Saturday, February 17, 2018

Discovery by Brina Courtney


Synopsis:
Discoveries can be dangerous. Discoveries can be deadly. 

Nine months ago, Teagan Matthews' boyfriend disappeared and took her sense of stability with him. But when the opportunity to live with her aging grandmother in Salem arises, she decides it's time to get on with her life. A new home, new job, and new friends are adding up to a beautiful summer...

...until a young girl's body shows up one night in town, wearing a pentagram necklace exactly like Teagan's.

Now a guy looking remarkably like her missing boyfriend has arrived in Salem along with a mysterious stranger who may have some answers that Teagan has desperately been searching for. Teagan must now decide who to trust. It's a matter of life... and her death.
(Synopsis from Goodreads).


My Thoughts:
Earlier in the month, I read Lovespell by Brina Courtney, and fell in love with it. It's one of my favorite books I've read this year. Out of the 38 books I've read so far, it's definitely in my top five. I was disappointed that I couldn't find the rest of the series on Amazon. However, I was looking through my Goodreads and realized that I had more of Brina Courtney's books on my tbr, so I decided to check out Discovery. After I read the synopsis, I realized it was an expanded version of Lovespell, and I was so excited to be able to continue the story. I really enjoyed Discovery.

I do have to admit, the first part of the book was word for word from Lovespell, so I skimmed the first twenty percent or so, just to make sure there weren't any changes. I had just read Lovespell two days before, and the storyline was still fresh in my mind. I loved Discovery. I loved learning more about these characters, and watching them interact together. I especially enjoyed the friendship between Teagan and Lark. Watching them grow into close friends, especially when Teagen finds it so hard to trust people, was almost magical to watch. 

The one character I didn't like was Celine. I just found Celine's point of view very boring, and hard to get through. I thought the few chapters from her point of view were unnecessary. I mean, yes, she did give the reader some valuable information that was needed, but that info could have easily been given by Seth when he was explaining everything to Teagen. Speaking of that, I also found Seth and Teagen's grandmother's explanations confusing. For the most part, I understood most of the powers. It was the explanation of the coven history and the book that I didn't get. It was a major plot reveal and has spoilers, so I don't want to get into it into much detail. I just wished it was explained in a more understandable way.

I really enjoyed Discovery. The ending broke my heart. I was a sobbing mess. The book ended in a way that there could be a sequel, but it's not necessary. I really want one though because I want to know what happens after everything that went down in the end. I want to know where Celine went, and how Teagen is going to handle her life, and all of the changes that happened. I don't see that Discovery is available on Amazon anymore, so I doubt that the author will write a sequel. However, if she does, I will definitely be one-clicking it as soon as it is released.


I give Discovery: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Twitter: https://twitter.com/brinacourtney
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5295520.Brina_Courtney

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Friday, February 16, 2018

ARC Review: You May Now Kill the Bride by R.L. Stine


Synopsis:
Two sisters, divided by time. Each with a terrible resentment she can barely contain.

Two Fear family weddings, decades apart... Each bride will find that the ancient curse that haunts the Fears LIVES ON. It feeds off the evil that courses through their blood. It takes its toll in unexpected ways, and allows dark history to repeat itself.

In this all-new Fear Street story, family ties bind sisters together—till DEATH do they part.

(Synopsis from Goodreads). 

My Thoughts:
When I was a kid, R.L. Stine was one of my favorite authors. Like most kids, I got addicted to his Goosebumps series at an early age. When I was in third grade, I picked up his Fear Street: Cheerleaders series and devoured them. He is one of the reasons why the horror genre is one of my favorite genres to this day. Therefore, when I saw that he was coming out with a new Fear Street series, I was so excited to read it. I just recently finished the first book, You May Now Kill the Bride, and thought it was an enjoyable read. 

For the first couple chapters of You May Now Kill the Bride, I was a little confused. There was some old school slang that I didn't recognize, and I had no idea why the characters were talking like that. Well it turns out that the first part of the book is set in the 1920s, but the reader doesn't learn that until about halfway through the first part. Once I learned that, the book became less confusing, and I really started to enjoy it.

There were times where I couldn't put the book down. I typically read at night before I go to sleep, and there were many lost hours of sleep while I was reading this because I wanted to know what was going to happen next. It kept me on the edge of my seat, wondering where Marissa had gone, and what was happening at the lodge. Granted, the book did have the usual R.L. Stine cheesiness and predictability, but it didn't take away my enjoyment of the book. If anything, it just made me love the book more because it brought back those feelings of nostalgia. 

