Friday, November 14, 2014

Unexpectedly Yours by Melody Grace cover reveal

Pre- order on iBooks - http://bit.ly/1pS0V5Q
Add to Goodreads - http://bit.ly/10XbQz9
Sophie Young has been dreaming about the perfect Christmas in New York ever since she was a kid. But when her boyfriend bails on their romantic trip for two, she finds herself stranded in the city on Christmas Eve, with only a holiday-hating smooth-talking, utterly sexy stranger for company…Rock-star Austin Kelly is fed up with Christmas – he’s more interested in who’s going to be cozying up under the mistletoe. But when his little black book comes up empty, he finds himself on a whirlwind tour of the city with the most unlikely partner in festive fun…The snow is falling, but things are definitely heating up inside. And by the time the clock strikes midnight on New Years Eve, there will be plenty to celebrate with old friends and familiar faces back in Beachwood Bay.
A heart-warming, sexy new stand-alone holiday novella from New York Times bestselling author Melody Grace!

Haven't started reading the Beachwood Bay series yet?  Untouched is free!


Free on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1GSYLYY

Free on iBooks: http://bit.ly/1sIPBUh

Emerson Ray is trouble. Juliet knows it the minute she lays eyes on Beachwood Bay's resident bad boy. Forced to spend her summer before college in the sleepy beach town, she never expected to crash into the most devastating guy she’s ever met—or for Emerson’s blue eyes to strip through her dark secrets, and make her feel a desire she’s never known. Their connection is undeniable, but Juliet is torn. She knows, once she gives him everything, there’ll be no turning back.

Juliet McKenzie is dangerous. Emerson can tell from the way she blows through all his defences, laying bare the demons he’s carried alone all his life. He’s left a trail of broken hearts and empty beds in his wake, but Juliet is different. Her innocence is intoxicating—and the passion she keeps hidden, just below the surface. He wants to be the only one to set it free, but with every kiss, he’s closer to losing control and doing the one thing he swore he never would: fall in love.

One summer. Two damaged hearts. Their story is only just beginning…

UNTOUCHED is a prequel novella to the USA Today Bestselling UNBROKEN. It also can be read as a stand-alone story.
About Melody Grace 

melody grace


Melody Grace is the New York Times bestselling author of the Beachwood Bay series. A small-town girl turned SoCal beach lover, after spending her life with her nose in a book, she decided it was time she wrote one herself. She loves steamy romance novels, happily-ever-afters, and lusting after fictional menfolk. She is author of USA Today & international bestselling Beachwood Bay series.

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Hansel Part 3 by Ella James release day launch




Purchase on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1xxA6ov

Haven't started reading the Hansel series yet? 


Free on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1td3gaG
One boy. Mother calls him Hansel.

One girl. Mother named her Gretel. 

Locked in little rooms, in the mountainside mansion of a crazy woman. 

Until he saws a hole into the wall dividing them. 

Then at least, they have each other’s hands.

It doesn’t end well at Mother’s house. 

Everything gets…broken.

Ten years later, they meet again in an exclusive Vegas sex club. 

Whips. 

Chains. 

And most of all, a mask. 

What happens to love when it gets twisted?

Fairy tales are cautionary tales, remember?

About Ella James

Ella James is a Colorado author who writes teen and adult romance. She is happily married to a man who knows how to wield a red pen, and together they are raising a feisty two-year-old who will probably grow up believing everyone’s parents go to war over the placement of a comma.

Ella’s books have been listed on numerous Amazon bestseller lists, including the Movers & Shakers list and the Amazon Top 100; two were listed among Amazon’s Top 100 Young Adult Ebooks of 2012.

To find out more about Ella’s projects and get dates on upcoming releases, find her on Facebook at facebook.com/ellajamesauthorpage and follow her blog, www.ellajamesbooks.com. Questions or comments? Tweet her at author_ellaj or e-mail her at ella_f_james@ymail.com.

