get better.

The book wasn't all bad though. I did like the bookish references that were in there, even if there weren't as many as I wanted. I found a couple of books to add to my tbr. Some of the characters were quirky, which I loved. Caroline made me chuckle quite a bit. She was definitely my favorite. I didn't agree with all of her view points, but I loved how much she had developed as a character by the end of the book.

While the book didn't live up to my expectations, I didn't hate it either. I would recommend The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend to anyone looking for a light, fluffy, sometimes over the to nonsensical read. I don't know that I would recommend buying it, but if it sounds like it would be your thing, it might be best to rent it from the library.

I give The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend:  3/5.

Want to know more about the author?

Website: http://katarinabivald.se/en/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7205478.Katarina_Bivald

I received this ebook from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.