I am so excited that R.L. Stine chose to reboot his Fear Street series. I loved the first book in the new series, You May Now Kill the Bride. Even though it was confusing at first, I quickly found myself being swept up into the storyline. I loved learning the history and lore of the Fear family. I hope R.L. Stine continues that in the rest of the series. I find it fascinating. Due to some adult themes in this book that I don't remember the original series having, I do recommend it to older teen readers.


I give You May Now Kill the Bride: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://rlstine.com/index.php
facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rlstine/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RL_Stine
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13730.R_L_Stine

I received this eARC from the publisher, via Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Thursday, February 15, 2018

Cranwood by J. Bryer


Synopsis:
Abby just wants to be a normal teenager, but she has been hiding a secret that has been locked inside of her since she was a child. Will David be the one to make Abby feel like she fits in. Is Abby's secret going to be revealed?

The gift Abby always thought was a burden can now be used for the unfortunate ones that may not live without her help.


Following an unexplained murder in the quiet town of Cranwood, sixteen year old Abby Grace Hill is driven into a dark and dangerous territory.She may not make it out alive.
(Synopsis from Goodreads). 

My Thoughts:
From the moment I saw Cranwood, I knew I had to read it. I'm such a sucker for a gorgeous book cover. The cover was absolutely breathtaking. It might be one of my favorite book covers I have ever seen. Unfortunately, that was the only thing I liked about Cranwood. I didn't care for the book at all.

The first chapter or two of Cranwood was actually really intriguing. However, after Abby deals with what happens at the school, everything went downhill. After that, it was almost like someone else started writing the rest of the book. The sentences were short and choppy, which made it hard to read. It was so boring. There were a lot of plot inconsistencies. For example, David said he didn't have a phone because he had just moved. Later in the book, Abby was furious because David hadn't called her. Also, as soon as the box happened, the police should have been called to deal with it and they weren't. There were several times where someone should have taken David or Abby to the hospital, and they just shrugged it off and went home. Abby was also a bad liar, and David just accepted everything she said as truth, and didn't get suspicious. A tiny child could have seen through her lies. It was so frustrating, and really made the story unbelievable.

I think the only reason why I finished Cranwood is that I was hoping it would go back to being really good, like it was in the beginning few chapters. Sadly, it did not. Luckily it was short, so I didn't waste much time reading it. The author specifies that the book is for teens, and not adults. I think the reason why they say that is because teens are less likely to see through plot holes, and bad writing. I know when I was a teen, I probably wouldn't have realized how bad the book was. Unfortunately, I don't recommend this book to anyone.

I give Cranwood: 2/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5143051.J_Bryer

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Lovespell by Brina Courtney


Synopsis:
Nine months ago, Teagan Matthews' boyfriend disappeared and took her sense of stability with him. But when the opportunity to live with her aging grandmother in Salem arises, she decides it's time to get on with her life. A new home, new job, and new friends are adding up to a beautiful summer... 

...until a young girl's body shows up one night in town, wearing a pentagram necklace exactly like Teagan's. 

(Synopsis from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:
Recently, I've been in the mood to read more paranormal books. I used to love the genre when I was younger, but unfortunately I haven't read many in the past few years. With all of the amazing books coming out on a daily basis, it can be easy to overlook a specific genre, which is what I had been unintentionally doing. I've had Lovespell by Brina Courtney on my tbr for a long time, and recently decided to try it. I'm kicking myself for not reading it sooner. I loved it so much. 

I will admit, Lovespell did have a slow start. for the first chapter or so, I was really bored. Then, as soon as Teagen goes to her grandmother's home, I was hooked. I loved everything about the book. I fell in love with the characters. Each had unique personalities. I wanted to learn more about every one of them. I even liked Seth, which is weird because I typically don't care for characters that share my husband's name. It makes the book awkward to read because I picture him in my mind. This time, I liked it though. Even though the book it had a lot of world building, it didn't drag like most first books in a series. It kept me captivated the whole way through. I flew through the book because I couldn't stop reading. I needed to know what was going to happen next.

Lovespell is definitely one of my favorite books I've read this year. Other than the slow start, I loved everything about it. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to find this book on Amazon, which is a shame. I want to read the rest of the series, and I can't find it. I need to know what happens next after that crazy cliffhanger ending. If I do find it, or the author re-releases the books, I will be binge reading the rest of the series. I can't wait to read more of Brina Courtney's books. I love her writing.