Website       Facebook      Twitter    Amazon Author Page

Sunday, November 9, 2014

Amazon Gift Card Giveaway


November is the month of gratitude. There are so many things for us to be grateful about. Here are a few of things I am grateful for:
  • I am grateful to have an amazing husband who loves me, and supports my career choice. I don't know what I would do without him.
  • I am grateful to be able to work with awesome authors on a daily basis. Some of my closest friends are authors that I have met through blogging.
  • I am grateful for how close the blogging community is. We always come together to support one another if one of us needs it.
  • I am thankful for my friends. I love spending time with them, and making great memories.
  • I am thankful for my cat, Sir Pig. He is my "baby", and can always put a smile on my face.
  • I am thankful for everyone who reads my posts, or takes a minute to stop by and comment on the blog. It always makes me happy to know other people are interested in the same things as I am.
So, I want to know, what is one thing you are grateful for? Leave a comment below, and let me know. I will pick two people from the comments to win a $5 gift card to Amazon. There are a few rules:

  1. You must follow the blog in some way, whether that be GFC, Facebook, email, Networked Blogs, or other means.
  2. Leave a comment, and let me know how you followed, what you are grateful for, and your email address.
  3. Must be 13 or older (or have parent's permission).
  4. Open Internationally
  5. Giveaway ends on Thanksgiving, November, 26 at 12:01 a.m. EST
  6. I will use random.org to choose the winners. After I email the winners, they will have 48 hours to respond, or I will choose new winners.
  7. Have fun!

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Hansel part 2 by Ella James release day blitz





Purchase on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1zOGuLe

He was Hansel. 

She was Gretel. 

Once upon a time, they shared a prison wall inside a crazy woman's house. When they meet again, he has a whip. She wears a mask. And fear runs high - for so many reasons. What will happen when the mask comes off, the walls come down? Fairy tales are cautionary tales, remember?



Haven't started reading the Hansel series yet? 



Purchase on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1td3gaG

One boy. Mother calls him Hansel.

  One girl. Mother named her Gretel. 

Locked in little rooms, in the mountainside mansion of a crazy woman. Until he saws a hole into the wall dividing them. Then at least, they have each other’s hands. 

It doesn’t end well at Mother’s house. 
Everything gets…broken. 

Ten years later, they meet again in an exclusive Vegas sex club. Whips. Chains. And most of all, a mask. What happens to love when it gets twisted? Fairy tales are cautionary tales, remember? 


Giveaway


  a Rafflecopter giveaway


About Ella James


Ella James is a Colorado author who writes teen and adult romance. She is happily married to a man who knows how to wield a red pen, and together they are raising a feisty two-year-old who will probably grow up believing everyone’s parents go to war over the placement of a comma. Ella’s books have been listed on numerous Amazon bestseller lists, including the Movers & Shakers list and the Amazon Top 100; two were listed among Amazon’s Top 100 Young Adult Ebooks of 2012. To find out more about Ella’s projects and get dates on upcoming releases, find her on Facebook at facebook.com/ellajamesauthorpage and follow her blog, www.ellajamesbooks.com. Questions or comments? Tweet her at author_ellaj or e-mail her at ella_f_james@ymail.com.


Website       Facebook      Twitter    Amazon Author Page


Monday, November 3, 2014

#Nerd by Cambria Hebert book blitz


Title: #Nerd (The Hashtag Series #1)
Author: Cambria Hebert
Genre: New Adult College / Contemporary Romance
Release Date: November 3, 2014
Format: Ebook + Print

Synopsis:

Two people from completely different worlds are about to be thrown together…

In more ways than one.

She wants to keep her scholarship. He wants to stay on the team. An awkward alliance doesn’t even begin to cover Rimmel and Romeo’s relationship.

But that’s about to change.

It starts with a dare. An initiation. A challenge.

Quickly, it turns into more. But when you’re a victim of your status, there is no room for anything real. The rules are clear and simple.

Stick to your circle.

