Monday, September 30, 2013

Ever Wrath by Alexia Purdy Book Blitz

Title: Ever Wrath
Author: Alexia Purdy
Series: A Dark Faerie Tale (#4)
Genre: Genre:  Fantasy/Faeries/YA/Paranormal
Publisher:  Lyrical Lit. Publishing
Release Date: Sept 15 2013
Blurb/Synopsis:
There is no hope.
Only blood and darkness await.
Shade rules as Queen of the Seelie Summer Court with her love, a Teleen Faerie named Dylan at her side. But, the dark court of Unseelie faeries will do everything in their power to rule the earth, including enslaving the human world. Arthas, the Unseelie Ancient King, has shattered the boundaries of Faerie and the human cities are filling with his evil, unearthly armies.
Old enemies become allies. New friends bring old secrets and an ancient magic to light. Alongside the Ancient Seelie Queen, Kilara, Shade needs to harness this wild magic before the lines between human and faery are forever destroyed.


Alexia currently lives in Las Vegas, Nevada–Sin City! She loves to spend every free moment writing or playing with her four rambunctious kids. Writing has always been her dream and she has been writing ever since she can remember. She loves writing paranormal fantasy and poetry and devours books daily. Alexia also enjoys watching movies, dancing, singing loudly in the car and Italian food.



Places to find Alexia


Places to find Ever Wrath


A Dark Faerie Tale Series Book Trailer


Other Books in The Dark Faerie Tale Series

Evangeline (0.5) Free
Ever Shade (1) Free
The Cursed (3.5)


Sunday, September 29, 2013

Better Late Than Never ARC Challenge

Due to my overwhelming review pile, I have decided to participate in the Better Late Than Never ARC Challenge. The challenge is hosted by The Windy PagesNite Lite Book Reviews, and The Reader's Antidote. The purpose of this challenge is to catch up on all the old ebook and physical ARCs that you have. The ARCs must be from six months ago, or older.

I am so grateful that I found this challenge. I have physical ARCs from September 2012 that I received for review, and haven't had a chance to read yet. I don't even want to talk about how many Net Galley/Edelweiss ARCs I have that I need to catch up on. I'm hoping that this will give me a chance to get a lot of those books read. Also, I'm hoping it improves my feedback ratio on NetGalley. I'm not going to set a specific TBR for this challenge> When I do that and don't stick to it, I feel that I didn't do well in the challenge, no matter how many books I read. Hoewever, I am hoping to read between 10-20 books.

Are you planning to participate in this challenge? If so, how many books are you planning to read? Leave a comment, and let me know.

Saturday, September 28, 2013

Deadly to Love by Mia Hoddell Book Blitz


Deadly to Love (Elemental Killers #1)
by Mia Hoddell
Release Date: February 2013

Genre: YA/Romance/Paranormal/Fantasy
ASIN: B00BDQ3QGA
ISBN: 978-1-291-41025-9

Blurb:
The world is dangerous – but love will kill you.

Little did Serena Jackson know that one simple, flirty remark to an anonymous guy online would lead to her world being changed forever.

She doesn’t know him, but inexplicably, is drawn. She knows it is wrong but she agrees to meet.

His real name is Kai. He is beautiful. And immediately Serena feels herself blindly falling for him even though she senses a lie. She knows he is hiding something and it terrifies her.

What she doesn’t realise is that her entire life has been built on secrets and lies. The people she loved left her in the dark for a reason.

She trusted them. She trusts Kai. But as he pulls her straight into the heart of the danger the lies and deadly secrets are revealed. They overwhelm her, and the person she once was no longer exists as she is thrown into a ruthless world of elemental forces. The price of truth is her life—and now the world wants her dead.




Available from:
Amazon (Kindle) | Amazon (Paperback) | Lulu
and only 99c / 77p on Kindle for September!

Praise:
“I couldn't put it down. So I finished it last night and all I can say is WOW! This book was amazing and different.” Brianna (Book Blogger)

I loved how the author took a different approach to writing a love story in modern times with the paranormal element present. I thought it was absolutely wonderful and refreshing. Marvelous!” Kathy H (Amazon Reviewer)


I will admit I scoffed at the way it started but in the end I had fallen in love with this story…completely untraditional it was a very original idea, not to mention modern. This story had such a good plot and the story structure was sound. Kacii – The Kooky Bookworm (Book Blogger)


About the Author

Mia Hoddell lives in the UK with her family and two cats. She spends most of her time writing or reading and loves anything paranormal. Mia always had a love of writing but never reading. She was more interested in sports and hated sitting still - despite getting three poems published before the age of sixteen. Finally though, she found some novels that captured her interest and developed a love of reading which is now one of her favourite hobbies.