I give Lovespell: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Twitter: https://twitter.com/brinacourtney
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5295520.Brina_Courtney

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Tuesday, February 13, 2018

DNF Review: Bound to Submit by Natasha Moore


Synopsis:
Mason’s dark good looks and dominating personality stirred up Kelly’s forbidden fantasies, frightening her so much that she broke up with him. When she agrees to help out at the community haunted house, she never expects to be tied to a bed, playing damsel in distress to Mason’s masked, whip-wielding villain.

Mason knows Kelly is fighting her sexual needs and he hopes that a few hours of playing out her fantasies with him will prove it to her. Bound and under his control, she can’t run away from him this time.

(Synopsis from Goodreads). 

My Thoughts:
Every once in a great while, I like reading shorter books. Not only does it help me to reach my Goodreads goal, but it's also a perfect solution for when I finish a book and don't want to jump into another one right away. I was scrolling through my Kindle the other day, wanting something short to read, and saw Bound to Submit. I had been wanting to get back into reading erotica again, so I thought it sounded like the perfect book to read. Unfortunately, I hated it. I ended up dnf'ing it at fifty-seven percent.

I felt bad for dnf'ing such a short book, but I just couldn't take it anymore. The plot was boring. There was absolutely nothing happening. I didn't think a fiction book about learning BDSM in public could be boring, but the author proved me wrong. I found myself skimming through just to get to the sex scenes, which I had hoped would improve the book. I was wrong. You would think that it would have very descriptive, exciting, sex scenes being an erotica short story. However, it didn't. I think I've read more descriptive, detailed sex scenes in young adult and new adult books. Finally, I just couldn't force myself to read any more of the story. 

Bound to Submit was such a huge disappointment. It got to the point where I couldn't even finish it, which I hate doing with smaller books. Nothing exciting happened in the book. I don't think I will be picking up any of the author's other books either, which is unfortunate because she's written a lot of them. I just didn't like the boring, bland writing style at all.


I give Bound to Submit: 1/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.natashamoore.com/index.html
Twitter: https://twitter.com/natashamoore
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1093811.Natasha_Moore

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review. 

Friday, February 9, 2018

The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap by Paulette Mahurin


Synopsis:
The year 1895 was filled with memorable historical events: the Dreyfus Affair divided France; Booker T. Washington gave his Atlanta address; Richard Olney, United States Secretary of State, expanded the effects of the Monroe Doctrine in settling a boundary dispute between the United Kingdom and Venezuela; and Oscar Wilde was tried and convicted for gross indecency under Britain’s recently passed law that made sex between males a criminal offense. When news of Wilde’s conviction went out over telegraphs worldwide, it threw a small Nevada town into chaos. This is the story of what happened when the lives of its citizens were impacted by the news of Oscar Wilde’s imprisonment. It is a chronicle of hatred and prejudice with all its unintended and devastating consequences, and how love and friendship bring strength and healing.
(Synopsis from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:
I love reading LGBTQ+ books. As an openly bisexual woman, I love learning everything I can about the subject. I also love reading stories that make me feel accepted, like it's okay to be who I am. I recently was browsing through the books I own that I still need to review, and saw The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap. I really wanted to read it because I don't know much about the LGBTQ+ community in the late 1800s. It was a good book, even though I didn't enjoy all aspects of it.

For the most part, I really did enjoy reading The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap. I loved learning about some LGBTQ+ history. for as much as I read, I had no idea that the whole thing with Oscar Wilde happened. It made me want to look into it more, and research it. I'm hoping I can find some more books that will tell me about it. The 1800s are rarely talked about in the LGBTQ+ history books I read. It was interesting to get that perspective in history. I was very pleasantly surprised at how much I genuinely cared about these characters. In the end of the book, something tragic happens, and I found myself in tears over it. I empathized with the character so much, it was like I felt her pain. Even Josie, who was a horrible, reprehensible, racist, homophobic jerk made me feel a little sympathy for her.

Even though I really enjoyed the book, I did have a couple of problems with it. There is a somewhat incestuous relationship in the book that really grossed me out at first. Two of the characters are cousins in a relationship together, and that took quite a long time for me to get over to be able to enjoy the book. Even now, still thinking about it slightly grosses me out. I know it was a more common thing back then, but I just can't deal with it. Another thing is that I wish the author would have done a bit more research to make the book historically accurate. For example, one of the characters uses the phrase "Whatever", which wasn't used until the 1960s. Also, while treadmills were around at the time this took place, they weren't used for exercise until 1913 when a patent was filed. Little things like that kept taking me out of the story, which is a shame because it was such a good book otherwise.

I really enjoyed The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap. It was a great LGBTQ+ book that taught me so much about the history of the LGBTQ+ community. Granted, I did have a few problems with it. However, I don't regret reading the book at all. The storyline kept me interested throughout, and I loved the characters. I would probably recommend the book to someone who wanted to learn more about the LGBTQ+ community in the late 1800s without reading a textbook-like version.