And never fall in love with anyone on the outside.




AUTHOR BIO:
Cambria Hebert is a bestselling novelist of more than twenty books. She went to college for a bachelor’s degree, couldn’t pick a major, and ended up with a degree in cosmetology. So rest assured her characters will always have good hair. She currently resides in North Carolina with her children (human and furry) and her husband, who is a United States Marine.

Besides writing, Cambria loves a caramel latte, staying up late, sleeping in, and watching movies. She considers math human torture and has an irrational fear of chickens (yes, chickens). You can often find her running on the treadmill (she’d rather be eating a donut), painting her toenails (because she bites her fingernails), or walking her chorkie (the real boss of the house).

Cambria has written within the young adult and new adult genres, penning many paranormal and contemporary titles. Her favorite genre to read and write is romantic suspense. A few of her most recognized titles are: Text, Torch, Tryst, Masquerade, and Recalled.

Cambria Hebert owns and operates Cambria Hebert Books, LLC.

You can find out more about Cambria and her titles by visiting her website: http://www.cambriahebert.com.
Email: cambriahebert@rocketmail.com
Facebook: http://smarturl.co/CambriaHebertFanpage
Twitter: https://twitter.com/cambriahebert
Pinterest: https://pinterest.com/cambriahebert/pins/
GoodReads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5298677.Cambria_Hebert


a Rafflecopter giveaway



NOCTE by Courtney Cole release day

Everyone has secrets. Today, you find out mine.

NOCTE-releasegraphic-V21-600px

NOCTE is here. Get it: Amazon - iBooks - B&N - Kobo Add it on Goodreads

NOCTE-cover-300px
My name is Calla Price. I’m eighteen years old, and I’m one half of a whole. My other half--my twin brother, my Finn--is crazy.
I love him. More than life, more than anything. And even though I’m terrified he’ll suck me down with him, no one can save him but me.
I’m doing all I can to stay afloat in a sea of insanity, but I’m drowning more and more each day. So I reach out for a lifeline.
Dare DuBray.
He’s my savior and my anti-Christ. His arms are where I feel safe, where I’m afraid, where I belong, where I’m lost. He will heal me, break me, love me and hate me.
He has the power to destroy me.
Maybe that’s ok. Because I can’t seem to save Finn and love Dare without everyone getting hurt.
Why? Because of a secret.
A secret I’m so busy trying to figure out, that I never see it coming.
You won’t either.
NOCTE is here. Get it: Amazon - iBooks - B&N - Kobo Add it on Goodreads
Find Courtney Cole: Website - Newsletter - Facebook - Twitter
NOCTE-trailer

 Save me, and I'll save you.

Saturday, November 1, 2014

The Lee Avenue Haunting by Donna Parish-Bischoff


Synopsis:
This book takes you to Yonkers , New York .This is based on a true story of a real life haunting. Donna and her family endured several years of horrifying incidents that scarred them for life. No matter how many years have passed that house still remains as does the haunting . Although Donna and her family have been out of the home over thirty years ... 

This is one story that needed to be told

My Thoughts:
Normally, I'm not a big fan of the horror genre. I'm a big wuss when it comes to scary things. However, when it gets closer to Halloween, I find myself picking out a few horror books and reading them to get in the Halloween mood. One of my picks this year was The Lee Avenue Haunting by Donna Parish-Bischoff. It was the perfect book for Halloween.

The Lee Avenue Haunting is based on a true story. Books or movies based on a true story always creep me out. This one creeped me out more than usual because the author did a fantastic job with all of the scary details. She makes the reader feel like they are there, experiencing all of these crazy things alongside her family. Some of the things that happened to her and her family make me hesitate about things I do in my personal life. In the book, the author states "Taking spiritual matters into your own hands should never be taken lightly. EVER". After reading the book, I agree wholeheartedly with her.

