Sunday, July 9, 2017

The Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny Colgan

Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect book for her readers. But can she write her own happy-ever-after? In this valentine to readers, librarians, and book-lovers the world over, the New York Times-bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel for fans of Meg Donohue, Sophie Kinsella, and Nina George’s The Little Paris Bookshop.

Nina Redmond is a literary matchmaker. Pairing a reader with that perfect book is her passion… and also her job. Or at least it was. Until yesterday, she was a librarian in the hectic city. But now the job she loved is no more.

Determined to make a new life for herself, Nina moves to a sleepy village many miles away. There she buys a van and transforms it into a bookmobile—a mobile bookshop that she drives from neighborhood to neighborhood, changing one life after another with the power of storytelling. 

From helping her grumpy landlord deliver a lamb, to sharing picnics with a charming train conductor who serenades her with poetry, Nina discovers there’s plenty of adventure, magic, and soul in a place that’s beginning to feel like home… a place where she just might be able to write her own happy ending.
(Synopsis from Goodreads).

My Thoughts:
Every once in a while I like to take a break from the usual genres I read, and read something different. I don't usually read chick-lit. In fact, I think it's been about ten years since I've read a book in that genre. Recently, I've been wanting to read books about books. Fiction or non-fiction, it doesn't matter. Therefore, I thought that The Bookshop on the Corner sounded like it was right up my alley. It ended up being a cute, fun read. 

Even though The Bookshop on the Corner wasn't my usual genre, I really did enjoy it. It seemed like the author was bookish, and the reader could tell from the way that she wrote the main character, Nina. I found that Nina was a very identifiable main character. The author portrayed her in a way that I could see parts of her in someone like myself, which I loved. It made me believe that I can follow my dreams as well. 

There were a few things that I didn't like about the book. At times, the book was so cliche that I found myself rolling my eyes. It was also very predictable. I predicted what was going on with Marek a few short pages after meeting him. There were also a few minor plot points that I predicted. Also, the person that Nina ended up with in the end felt forced. There was absolutely no chemistry there. It felt like it happened because the author felt like Nina needed to end up with someone to have a happy ending, so she just shoved them together.

Despite all of it's flaws, I did think that The Bookshop on the Corner was an enjoyable book. I would probably pick up another book by Jenny Colgan the next time I was in the mood for this genre. I recommend this book to anyone that is in the mood for a quick, sappy read, and doesn't mind some cliche moments.

I give The Bookshop on the Corner: 3/5.

Want to know more about the author?

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.

No comments:

Post a Comment