I give The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap: 3.5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Paulette-Mahurins-Books-695108163960200/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/mahurinpaulette?lang=en
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5895757.Paulette_Mahurin

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone


Synopsis:
Anna and Bennett were never supposed to meet: she lives in 1995 Chicago and he lives in 2012 San Francisco. But Bennett has the unique ability to travel through time and space, which brings him into Anna’s life, and with him a new world of adventure and possibility.

As their relationship deepens, the two face the reality that time may knock Bennett back to where he belongs, even as a devastating crisis throws everything they believe into question. Against a ticking clock, Anna and Bennett are forced to ask themselves how far they can push the bounds of fate, what consequences they can bear in order to stay together, and whether their love can stand the test of time.

Fresh, exciting, and deeply romantic, Time Between Us is a stunning, spellbinding debut from an extraordinary new voice in YA fiction.

(Synopsis from Goodreads). 

My Thoughts:
Recently I've gotten into reading stories about time travel. I don't know if it's from my obsessive Doctor Who watching or what, but it's all I've wanted to read about lately. Time Between Us has been on my tbr for a while, so I decided to give it a try. I went in with no expectations because I hadn't heard much about it, and ended up enjoying it, even though it was a little cliche.

At first, Time Between Us made me really confused, which I typically hate. However, it worked well in this book. I liked finding out things alongside Anna, instead of just being told what was happening right away. It added to the mystery and suspense of the book, and kept me interested. There was a lot of mystery and intrigue throughout the book. When it was finally revealed when Bennett was born, my jaw dropped. It added a whole new layer to the story, which made things even more complex. I loved it.

There are a few problems that I had with the book. It was very tropey, and cliche. It reminded me a lot of Twilight in a way, which might be good for it's intended young adult audience, but I've been over the whole Twilight thing for a few years now. I've outgrown it. For example, a lot of the important scenes take place in a school cafeteria, like Twilight. There's also an unexplainable connection to each other, and instalove that's similar to Twilight. Last but not least, he shows up uninvited her bedroom, which reminded me of Twilight, and is always creepy. The plot was also predictable at times. I guessed what was going to happen with the contest, and a few other things that I don't want to get too into because of spoilers, from the start. 

Even though I had a couple of issues with Time Between Us, I ended up really enjoying it. It made me want to read more of Tamara Ireland Stone's books, which I will be doing right away. I think it should be interesting to read the sequel to this, Time After Time. I'm not sure how a sequel will take place after the way everything ended, but I'm excited to read it because I really want more of these characters. I recommend this book for young adult readers, those that like Twilight and want similar books, and people that love reading about time travel.


I give Time Between Us: 3.5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: https://www.tamarairelandstone.com/
facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tamarairelandstone/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/tamaraistone
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tamaraistone/
Pintrest: https://www.pinterest.com/tamaraistone/
Tumblr: http://tamaraistone.tumblr.com/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/tamaraistone
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/user/1254719090
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4792225.Tamara_Ireland_Stone

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Monday, January 29, 2018

Bigger Rock by Lauren Blakely Release Day Launch


The best book deal EVER is here! Grab BIGGER ROCK for $2.99 and get the first four books in the #1 New York Times best-selling Big Rock series by Lauren Blakely. Price goes up after release!



Once upon a time there was a cocky, confident, die-hard bachelor living it up in New York City. He was clever and charming, and he'd been living the good life. Then, one special woman -- one very sassy, confident, and fantastic woman -- knocked him on his butt, thanks to love that came out of the blue.

Take that story and multiply it by four. That's what's in the BIGGER ROCK box set -- four New York Times bestselling romantic comedies, told in the male POV, that established Lauren Blakely as at the top of her game in rom-com! You'll find friends-to-lovers, best-friend's-little-sister, boss-assistant, and roomies-to-lovers romances. Come meet the irreverent bachelor Spencer Holiday in BIG ROCK, the hot nerd Nick Hammer in MISTER O, his twin brother Wyatt, the sarcastic and sweet carpenter, in WELL HUNG, and the charming and brilliant doctor with the heart of gold, Chase Summers, in the #1 New York Times bestselling smash hit FULL PACKAGE. Get ready for a hot & hilarious ride!