I did have a few problems with The Lee Avenue Haunting though. The biggest problem I had was that the book needs an editor. Badly. There was an excessive use of quotation marks where there didn't need to be any. As the reader gets farther into the book, that tends to lessen. However, in the first few chapters, it was distracting and took away from the story line. Also, there were some terms that weren't explained properly, such as bilocation. I have no idea what it means. The last problem I had with the book is that the dad was a jerk at times. I felt so bad for the mom and the kids that had to deal with his attitude, and his deep denial. I don't understand how you can't admit that something is happening when you have that much proof. 

The Lee Avenue Haunting was a great, spooky read. Do I believe that it actually happened? After reading the book, yes I do. Some of the things that the author talks about are so detailed, I don't think they can be made up. I especially loved the follow up years later towards the end. I hope that in the future, the author follows up again with the next people to live in the house. This would be a great book for anyone looking for a spooky read. It would also be the perfect book for Halloween.

I give The Lee Avenue Haunting: 3.5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Twitter: https://twitter.com/vampirella1967
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6439843.Donna_Parish_Bischoff

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Friday, October 31, 2014

End Dayz by Kellie Sheridan


Synopsis:
It's month after the dead first began to walk. The miracle vaccine that was supposed to save us all has failed.

Now, four teens fight to stay alive as a stronger, smarter breed of zombie begins to appear, threatening to end humanity for good.

Four short stories, 11,000 words total.


My Thoughts:
Zombie novels are like crack to me. I just can't read enough of them. I can usually read them in one sitting because I get so emotionally involved, no matter what the length of the book is. When I found out that one of my favorite YA fantasy authors, Kellie Sheridan, wrote a zombie novel, I knew that I had to read it. Sadly, I was a little disappointed.

The book takes place through four different character points of view, which kind of reminded me of T.W. Brown's Dead series. I liked seeing how all the characters coped with the zombie apocalypse in different ways. End Dayz starts after the zombie apocalypse has already begun, which I find interesting. Most zombie books start before the apocalypse. I thought it was a nice change of pace.

I have mixed feelings on the characters. I thought Pierce was boring, and didn't really care whether he lived or not. The only time he impressed me was when he didn't stop to check on the voices he heard in another apartment. That was smart thinking. Speaking of smart thinking, I liked that Alex decided to leave notes for his dad at all the places they stopped. It's debatable if his dad would find them with all the different situations that could arise, but it's still a cool idea. Alex's story saddened me, but it was definitely my favorite in the book.

I hated Belle and her father. They annoyed me so much. Actually, I disliked most of her chapter. Most of it was confusing. For being a leader, her father didn't have proper survival skills. There was no character intro for Grace. At first I couldn't tell if she was Belle's dad's girlfriend, or Belle's sister. Later in the chapter, it becomes clear though. Sometimes Belle seemed like a teenager, and other times she seemed like a child. 

I did enjoy Kellie Sheridan's take on zombies, and how they were starting to evolve differently based on region. I thought it was original. I also like how she made two characters stories intersect at the end. I'm hoping that all the characters will end up together eventually. Even though some parts of the book fell flat for me, I am looking forward to reading Morality, the first full length book in the series. I want to know whether the characters survive the zombie apocalypse or not. There are some that I hope do, and some that I hope get bitten.


I give End Dayz: 3/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.kellie.snarkybooks.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kelliewrites?ref=hl
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Kellie_Sheridan
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6579646.Kellie_Sheridan

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Thursday, October 30, 2014

The Dogma of Cats for Kids by Debra Snyder


Synopsis:
Join an adorable collection of cuddly cats for their warm wisdom on how we can live a happy, heart-centered life. With colorful illustrations, mindful lessons and sweet, rhyming text, award winning author Deb Snyder delivers a book that will have cat lovers of all ages purring for more!

My Thoughts:
Most of you that know me in real life, or have been following my blog for a while, know that I love cats. I will read anything about cats. When The Dogma of Cats for Kids became available to request on NetGalley, I was excited to be able to read it, even though it's a children's book. 