Mia began with poems before moving on to short stories. Although she enjoyed this, Mia found she had too much to tell with too little space, so later on she created her first series 'The Wanderer Trilogy' and from there other ideas have emerged. With a total of nine books planned at this moment, she is busy working on her second series 'Elemental Killers' before moving onto the next idea on her ever growing list.


Author Links
 photo iconwebsite-

32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo 

icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png

***Excerpt***

Happy with the amount of photos I had collected I started to head back out of the forest, still flicking through my shots. As well as close ups, I had taken a few landscapes and as I was almost at the edge of the forest I noticed something in one of the photographs that made me stop.
In the left hand corner was a figure that looked mostly human, but was blurred as if they were moving on the spot.
A cold shudder shot through me.
Looking over my shoulder I became slightly panicked and felt as if someone was following me.
My eyes flicked and searched the shadows. Even though there was no sign that anything had ever been behind me, the forest looked different now - dark and threatening.
Instinctively I broke away and ran, still clutching the camera that was displaying the freaky image. Surrounded by trees I didn’t stop until I was free of the forest and back in the open light and sight of my house.
Throwing open my door, I slumped against the inside of it, regaining my breath from the short sprint. Once I had recovered I looked down at the photo once more, just to make sure that I hadn’t been seeing things. The old saying “the camera never lies,” came into my mind and for the first time I wished it not to be true. Sure enough though, as I looked down at the screen, the figure was still there and this time I noticed a red and orange glow around where its feet should have been. The image almost looked like the person was on fire but I thought I would have surely noticed if there had been a burning man in front of me.

***GIVEAWAY***

Mia Hoddell is giving away an Amazon gift card this month only there is a slight twist: the more entries she receives the more money she will put on the gift card to giveaway! For example:


No matter what = $5
100 entries = $10
150 entries = $15
200 entries = $20
and so forth...
So if she gets 1000 entries she will give away $100, there’s no limit!


To enter all you have to do is buy or have bought Deadly to Love. It's only $0.99 or £0.79 on Amazon for the duration of the giveaway! This will also unlock extra entries for you so you can earn more points by sharing the giveaway. Remember the more entries she gets the bigger the prize for you so share!


Friday, September 27, 2013

The Boxcar Baby by J.L. Mulvihill blog tour

JLMulvihillTourBadge     JLMulvihill-Photo
About J.L. Mulvihill:  Born in Hollywood and raised in San Diego, CA, J.L. Mulvihill has made Mississippi her home for the past fifteen years. Her debut novel was the young adult title The Lost Daughter of Easa, an engaing fantasy novel bordering on science-fiction with a dash of steampunk, published through Kerlak Publishing.  The Boxcar Baby, the first novel of her Steel Roots Series, was released by Seventh Star Press in the summer of 2013. J.L. also has several short fiction pieces in publication, among them "Chilled Meat", a steampunk thriller found in the Dreams of Steam II-Of Bolts and Brass, anthology (Kerlak Publishing) and "The Leprechaun’s Story", a steampunk urban Fantasy found in the anthology, Clockwork, Spells, & Magical Bells (Kerlak Publishing) J.L. is very active with the writing community, and is the events coordinator for the Mississippi Chapter of Imagicopter known as the Magnolia-Tower.  She is also a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI), Gulf Coast Writers Association (GCWA), The Mississippi Writers Guild (MWG), as well as the Arts Council of Clinton, and the Clinton Ink-Slingers Writing Group.  

Author Links:



Book Synopsis: Born in a boxcar on a train bound for Georgia. At least that is what Papa Steel always told AB'Gale. But now, fifteen years later, the man who adopted and raised her as his own is missing and it's up to AB'Gale to find him. Aided only by a motley gang of friends, AB'Gale train hops her way across the United States in a desperate attempt to find her papa and put her life and family back the way it was. Her only guide is a map given to her by a mysterious hobo, with hand written clues she found hidden in her papa's spyglass. Here is the Great American Adventure in an alternate steampunk dystopian world, where fifteen-year-old AB'Gale Steel learns that nothing is as it seems, but instead is shrouded in secrets and mysteries ... and that monsters come in all shapes and forms. The Boxcar Baby is the first book of the Steel Roots series.'  