✦Kindle ➜ myBook.to/bigger-rock ✦iBooks ➜ https://apple.co/2BpnGV5 ✦Kobo ➜ http://bit.ly/2E5o6CY ✦Nook ➜ http://bit.ly/2E2dIfr ✦Google Play ➜ https://goo.gl/Ceui8x ✦Amazon PB ➜ myBook.to/bigger-rockPB



Don't miss this message from Lauren!

Surprise! I've packaged the first four standalone novels in the Big Rock series in a box set for the first time! So if you've been wanting to read one or any of these titles, now is your chance! The price of this box set goes up in just a few days! Don’t miss your chance to grab all of these sexy and hilarious books in one set for just $2.99 while you can!

BIG ROCK Excerpt:
I do my best work in the bedroom. This is completely my domain. So it should be no big deal that she asked me to wait here. But something about being in Charlotte’s bedroom is wigging me out.
            Mostly because there’s nearby nudity transpiring mere feet away.
            She’s taking a shower, and no matter how you slice them, New York apartments are approximately thimble size. Let me spell this out—wet, naked, hot woman in a ten-foot radius.
            Got it? Okay. Moving on.
            I pick up a picture frame on her sky blue bureau of the dog her parents have. A fluffy brown summa dog—some of this, some of that. I’m going to focus on this mutt. Zero in on him. Look at his tail. Check out his ears. Yup, this picture is doing the trick. It is helping me not to linger on the naked woman and how well she kisses.
            Or how much I liked it.
            Why the fuck did I like it so much?
            Of course you liked it, idiot. A pretty woman kisses you, and you’re straight—you’d be stupid not to like it. End of story. Doesn’t mean anything. Stop analyzing.
            Especially since she just turned off the shower.
            Maybe she forgot a towel. Maybe she’ll open the door a crack, and ask me to grab one for her.         
            I smack my forehead. Get it together, Holiday.
            I set down the picture, draw a deep inhale and straighten my shoulders. The door creaks open. She steps out of the bathroom wearing only a white fluffy towel wrapped above her breasts.           
            “You might be wondering why I asked you to wait in my bedroom instead of the living room,” she says, in the most matter-of-fact tone.
            I have no clue how she can be talking like we’re having a business transaction when droplets of water slide down her bare legs. But I’m a strong man. I can handle this. I’m not tempted at all by my best friend. Though my dick begs to differ, the traitorous prick.
            “The thought crossed my mind,” I say, as I lean against the bureau, striking a casual pose.
            “Because if you’re my fiancé, you need to be comfortable with me being naked,” she says with a crisp nod.
            Shit, she’s going to do it. She’s going to drop the towel. She’s going to make us practice fucking. I am the luckiest man on the face of the earth.
            Wait. No. I can’t fuck my best friend. I absolutely, positively, can’t screw Charlotte. Even if she tosses the towel on the floor and begs me to.
            I lace my fingers together behind my back, linking these twitchy hands.
            “Okay, so you’re getting naked,” I say, doing my best to imitate her cool-as-a-cucumber tone that is throwing me off big time.
            “No. It’s the idea of me naked,” she corrects.
            I give her a pointed look. “Seems to me it’s both the idea and the reality.”
            “Fine, fine. They’re one and the same, and it’s part of the debrief.”         
            “Is this the exam portion?”
            She walks past me, her arm brushing against mine before she yanks open the top drawer of the bureau. “Yes. This is the practical portion.”
            “And this is because you somehow think we’re going to be required to be naked together in front of Mr. Offerman in order to pull this off? This isn’t like some feats-of-strength style fake engagement where we have to pass certain skill sets in an obstacle course. You know that, right?”
            She nods, as she hunts around in the drawer. “I’m aware of that. I see this as more like the Newlywed game.”
            “And in this version of the game we’re quizzed on how I get used to the idea of you naked and vice versa?”
            Her breath hitches when I say that—vice versa.
            I don’t know what to make of that small gasp, or if it means something about the idea of me au naturel.
            She spins around, and holds up two pairs of panties, one in each hand. “Quick. Do you prefer it when your fiancée wears the black lace thong?” She waggles a scrap of silky-looking fabric that is so hot my face might be engulfed in flames right now because Charlotte owns that? “Or do you prefer her in the white side-string bikini?” She waves the white pair before my eyes, and all I can see is a tiny triangular patch of fabric that’s the slightest bit see-through.
            Forget the flames. I am a fucking inferno right now knowing she owns this too. White panties that reveal pretty much everything.