The Dogma of Cats for Kids shows that no matter how old you are, cats can always teach you something about life. They teach you to keep a fresh perspective on life. They also teach you how to forgive, how to love, and how to protect the ones you care about. The cat to human metaphors in the book were clever. It must have taken quite a while to think of some of them.

It might be the way it was formatted on my Kindle, but some of the illustrations just seemed like they were slapped in wherever in the book, which bothered me. In the beginning of the book, there was a search for Cagney, the author's cat game. I thought it was going to be fun. Instead, it was really easy. It was just a clip art picture of a cat after some stories. It wasn't even well hidden. That brings me to my second problem about the book. Some of the illustrations were well done, which I loved. Others looked like they were cheap clip art. The combo of the two didn't fit the mood of the book well. I did love the illustration of the two black cats making a heart with their tale.

All in all, I really enjoyed this book. I think it is a great way for children to learn some life experiences, and to learn more about cats at the same time. Heck, I know some adults that could learn a thing or two from the book as well. If you do buy The Dogma of Cats for Kids, make sure to read until the very end, where you can find ASPCA links to help cats. I recommend this book for anyone ages three and older.


I give The Dogma of Cats for Kids: 3/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://ignitecalm.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/deb.snyder
Twitter: https://twitter.com/IntuitiveParent
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/IntuitiveParenting
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3249898.Debra_Snyder

I received this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Here/Now by D.D. Lorenzo cover reveal

Join our Royal Celebration with the Cover Reveal
for HERE/NOW by D.D. Lorenzo

HERE/NOW Book 3 of the Depth of Emotion Series


Carter Sinclair…
He’s gone home.
He’s assessed mistakes.
He’s risen from the ashes.


Carter was a “rules” kind of guy. He worked and believed in the system, but the system was unjust. His wife is dead, his brother tragically injured, and an innocent woman paid for the sins of another. Assessing his life, he determines that deceit and lies no longer have a place there. He’s lived in the darkness of his own despair, and watched evil corrupt the lives of those he loves. His intent is to destroy it.
What he didn’t expect was something beautiful to emerge from the darkness...
Regret lives in the past.
Hope lives in the future.
Reality is the present.


Here/Now
is the struggle.


Is it possible that tragic circumstances can birth the most unexpected blessings?


Add it to your Goodreads Book shelf by clicking below:


dd

DD Lorenzo is a modern-day storyteller. Her novels reach deep into the heart of readers and engage them through the emotions of her characters. DD resides in Maryland, The Land of Pleasant Living. She met the love of her life in high school and decided to look no further. Together, they have an eclectic and amazing family. When she isn’t writing stories of the impassioned lives of her characters, she is rooting for the Baltimore Ravens or the Baltimore Orioles. Her favorite pastimes include spending time with the wonderful people in her life and riding in her husband’s classic Mustang to the Eastern Shore. “Selective/Memory” is Book 2 in The “Depth of Emotion” Series. It is the conclusion to the cliffhanger “Positive/Negativity” (she promises!). There are five books planned for the series. Book 3, “Here/Now” will be centered on character Carter Sinclair, a fan favorite. “Here/Now” is planned for release Fall, 2014.





Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Insidious by Aleatha Romig release day launch

    Aleatha Romig       INSIDIOUS Release Day LaunchAleatha Romig's Insidious RDL Banner Cover
insidious cover

Book Info

Title: Insidious (Tales From The Dark Side)

Author: Aleatha Romig

Genre: Dark, Erotic Thriller

Cover Design: Melissa Ringuette

Release Date: Oct 21st 2014

55666-add-to-goodreads-button

Book Jacketinsidious wrap (1) Synopsis **Due to the dark and explicit nature of this book, it is recommended for mature audiences only. **

Dark desires…Deadly secrets…Devious deceptions…Nothing is exactly as it seems in INSIDIOUS, the new erotic thriller from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author ALEATHA ROMIG!