Tour Schedule and Activities:   
  9/23    Come Selahway With Me                                                     
Contest 9/23    Fantastical Adventures Through the Paper Realm                        
Review 9/23    The Flipside of Julianne                                                         
Top Ten List 9/24    Jess Resides Here                                                                   
Guest Post 9/24    Beagle Book Space                                                                
Promo Spotlight 9/25    Sheila Deeth                                                                           
Guest Post 9/25    Spellbindings                                                                         
Promo Spotlight 9/25    Lost Inside the Covers                                                           
Review 9/26    A TiffyFit’s Reading Corner                                                   
Review 9/26    Azure Dwarf                                                                           
Promo Spotlight 9/26    Rachel Tsoumbakos                                                              
Character Interview & Review 9/26    A Daydreamer’s Thought                                                      Author Interview 9/27    Armand Rosamilia, Author                                                   
Guest Post 9/27    Kayla’s Reads and Reviews                                                   
Promo Spotlight 9/28    WTF Are You Reading?                                                          
Review 9/28    Bee’s Knees Reviews                                                              
Guest Post 9/28    Word to Dreams                                                                    
Promo Spotlight 9/29    The Cabin Goddess                                                                
Interview 9/29    Illuminite Calginosus                                                             
Promo Spotlight 9/29    Laurie’s Thoughts and Reviews                                            
Character Interview 9/29    JeanzBookReadNReview                                                       
Guest Post 9/29    Book and Movie Dimension                                                 

Review   Amazon Links for The Boxcar Baby:


Thursday, September 26, 2013

Fruit of My Spirit by Deanna Nowadnick


Synopsis:
In a memoir of missteps and misdeeds, Deanna Nowadnick writes of the hugeness of God's love and faithfulness. Reframing life in God's grace, she discovers an indescribable, indefinable, inexplicable love that has encircled her without fail through joyous, sad, cringe-worthy, heartwarming, forgettable, memorable moments in life.Fruit of My Spirit is for anyone who's ever questioned God's ability to love and forgive, who's ever wondered about their place in God's family or God's place in theirs. Nowadnick offers hope for those who dare to question, who secretly wonder, and who fear to ask. Through stories of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control, you will experience the enormity of God, too.

My Thoughts:

It’s weird, usually I can’t stand non-fiction novels. When I read them, it feels like I have to force my way through the book, which isn’t fun at all. Needless to say, I went into this with low expectations. I wasn’t even sure I was going to finish it, let alone like it. I was definitely wrong. I ended up loving it. Fruit of My Spirit was a great memoir about how to live the Christian life. It teaches that no matter how many times you mess up, God’s love never fails. Every human being has flaws and God loves us despite them. Whether we want to do things our way or His way, He is there to pick us up when we fall. I could definitely relate to a lot of the author’s stories. I also used to hate camping and the outdoors when I was a child. I still do to a certain extent. I loved that the author incorporated Bible verses and prayers at the end of each chapter. Some of them have really helped me out. 

I give Fruit of My Spirit: 5/5. 

Want to know more about the author?
Website: http://deannanowadnick.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/FruitofMySpirit
Twitter: https://twitter.com/deannanowadnick
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5834177.Deanna_Nowadnick

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Cover Reveal: Wild Child by M. Leighton

Today on the blog, we have a cover reveal for one of my favorite authors. I'm so excited for this book to come out. The cover is absolutely gorgeous. 