A #1 New York Times Bestselling author, and #1 Wall Street Journal Bestselling author, Lauren Blakely is known for her contemporary romance style that's hot, sweet and sexy. She lives in California with her family and has plotted entire novels while walking her dogs. With fourteen New York Times bestsellers, her titles have appeared on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller Lists more than 85 times, and in March she'll release WANDERLUST, a breathtaking new romance that will sweep you away. To receive an email when Lauren releases a new book, sign up for her newsletter! laurenblakely.com/newsletter


Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Newsletter ** Goodreads

   

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

ARC Review: At the Stroke of Midnight by Tara Sivec


Synopsis:
Meet the Naughty Princess Club: a brand new series from USA Todaybestselling author Tara Sivec that introduces readers to Fairytale Lane and the hilarity—and romance—that ensue when three women start a new business to make it rain.

Once upon a time Cynthia was the perfect housewife. Between being the President of the PTA and keeping her home spotless without a hair (or her pearls) out of place, her life was a dream come true. Her husband was once her knight in shining armor, but now he’s run off with all their money…and the babysitter.

Dressed as a princess at the annual Halloween block party on Fairytale Lane, she meets two other “princesses” also facing money troubles: antique store owner Ariel and librarian Isabelle. When the women are invited to wear their costumes to a party where they’re mistaken for strippers, Cindy, Ariel, and Belle realize that a career change could be the best way to make their money problems go bippity-boppity-boo.

But can structured Cindy approach a stripper pole without sanitizing wipes? And could the blue-eyed anti-prince that has been crossing her path become Cindy’s happily ever after? At the Stroke of Midnight is a hilarious, empowering story where princesses can save themselves while slaying in stilettos.

(Synopsis from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:
Tara Sivec has always been one of my favorite authors. I love her sense of humor in the books she writes. When I found out that she had a new book coming out this year, At the Stroke of Midnight, I knew I had to read it. Then I found out it was a fairy tale re-telling, and it got bumped up to one of my most anticipated books of 2018. I'm so glad I got a chance to read it. I loved it. It became my favorite Tara Sivec book of all time.

Not only is At the Stroke of Midnight my new favorite Tara Sivec book of all time. Out of the sixteen books I've read so far in 2018, it's my favorite book I've read. As I read more books, I still forsee it holding that title for quite some time. It was everything I wanted in the book. I don't know if it's correct to call it a fairy tale re-telling. The book is based on Cinderella, but the author takes the story of Cinderella and turns it into something completely new. She put her own spin on the story, which I loved. I think it made the storyline even better. I loved the main character, Cindy. She was so relatable. There were several times while reading the book that I thought "oh, we've all done that", or "I've definitely been in the position she's in". It made it easy to empathize with her, and to love her.

The book was also absolutely hilarious. I don't think I've laughed that hard while reading in a long time. Between Cindy learning how to get the stick out of her ass, Ariel's crudeness, and Belle's random facts at the most inopportune times sometimes, I was laughing so hard I was almost crying. The whole scene with what Ariel finds in the back of Cindy's closet had me laughing so loudly that I woke my husband up, and scared the hell out of him in the middle of the night when I was reading. I was practically howling from how hard I was laughing.

At the Stroke of Midnight proved once again why Tara Sivec is one of my favorite authors. She writes hysterical romantic comedies, with steam that just rolls off of the pages. I loved this book so much. Out of all the new releases I've read so far this year, if I could recommend that everyone read just one book this year, it would be this one. Last year was rough for me, and this book got this year off to a great start. I am dying to read the other books in the series. I think it will be amazing to read about the business from Ariel and Belle's perspective, especially Belle with how shy she is. I have a feeling those books will be great as well.


I give At the Stroke of Midnight: 5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://tarasivec.com/
facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TaraSivec.authorpage
Twitter: https://twitter.com/tarasivec
Pintrest: https://www.pinterest.com/tarasivec/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authortarasivec/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6422281.Tara_Sivec

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Creation Debt by Lore Graham


Synopsis:
Radical views sometimes require committing a crime or two. In his biggest move yet to fight for android rights, Derek liberates a group of androids working off their creation debt at a hospital. One of those androids is 141, who is surprisingly reluctant to leave the facility, leaving Derek baffled.

A delay in their escape forces them to take an alternate route to Derek's base, trapping them on a decrepit spaceship for a week, where they have only each other for company and a divide created by assumptions and wariness—but also an undeniable curiosity.

(Synopsis from Goodreads). 

My Thoughts:
I love dystopian books. It's one of my favorite genres. Add in an LGBTQ+ main character, and it makes me even more excited to read the book. After reading the synopsis for Creation Debt, I knew I had to read the book. A transgender character fighting to bring down a corporation sounded like something I would love. Unfortunately, I found myself disappointed after finishing the book. 