When a powerful man is willing to risk everything for his own satisfaction, only one woman can beat him at his own game: his wife. Or so she thinks…

“Let’s start with you calling me Stewart. Formalities seem unnecessary.”

Stewart Harrington is rich, gorgeous, and one of the most powerful men in Miami. He always gets what he wants. Anything is available to him for the right price.

Even me.

Being the wife of a mogul comes with all the perks, but being Mrs. Stewart Harrington comes with a few special requirements. I’ve learned to keep a part of myself locked away as my husband watches me submit to his needs. But the more he demands of me, the more beguiled he becomes and that’s to my advantage. So I keep fulfilling his fantasies and following his rules because he doesn’t know that what he’s playing is really my game. And winning is everything, right?

INSIDIOUS is a stand-alone novel and the first Tales from the Dark Side title by ALEATHA ROMIG.

Buy Links

Amazon | B&N | KOBO | iBooks

My Review

Aleatha Romig has always been one of my favorite authors. The way she writes a story line is so complex and unique. It makes her one of the most talented writers out there today in my opinion. Consequences is one of my favorite series that I have read this year. Insidious shows that Aleatha can write a great stand alone as well.

Unfortunately, there's not much I can say about the book without revealing spoilers. Therefore, I will go over a few brief points that I really enjoyed. As always, if you've read the book and wish to discuss spoilers with me, feel free to send me a message on Facebook, or Goodreads. 

One thing that I loved about Insidious is that it keeps you on your toes. There are all sorts of crazy plot twists and turns. You never know what's going to happen next. Aleatha Romig does the brilliant, complex plot weaving that she's best known for, and the result is genius. She made me suspicious of all characters. There were times in the book that I didn't even trust Vik, the main character. There are times when I was reading the book, I had to stop and go, wait what the hell just happened?! I also loved the crazy ending. It was one of the best endings I have ever read in a book. I read the book almost two weeks ago, and I'm still thinking about the ending. She also threw in very subtle references to Tony and Claire, which made me fan girl.

I loved Insidious. Out of all of Aleatha's books that I've read, I think it's her best work yet. You'll want to read it more than once to pick up things that you may have missed the first time (or the second time). She is truly the queen of dark books. I can't wait to read the next stand alone novel she releases.

I give Insidious: 5/5.

Teasersdisobey Casey sophie made

Meet Aleatha Romigar 

Aleatha Romig is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who lives in Indiana. She grew up in Mishawaka, graduated from Indiana University, and is currently living south of Indianapolis. Together with her high-school sweetheart and husband of twenty-eight years, they've raised three children. Before she became a full-time author, she worked days as a dental hygienist and spent her nights writing. Now, when she's not imagining mind-blowing twists and turns, she likes to spend her time with her family and friends. Her pastimes include reading and creating heroes/anti-heroes who haunt your dreams!

INSIDIOUS is Aleatha's seventh novel. It is her first time to delve into the world of erotic thrillers. The Consequences Series, her first series has been categorized as psychological thriller and dark romance. With INSIDIOUS, Aleatha took the twists and turns of CONSEQUENCES and turned up the heat.

CONSEQUENCES, her first novel, was released August 2011, by Xlibris Publishing. Then in October of 2012, Ms. Romig re-released CONSEQUENCES as an indie author. TRUTH, the sequel, was released October 30, 2012, and CONVICTED, the third in the series, was released October 8, 2013. Unexpectedly, the fourth book of the Consequences series came to life with REVEALED: THE MISSING YEARS. It is the fourth full-length novel in the series. It explores the years in CONVICTED that previously were only mentioned, as well as a complete character glossary and timeline. REVEALED was released May 20, 2014.

INSIDIOUS, the first released book from TALES FROM THE DARK SIDE will be released October 21, 2014. TALES FROM THE DARK SIDE will be a series of standalone, dark, erotic thrillers guaranteed to take you on a wild, hot, and dark ride. Each novel in the series will be independent of the next. The characters from one book will never be revisited. Instead, Aleatha leaves it up to her readers to imagine how each story will end while remembering that it is the journey that is the most fun.