ABOUT WILD CHILD:
Jenna Theopolis has always known what she wanted.  Getting out of her small hometown of Greenfield was number one on her list of priorities.  Until she met Rusty Catron.
Rusty’s fun-loving personality was the perfect match for Jenna’s inner wild child.  But what started off as a summer fling quickly turns into something more.  At least it does for Jenna.
Rusty has lived with the ghost of his father’s abandonment since he was a child, but now he’s beginning to feel the crippling effects of his scars.  He wants to trust in Jenna, but deep down he doesn’t believe someone so wild and free can ever be tamed. 
But tragedy strikes, pushing Jenna out of Greenfield and leaving Rusty with a choice to make—face his inner demons or lose the love of his life.  Forever.
About M. Leighton:
M. Leighton is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Wild Ones and The Bad Boys romance trilogies.  She is a native of Ohio, relocated to the warmer climates of the South, where she lets her mind wander to romantic settings with sexy Southern guys much like the one she married and the ones you'll find in her latest books.  When her thoughts aren't roaming in that direction, she'll be riding horses, swimming in ponds and experiencing life on a ranch, all without leaving the cozy comfort of her office.  
For more about M. Leighton, visit her website at www.MLeightonBooks.blogspot.com or follow her on Twitter@mleightonbooks.
Links:


Unreap My Heart release event

 
  Title: Unreap My Heart (The Reaper Series, #2)
  Author: Kate Evangelista
  Publisher: Omnific Publishing
  Release: September 17, 2013
  Genre: Paranormal
  Age Group: Young Adult  
 When Death is stabbed with a dagger that sucks out his powers, Balthazar is roped into helping him find the Redeemer, the only one who can remove the dagger. But nothing is free in the Underverse. For travelling to the most dangerous places in the Underverse, Balthazar asks Death for control of the Crossroads. Arianne was ready to pay Death’s price to save Niko. She was ready to be blind with no memory of the boy she loves. Instead, she wakes up in a strange room, still able to see and with Niko in a deep sleep. She agrees to work with Balthazar on the condition: Death needs to wake Niko. But Arianne soon finds out that helping the bad guy means having to do lots of bad things.


   About the Author When Kate Evangelista was told she had a knack for writing stories, she did the next best thing: entered medical school. After realizing she wasn't going to be the next Doogie Howser, M.D., Kate wandered into the Literature department of her university and never looked back. Today, she is in possession of a piece of paper that says to the world she owns a Literature degree. To make matters worse, she took Master's courses in creative writing. In the end, she realized to be a writer, none of what she had mattered. What really mattered? Writing. Plain and simple, honest to God, sitting in front of her computer, writing. Today, she has four completed Young Adult novels. Blog | Facebook | Twitter

Your Darkness cover reveal



'Your Darkness' is a collection of poetry that will tug at the heart and then empower. It is filled with poems that take you on a journey through heart ache and pain then lead into finding one's own strength within.

An author's view:

 "The measure of poetry is its ability to evoke emotion. Herein is a roller coaster ride. It jerks you back and forth through dark, twisting tunnels of entrapment. It drags you to dizzying heights of hope and then sends you plunging pell-mell into depths of despair before slowing along the gentler ups and downs of uncertainty and self-doubt that eventually lead back into the light.  Those who have never suffered through the darkness of such a relationship will ponder. Those who have been there will relive it and understand. Thank you, M.K. Hensley, for sharing the ride."    ~Author John Hundley


Note from the author:

I never knew writing these would help me let go and truly move forward.  Had I known, I would have written them long before now.  I have learned that keeping things locked inside only hurts you.  Let it out. Tell someone. If not, nothing will change.  I also learned that you have to let people in, even when you are scared.  You might just end up surprised.  I hope my words can help someone else find their strength to get thru their own struggles.

~M.K.



Connect with the Author:

Website  www.authormkhensley.com
Facebook  https://www.facebook.com/pages/MK-Hensley/619480364761747

Giveaway:
Two ways to win! 1) Leave a comment.  Once lucky winner per blog stop will win a signed bookmark. 2) Fill out the rafflecopter form by "liking" some awesome people on facebook and you could win an E-Book copy of 'Your Darkness' and a signed bookmark.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, September 24, 2013

When the Light Fades Blog Tour


When Light Fades

From the Authors: A.J. Stewart, Cindy Franks White, Zoey Sweete, Jennifer Oneal Gunn, Ronald Edward Griffin, S.L. Dearing, M.K. Hensley and Jewels Moss

Blurb:
Dive into a dark paranormal collection of short stories and poetry with a twist of horror. When Light Fades will play on your inner fears, and bring to life the things that go bump in the night. This collection of writing is filled with revenge, disaster at its best, and a hint of sick madness. Be prepared to enter the world of the wicked, where the darkest creatures tell their stories and the insane rule and sanity has been lost forever.


Where can you get it?


Connect with the authors:

 A.J. Stewart      Cindy Franks White      Zoey Sweete