Creation Debt had the possibility to be one of my favorite books of 2018, or at least that's what I thought after reading the synopsis. Unfortunately, it fell short of what I wanted, and what I expected. for one thing, I think the book would have been better if it was expanded upon a bit. I was really interested in some of the other things that Derek, the main character, had done to free androids. Those things were briefly touched upon, but not described with the amount of detail I wanted. I would have loved to see it happen. I also wanted more detail about what happened towards the end, after everyone met up on Mars. It would have been nice to see the relationship that happens in the book with 141 and Derek evolve more.

There was one thing that I really loved about this book. The author used the proper pronouns for both characters. Not only that, but the publisher also used the proper pronouns for the author, Lore Graham. That's hard to find in a publisher. They didn't make the author hide who ze is. The book was also very informative about proper pronouns, the correct way of asking, and not assuming someone's gender or pronouns. I've read a lot of LGBTQ+ books, and I think this is easily the most informative book about pronouns, gender, and sexuality that I've read. It handles the subject in a great way, making it easy to learn about, while keeping the reader's interest at the same time. I learned quite a few things that I had never known before. 

I think that if Creation Debt were to be expanded, and to give more detail about the characters, and the world, it would easily be a four or five star read. As it was, I found it to be disappointing because it just lightly mentioned the things that I wanted to know more about. I did love the relationship between Derek and 141 though. The two had a lot of chemistry. I also greatly enjoyed the respect that the author and the publisher both have for using proper pronouns. If Lore Graham ever writes a sequel, I will read it though. I really did enjoy zir writing style, and would love more of these characters.


I give Creation Debt: 3/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: https://grahamlore.com/
facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GrahamLore
Twitter: https://twitter.com/grahamlore
Tumblr: http://grahamlore.tumblr.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14204591.Lore_Graham

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Saturday, January 20, 2018

First Position by Melody Grace


Synopsis:
"A man dances the same way he f*#ks. His stamina, his rhythm, the slow grind of his hips. Some people are born to it, others learn through years of careful study.

And dancers? We f*#k best of all."


The moment I saw her, I knew. Her innocence is intoxicating. My lust is fierce. Primal.

To watch her dance is to know the torment of true temptation.

She will be mine.
(Synopsis from Goodreads). 

My Thoughts:
I love Melody Grace's Beachwood Bay series. I binge read the series over a few days time, and couldn't get enough. Therefore I decided to check out some of her other works. The synopsis for First Position hooked me immediately, so I decided to pick it up. Unfortunately after reading it, I didn't enjoy it as much as I expected to.

Usually I love serials. They're one of my favorite things to read. That's why I was shocked when I didn't really like First Position. There were certain things that happened that were way too convenient to be anything other than a device to further the plot along. Otherwise, they made no sense why it happened at the time it did. It made everything seem so cliche. The book also was really boring. Nothing happened until the last ten percent or so. However, when something did happen I did like the direction it was taking. What happened at the last couple of pages really made me want more. It felt like instead of being a serial, this should have combined the first two books together, and been a full-length novel.

Even though I found First Position disappointing, I will continue with the series. Something major happened towards the end of the book, and I really want to see how Annalise overcomes it, or if she ends up giving up her hopes and dreams to do something different. I hope there is more excitement in the next book in the series, Second Position.

I give First Position: 2.5/5.

Want to know more about the author?

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Friday, January 19, 2018

The Asylum for Fairy Tale Creatures by Sebastian Gregory


Synopsis:
Once upon a nightmare…

Long ago, in a land where imagination meets the darkest nightmares, they built the asylum. Surrounded by a forest of thorns, it holds the most twisted minds in the fairy tale kingdom: a terrible collection of evil creatures and forgotten souls. Imprisoned within its walls, they are doomed to spend forever after telling their tales… and serving as a warning to others.

Now, you are invited to accompany Blood Red Riding Hood into the depths of this strange place – where you will meet its even stranger inhabitants. But be warned: walls this thick were built to withstand the darkest magic… so once you’re inside, you might just find yourself living horribly ever after… and wishing you were indeed in a land far, far away.

(Synopsis from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:
I love fairy tale re-tellings. The genre is one of my favorite things to read. Therefore, when I saw The Asylum for Fairy Tale Creatures, I knew I had to read it. The title drew me in right away, and made me want to know more about it. The book also has an absolutely stunning cover. Unfortunately, I ended up not enjoying the book. It was extremely disappointing.