Aleatha is a "Published Author's Network" member of the Romance Writers of America and represented by Danielle Egan-Miller of Brown and Miller Literary Associates.

::::CONNECT WITH ALEATHA ROMIG::::

Facebook | Twitter | Website | Amazon | Goodread

Friday, October 17, 2014

Alice in Tumblr-land by Tim Manley


Synopsis:
Disney meets Lena Dunham in this illustrated humor book featuring your favorite fairy-tale characters dating and finding their way in 21st-century America

The Ugly Duckling still feels gross compared to everyone else, but now she’s got Instagram, and there’s this one filter that makes her look awesome. Cinderella swaps her glass slippers for Crocs. The Tortoise and the Hare Facebook stalk each other. Goldilocks goes gluten free. And Peter Pan finally has to grow up and get a job, or at least start paying rent.

Here are more than one hundred fairy tales, illustrated and re-imagined for today. Instead of fairy godmothers, there’s Siri. And rather than big bad wolves, there are creepy dudes on OkCupid. In our brave new world of social networking, YouTube, and texting, fairy tales can once again lead us to "happily ever after" — and have us laughing all the way.

My Thoughts:
Have you ever wanted to know what happens to your favorite fairytale characters after the happily ever after? Then Alice in Tumbr-land is the perfect book for you. It has all the answers about the fairy tale characters, even some of the ones I had forgotten about. It also takes a look at what fairy tales would be like in our modern world.

Alice in Tumblr-land takes the harsh realities of being an adult and puts them in a sarcastic, humorous light. I think everyone will be able to identify with at least one of the characters, whether that be Peter Pan who is addicted to social media, or The Ugly Duckling who is always finding flaws about herself. Peter Pan is my favorite character in the book. A few people I know (including myself) could learn a few things from him. The book also takes a few slight jabs at pop culture, which I found hilarious.

One of the things that blew me away in the book was the illustrations. I was impressed at how beautiful most of them were. I didn't expect it based on the book's subject matter. There were a few of them, such as the one of Robin Hood thinking while on a walk, that would make awesome tattoos. There are a few quotes in the book that would also make cool tattoos. I know it's weird, but it's something that caught my attention while reading.

Alice in Tumblr-land was an incredible book. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it. The book got added to the list of my favorite fairy tale retellings. If you have a great sense of humor, like sarcasm, and need a laugh, you should definitely check out Alice in Tumblr-land. You won't regret it.

I give Alice in Tumblr-land: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/fairytalesfor20somethings
Twitter: https://twitter.com/timtimmanley
Tumblr: http://timmanleytimmanley.tumblr.com/
Instagram: http://instagram.com/timmanleytimmanley
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4536555.Tim_Manley

I received this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Monday, October 13, 2014

Mystery, Matzo Balls, and Moxie by Z.B. Heller


Synopsis:
A mystery weekend gets steamy and stuffed... with food.

My Thoughts:
Mystery, Matzo Balls, and Moxie is part of the Shiver anthology.

The Chronicles of Moxie was one of my books that I've read this year. It's refreshing to find a romantic comedy that's actually hilarious. Mystery, Matzo Balls, and Moxie lived up to my expectations as well.

From the very first page, Moxie had me laughing at her smartass sense of humor. It made me realize how much I missed these characters. I definitely needed more of Moxie and the rest of the gang in my life. It was fun trying to figure out who was "the murderer". The crazy hi jinx at the end was hilarious. It was interesting trying to see how Moxie and everyone got from one situation to another. I'm still not entirely sure what a matzo ball is though. I'll have to Google it later. I recommend this to anyone looking for a good laugh.

I give Mystery, Matzo Balls, and Moxie: 5/5.

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://www.zbhellerbooks.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/ZB-Heller/230305747147895
Twitter: https://twitter.com/zbheller
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7948170.Z_B_Heller

I received this ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.