Thursday, April 13, 2017

ARC Review: The Tiny Hero of Ferny Creek Library by Linda Bailey

Eddie, a passionate reader and a shiny green bug, saves the school library in this funny, heartwarming tale that fans of Flora & Ulysses and Charlotte's Web will love. 
Eddie is a tiny green bug who loves to read and who lives behind the chalkboard in Mr. Wang's fourth-grade classroom with his parents, his 53 brothers and sisters, and his Aunt Min. But when Aunt Min goes to the school library and never returns, Eddie leaves the comfort of his home for the first time and begins the dangerous trek through the elementary school. After dodging running sneakers, falling books, and terrifying spiders, Eddie reaches the library, where he finds Aunt Min stuck on a desk with two broken legs! To top it all off, there's a substitute librarian who has terrible plans to close the library and turn it into a local testing center. No more books at all! Encouraged by the brave deeds done by small creatures like Stuart Little and Charlotte from Charlotte's Web, Eddie comes up with a plan to save the library--a plan that requires all the courage one little bug can muster. Perfect for fans of Chris Grabenstein's Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library and Lynne Rae Perkins' Nuts to You. Featuring extensive black and white art from Newbery Honor Medalist and New York Times bestseller Victoria Jamieson as well as references to classic children's literature sprinkled throughout."

(Synopsis from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:
I used to love middle grade books when I was a kid. Unfortunately, as an adult, I find them hard to get into. They don't hold the same magic and wonder that they previously held for me. I find myself getting bored after a few chapters. However, every now and then there will be an exception to that rule. The Tiny Hero of Ferny Creek Library was definitely one of those exceptions.

I loved everything about this story. It captivated me from beginning to end. I felt the magic and wonder in this book, which a middle grade book hadn't made me feel in a long time. I kept wondering how Eddie was going to survive his various adventures, from going to the library, to his showdown with the mouse, and everything in between.

For me, the best part of the book, besides all of Eddie's crazy adventures, was all of the different literary references. It made me feel like I was being transported back to my childhood. I loved when Eddie started reading the librarian's copy of Stuart Little. It was my favorite book when I was a child, and brought back a lot of memories. Not only did it make me nostalgic, but it filled me with a lot of happiness.

I loved The Tiny Hero of Ferny Creek Library. The book proves that no matter what size you are, you can do astounding things if you set your mind to it. I recommend this book to children and adults both. I will gladly pick up the next middle grade book that this author writes. 

I give The Tiny Hero of Ferny Creek Library: 4/5.

Want to know more about the author?

I received this eARC from the publisher, via Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

No comments:

Post a Comment