The Asylum for Fairy Tale Creatures had a great premise, but the book itself failed to deliver. I think my main problem with this book was that it needed an editor so badly. The way it was formatted had the story out of order. It would skip back and forth between scenes, and I had no idea what the heck was going on. When I was reading it, I could tell it wasn't done on purpose. It just wasn't edited. It was almost like someone copied and pasted parts of the story in the wrong place on purpose. It made everything so confusing. Just when I thought I was starting to understand the story, it would happen again, and I'd be more confused than ever. Sentences would cut off in the middle, without ever being finished. The book was also full of punctuation mistakes, and run on sentences that never seem to end. 

There were a couple things I did enjoy about the book, even though it was so confusing. I loved how dark and twisted the storylines were. It created a completely different take on the fairy tales everyone knows and loves, along with some that I had never heard of. I will never look at teddy bears the same way again, or allow them into my house. They kind of creep me out now. I loved the fresh take on the classics. It got me interested in the characters. I also liked how quirky the characters were. I loved the mini stories about Snow White, and Cinderella.

I was sad that I didn't enjoy this book as much as I had hoped. However, I think in the hands of a different, more through editor, this could have easily been a four or five-star read. I'm hoping that one day the book does get another editor. If it does, I would gladly be willing to give it another try. I'm also hoping that one day the author write a book about the side characters, whose backstory was only covered in a couple sentences. I would love to learn what happened to them after all of the things that happened at the end of the book. I will definitely be trying some of the author's other books to see if they are edited better because I did enjoy his writing style.


I give The Asylum for Fairy Tale Creatures: 2.5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sebastiangregoryauthor/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/wordsbyseb?lang=en

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Thursday, January 18, 2018

ARC Review: Seek by Mia Sheridan


Synopsis:
Wealthy socialite Olivia Barton never imagined her fiancé would disappear on what was supposed to be a routine business trip. She's even more heartbroken and confused when a hired private investigator tracks him half a world away, to a seaside town in Colombia. But the country has recently been ravaged by a massive earthquake and deadly tsunami, shutting down outside communication and making travel all but impossible. Still, Olivia is determined to make it to Colombia to find the answers she so desperately seeks. What she needs is a guide—a mercenary.

The man named Thomas arrives in shadows, an unmistakable air of danger about him, promising to help lead her through the ruined, crime-infested country. But when Thomas and Olivia find themselves fighting an undeniable attraction, danger takes on a whole new meaning. Then again, in the lush jungles of South America, all the rules are different and Thomas and Olivia are about to discover that sometimes the thing you seek, isn't necessarily the thing you find.

Seek is a STANDALONE novel with a small, fun connection to the Sign of Love Collection.

(Synopsis from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:
I have loved Mia Sheridan's books for years. I read Archer's Voice in June of 2014, and fell in love with her writing. She has a magical way of telling a story, and bringing characters together. Ever since then, I have devoured everything she has written, and loved almost all of it. When I saw that she had a new book out, Seek, I knew I had to get my hands on it. Even though I wasn't head over heels in love with the story, I found it really enjoyable. 

The storyline of Seek hooked me from the beginning. That prologue broke my heart, and made me bawl. The two characters, Thomas and Olivia, both have a separate mystery surrounding them that intrigued me from the start. I wanted to solve it, and figure out what was going on. I was dying to find out what happened to Olivia's fiancee, and why Thomas was being so secretive about certain things. I made some predictions, but when the plot twist was revealed, it blew me away. I had no idea that it was going to happen that way. I was shocked, and couldn't believe it. It had me on the edge of my seat. I ended up reading the whole book in about three hours because I couldn't put it down.

The main reason why Seek isn't one of Mia Sheridan's books that blew me out of the water is that it was really cheesy at points. Almost overly so. Typically, I can stand some cheesiness in romance novels, but it drove me crazy in this. Some of the things that the characters did and said were complete tropes. There's a scene with a motorcycle (I don't want to say too much because I don't want to spoil it for those that haven't read it) that literally made me roll my eyes. This was very close to being a four star read for me, but I couldn't get over how ridiculous that motorcycle scene was.

Despite the cheesiness, I really did enjoy Seek. It proves why Mia Sheridan is one of my favorite authors. The chemistry that Olivia and Thomas had was one hundred percent genuine and made me fall in love with the characters. Mia Sheridan doesn't typically write sequels for her characters and this ended in a way where there's no need for one. However, I really hope that she writes them into a cameo or something in one of her books because I really want more of these characters. I think that if you loved her previous books, or you just want an enjoyable read that hooks you from the start, you should definitely give Seek a try.


I give Seek: 3.5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://miasheridan.com/
facebook: https://www.facebook.com/miasheridanauthor/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MSheridanAuthor
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/miasheridanauthor/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6994378.Mia_Sheridan

I received this ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.